Find companies:
Good Samaritan Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
253 reviews

Good Samaritan Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast pace work enviorment
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), West Islip, NYApril 12, 2014
Pros: loved the staff i worked with
Cons: sometimes did not have enough staff and would have to cut break short and stay late unexpectedly
My experience with my past employer was amazing. I had become one of the most requested surgical technologists in the unit. I have worked with all personality types successfully. A majority of the time I worked in specific specialties but am able to function independently in all the specialties performed at the hospital. Because I worked an evening – more... shift I had to be prepared for anything and became quick on my feet. While working I had also trained new employees and medical students. A typical work day was setting up rooms for procedures, picking necessary equipment, scrubbing in ad assisting surgical procedures, picking cases for following day,and stocking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would rate Good Sam as an average employer.
Cardiovascular Technologist (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAApril 12, 2014
Pros: my fellow cv techs were great we all got along and helped each other every day.
Cons: management has a lot to learn about effective oversite.
The Cardiac Cath Lab was a great place to work but the overall culture at Good Samaritan had a lot to be desired. Typically, we averaged 4 to 5 cases per day. I learned how to perform quickly; heart attack is something that must be dealt with very quickly. My coworkers were great. The hardest part of the job was all of the call time and overtime. Knowing – more... that I helped save a life was the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Emergency Room Registrar (Former Employee), Suffern, NYApril 12, 2014
Pros: i like the flexable schedule. each day was different and certainly not boring! .
Cons: i feel they needed more registrars on call, because you were not allowed to leave until the next shift came in.
Pre-registered and registered patients requiring emergency medical treatment. Conducted patient/guarantor interviews, explain hospital policies, patient financial responsibilities and patient’s bill of rights. Facilitated the patient admission flow by collecting all demographic information. Responsible for the verification and authorization of insurance – more... benefits on all incoming ER patients. Submitted notice of admission to payers as needed. Collected co-payments, and other patient liabilities. Entered the financial and admissions data into the hospital information computer systems.
I got along well with my co-workers and managers. At times the position was very fast paced which made the day go by quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can start a career at this job
Patient Aide (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 11, 2014
you have peak hours where you prepare and serve food. I learned how to memorize over 50 patients dinner plan. The management was okay but it could have been better. The hardest part about the job is closing down the kitchen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and caring place to work
Registered Nurse/Float Nurse (Former Employee), West Islip, NYApril 9, 2014
Great place to work. Friendly caring staff. Support staff wonderful to work with. Floating to many units in the hospital gave me an extensive knowledge base. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with changes on each individual unit. The most enjoyable part of my job was making my patients smile even though they had pain or felt miserable. Patient – more... satisfaction is my number one priority . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
PCA/Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Cincinnati ohioApril 8, 2014
Approved payday loans, made reminder calls, marketing and picked up money from the bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community/Family feel at a large acute care hospital
Radiologic Technologist/ CT Technologist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 8, 2014
Pros: hospital appreciation week, free holiday meals
The Radiology department has a slow but steady workflow with periods of high volume. Busier from noon to about 7pm. Occasionally the staff is stretched thin because there is no one to call in (No PRN pool). Some co-workers are immature and unprofessional but it doesn't cause to many problems with efficiency and work flow. The leadership is very knowledgeable – more... and willing to be flexible as long as the employee is also flexible and a team player. The best part of the job was the friendly, family like atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong work enviroment
RN Utilization Review/Preadmit RN Coordinator (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILMarch 25, 2014
Fast paced
Good support for learning strong verbal skills in assessment
Good support for learning strong verbal and eval skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to begin my career
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHMarch 22, 2014
A good place to gain clinical experience and knowledge. I loved my coworkers and the job itself. I wish I could have worked my work schedule around my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Duty Engineer (Current Employee), puyallop waMarch 11, 2014
Pros: good staff
Cons: facilities is a good old boys club
over all management is ok. hospital staff is good to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Starter
Registered Nurse- Operating Room (Former Employee), Lebanon, PAMarch 5, 2014
Good place to start your career- this is a small community based hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee), Kearney, NEMarch 4, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: did not get paid a lot
Very Productive and we always worked as a team. Got along with everyone and we had fun when we could. Depending on how surgeries went, it was a constant pace or a past paced day but still fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSH where great things happen
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Dayton OhioFebruary 26, 2014
I chose Clinical Laboratory Science as a career not only because I like to analyze and figure things out, but because I am hopeful that my results are directing physicians to save the patients I am resulting. I care about my patients!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great place to work.
Patient Access Specialist (Current Employee), Dayton, OHFebruary 19, 2014
Job security and advancement
Happy place to work for
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Registered Nurse I (Current Employee), West Islip, NYFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: more staff nurses
Cons: parking
I work in a very busy department where many procedures are performed. We have several RN'S, each assigned an area for the day or week. My assignment could mean set up/ biopsies trays or angio procedures trays, scrubbing with the Radiologist during placement of Dialysis catheters, an US-guided abdominal drainage, de-clotting of HD catheters, assist with – more... angiograms or transjugular liver bx, helping with vena cava filter deployment. Starting all out patients IV"s for contrast administration. Help with IVP"s , place Foley caths for cystograms, review appropriate lab work and pt"s H&P pre procedure. Did pre and post procedure education.

My co-workers are a great team who work in concert with each other to further the mission of the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work place
Clinical Nurse (Current Employee), Dayton, OHFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: make your own schedule
Cons: 12 hour shifts
Great place to start my Nursing Career. Health insurance, denal, and eye insurance are good benefits to working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing manager
Charge Nurse, RN (Former Employee), Dayton, OHFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: opportunities to educate
Cons: often short staffed
The manager on this floor was a great lady with great knowledge and compassion, for not only her employees but the patients, she would often put on scrubs and work on the floor when we were short staffed, or come in on her days off to sit and talk with someone if they were having issues. When you have a great manager, it makes for happier employees – more... and therefor, a smoother work flow in general. I also loved my open heart patients and loved the opportunity to teach, which is one of my passions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Samaritan Hospital
In-patient Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OhioFebruary 4, 2014
Responsibilities include fulfilling patient prescriptions and working with nursing and physician staff to monitor and oversee patient medications. Specific medication duties included compounding liquid medications, batching, packaging and labelling medications in addition to tracking and entering medications on the Epic and Medi-Tech systems used by – more... the hospital. I have also been trained and frequently load and manage care of the McKesson Robot. I also frequently trained new hire members, on the daily activities such as how the robot operates, and lead them around Epic or Medi-tech, as well as showing them the correct steps to take to reconstitute a medication and/or compounding an oral medication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home, great group of doctors and staff to work with
Staff nurse in the ICU (Former Employee), Pottsville, PAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: worked together as a team.
Cons: wanted to try something new .
worked in ICU/ccu and progressive care. we would rotate between the three units monthly. we all got along very well. once they stopped the rotation the group did not get along as well. it was easier to remember how hard everyone worked on each unit when we rotated between them , Soon staff would forget what it was like. worked in the OR for awhile and – more... in the geriatric section they had back then, left to try something different. Home care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my co-workers especially my lead cardiology transcriptionist.
Cardiopulmonary Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: good food, coffee shop within the hospital, great co-workers.
Cons: some reports had to be done stat and if i was the only cardiovascular transcriptionist that day, there was a lot of pressure to transcribe these reports immediately.
I transcribed cardiopulmonary reports, cardiac caths, pulmonary function tests, cardiac stress tests, other cardiac procedures, other pulmonary procedures and enjoyed doing this as this was the area of my expertise.

1 2 3 4 5

About Good Samaritan Hospital

Good Samaritan Hospital lends a hand to help Silicon Valley's techies and their neighbors stay healthy. The facility, part of – Read more