Find companies:
Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving lives on a daily basis!
Peri- Operative Assistant- Operating Room (Current Employee), 1000 Montauk Hwy, West Islip NY 11795May 7, 2014
Pros: very flexible schedule
Cons: no food for the night shift employees
Although I work with patients and not with customers the thought of it is exactly the same. You are looking to satisfy the patient/ customers. This includes the family that comes in with the patients before they head into surgery as well as post op, when they come to visit. I learned that working with others is very interesting. You learn about others – more... opinions and what they have learned in the past that make them a better person today. You learn about new techniques that you can apply to help the patient feel like they're at home. Management is taken very seriously because you are working with people, you need to be professional. The management department is always on top of executing an outstanding outcome for the patient while they are in our facility as well as post op. This includes follow up calls, and making sure that everything is okay. My co-workers are like my family! We all get along great and in a life or death situation communication is key to ensure a safe environment for the patient. There is no hard part in this job. You have duties that need to be completed at the end of each shift but your main priority is the patient and their status on how they are doing. It is an everyday to day experience, you always have to be on your feet and think fast because you never know what comes through the Emergency Room and up into the Operating Room. You have to know where things are and know how to multi task and have great communication with others. You need to learn how to work in groups or individually because sometimes the help you need is not always there because of short staff. The most enjoyable part of my job is to see the patient and family happy. I don't consider it a job, I consider it a life changing experience to help others! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), West Islip, NYMarch 28, 2014
Gained many new responsibilities as time went on
worked for many different subsections of my department
had some, but little patient interaction
learned a lot and made great friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Hire a nice place to work.
Nurse Tech/Nurse Technician (Former Employee), West Islip, New YorkNovember 28, 2013
I am a New Hire less then a month. To be exact I have been here at Good Samaritan 19 days. I do like the way managment handled my employment. It has been professional from the day I was called in for a interview from the time I started working here even up to yesterday November 27, 2013
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and proactive environmet
Medical Records Clerk lI (Former Employee), West Islip, NYSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: laid back atmosphere
As an employee of Good Samaritan hospital, I learned how to multi task several situations at once. For example, you may be assigned to assemble charts for the day, but be required to pull charts, speak with new parents and obtain their background information, in addition to your coworkers asking questions and assisting patients that come in to request – more... health information. Because I learned how to handle multiple situations at once, it resulted in exceptional organization skills, customer service presentation, and enjoyment of a fast pace, stressful atmosphere. At the end of the day,management and the workers always worked hand in hand to accomplish the tasks of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed working as a medical transcriptionist.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), West Islip, NYJune 24, 2013
I was very blessed working at Good Samaritian Hospital. After working as an in-house transcriptionist from June 2004-June 2007, I was given the opportunity to be a remote transcriptionist and work for them from home from September 2007- February 2012 where upon I returned to working as an in-house transcriptionist from February 2012-November 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary to Director of Medical Education
Secretary/Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), West Islip, NYMay 17, 2013
My main function was to ensure that interns and residents were compliant and give feedback to the Director.
I learned that residents are very driven people, so our doctors
The Director were several different hats; she did her job very well
My co-workers had different responsibilites than I and as a team we kept the office, residents and management happy – more... with our performance
Preparing for graduation of the residents
Seeing the interns and residents fulfill their dreams – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is team oriented.
Registered Nurse (Medical/Surgical/Telemetry) (Current Employee), West Islip, NYFebruary 5, 2013
I've worked at Good Samaritan Hospital for quite some time. I believe that my immediate co-workers take pride in working as a team. There has been some shift in management. I've developed articulate assessment skills and the ability to intervene during critical situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children and their families are treated with the utmost respect with all needs provided for by staff
Art Therapist Intern, Child Life Program (Former Employee), West Islip, NYJanuary 22, 2013
There is no greater reward than to hear those children on the pediatrics unit REALLY smile and laugh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly reputable and competative medical center
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee), West Islip, NYNovember 11, 2012
Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center is a leader among the Catholic Health System and has very competative medical staff. They pride themselves on their patient care and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsupportive administration
Nurse (Former Employee), West Islip, NYSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: decent salary
Cons: bad management, unsupportive to staff
Stressful environment , Unsupportive, no loyalty to long term employees, the only enjoyable part of my day was helping patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Hospital Member of Catholic Health Services
Human Resources Coordinator/Events Specialist (Current Employee), New YorkSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: location
Have worked there for almost a decade. Have grown up with organization; family oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many advancement opportunities available
Clerk 2 Data Entry (Current Employee), West Islip, NYAugust 29, 2012
Pros: benefits, healthcare
Cons: short staffed, hiring freezes
A typical work day is very busy; with answering phones, typing data into the computer, pulling and filing charts, and correcting billing information. I've learned many different computer software programs and how to properly handle medical information. Management has been very helpful with my advancement through the department and are willing to help – more... with any problems I may face. My co-workers and I work well together. The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the high quantity of work on certain days. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I am able to leave with all my work in for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), West Islip, NYApril 6, 2012
Pros: benefits are very good at the hospital.
Cons: everyone feels that their pay should be different.
A typical day at work for me at Good Samaritan Hospital is gather data from all the units and reporting this data to senior management. My Excel computer skills have improved a great deal since I started working for the hospital. The hardest part of my job is the fact that the data I am receiving most make complete and accurate. If this data is not – more... complete and accurate the rest of the data will not be finished. – less