Find companies:
Good Shepherd Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Good Shepherd Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A supportive environment tht encourages regular growth in terms of techniques that will enhance work.
foster care caseworker (Former Employee), Bronx, New YorkSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: the health coverage co-payment was high.
A typical day at work would begin with a home visit to one of our teen's home and assess he/she's safety and adjustment. The most important lesson learned at Good Shepherd is to always be available for each of our participants when they need us, even if it is inconvenient for us. Management always took the time to ask what we thought and our thoughts – more... on how to approach a particular case. My co-workers were always competent and available in case of an extreme emergency and wold often help out when needed, even though the most challenging part of the job was effectively dealing with abused teens with special needs and engaging them to trust me. Once done, this became the most enjoyable part of the job and would sometimes lead to the accomplishment of the permanency goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thumbs up
Temp (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: wonderful environment
Cons: traveling
This is a great place to work . The people are friendly and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse cultures which comes together to better the community for youths and parents.
Group Leader (Former Employee), Bronx/Brooklyn, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: company pays well.
Cons: no benefits.
A typical day at work consists of engaging students to expand their academics & skills. I have learned so much about the communities and cultures. Management is good. Co-workers were alright for most of the times. The hardest part of the job is not having enough time with helping a child. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you made a difference – more... in a child life, for the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous disorganized
school staff (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 30, 2014
Pros: some nice people
Cons: turn over rate very high
Violent high risk youth. Staff is not treated well or paid well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA at Good SHepherd
CNA/Trainer (Former Employee), Seymour, WIAugust 23, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: expectations
I enjoyed helping my residents and making a difference.

I didn't like working short staffed, and feeling unappreciated at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the youth not the adults that take care of them
Social Worker (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: good shepherd looks good on your resume
Cons: poor leadership and communication. low balled on pay
Good Shepherd was a great place to work, but recently, management doesn't manage. Days are scheduled to be structured, but in actuality, they are not and the environment is chaotic. Directors do not direct. This is as of recently. Money is either missing or there isnt any, co-workers date laterally supervisors/line staff. They promote "Sanctuary" but – more... that's all it is promotion. It isn't a belief. I learned that when the top dogs leave the directors and division directors really are clueless as to what is REALLY going on. The hardest part is no respect for your own time. You are volunteered or expected to stay. People should have been fired but are still there and that's because they kiss butt. Gossip amongst adults where truth is thought to be a lie and lies are taken for truth. Stay away from the detentions and placement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with children
Group leader (Current Employee), 2365 Linden BoulevardAugust 6, 2014
Working for Good Shepherd has been an exciting venture. However, the hours does not accommodate financially.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Lead step club for girls (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 2, 2014
I was a program aid and was actively working with 5th grade students. I planned activities, chaperoned trips, make calls to parents, always participated in all activities. I was able to assist these fifth graders not only with homework and reading but with real life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place with good people
Teacher Assistant/One to One (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
A typical day starts at 730 am and ends at 330 pm. The staff is great to work with and the kids are getting the help they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place full of activitites and education
5th Grade Group Leader (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches, lots of trips.
Cons: short brakes.
A typical day at work would be like having a full class of students talking and having fun. I learned that just keeping the students in a room all day while they are in the program is pretty boring being that they are children. The co-workers all get along very well. The hardest part of this job was to keep all students together at all times and prevent – more... trouble with the group and the program. The most enjoyable part of this job is having the children go on fun trips and view all the places that they probably have never seen in their lives. Taking pictures of them and posting them on their yearbooks for memories in the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat each other like family and are very hard workers.
Office Assistant Intern at Abraham Lincoln YABC (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 1, 2014
Pros: great environment and surroundings, also free lunches
Cons: n/a
The staff welcomes you with open arms and are very loyal. We have fun but also know when its time to work and get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trauma Informed environment. Great mission and overall agency vision.
Recreation Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
Great organization to work for. Countless opportunities for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Days
Administrative Assistant - Human Resources (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 15, 2014
A typical day at work consists of anticipation of what the day will bring. A normal day at work should consist of scanning, filing, responding to phone calls and emails, providing reception to the floor, and other miscellaneous things. However, normal days in the office are very rare due to the volume of employees we have. Our Human Resources team works – more... extremely well together, and we overcome obstacles at the drop of a dime if necessary. I have learned a little bit of every piece of everyone's job in the department as well as general office duties. The hardest part of the job is having to balance and resolve inquiries, requests, and complaints all at the same time. We juggle a lot of balls regularly but we handle it well because we work so well together. The most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers. I owe most of what I've learned to them and I thank them very much for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Counselor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch, free trips
Cons: 1 break throughout the whole day
The children were enjoyable to work with. It was always busy because there were a lot of trips and activities. My coworkers were fun and we all loved kids the same. The hardest part was when the children were being bad or rude. But I learned so much about kids and even things they enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TFFC great place to work
Therapeutic Case Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 6, 2014
my time at GSS was a productive learning and steping stone into child welfare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work
Youth Development Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: no employee recognition
Positive work environment, some stressful days, Worked with Children between the ages of 12-18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People!!
Assistant Director, Human Resources (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
I have been with the agency for over 10 years and have enjoyed my epereince. Too bad they don't have an agency in NJ :(
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At times it could be very a exciting and fun work place and at other times it was stressful and painful.
Youth Development Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: helping the youth become the best individuals that they could be.
Cons: my life being put in danger at any given minute.
The days could range from exciting and fun to stressful and dangerous. You never knew what you were walking into on a day to day bases. It could be a calm and productive day and the next minute your life as well as the staff and residents you were dealing with could be places in extreme danger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Activites, Lesson plans, enjoy working with kids.
Program Aide (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 14, 2014
Pros: learning how to do lesson plans, i love working with kids.
Cons: no breaks, or benefits.
My experience as a Program Aide at Good Shepherd Services would be satisfactory. On a daily basis I pick up children from school and take them to the after school program that we provide. My duties are to make sure their homework is done and get them ready for an educational activity i.e learning sign language, arts and crafts or self esteem workshops. – more... My hardest part of the job is keeping the children seated and away from distraction. Children tend to get distracted when there is not much to do, but I try my best to engage them in fun activities where they are having fun and learning all together. My most enjoyable time at work is when the kids have structure and they are feeling good. Management is okay, I understand who my superiors are but I am not treated like a subordinate, fortunately I am treated with respect including the rest of my co-workers, I consider us to be a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Activity Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 10, 2014
lead adults and large group of children, good management the kids was the best part

1 2 3