Find companies:
Good Shepherd Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

Good Shepherd Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Activities events
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: excellent vacation benefits, and health insurance benefits, 401k a+++
Cons: no cons
Working for Good Shepherd Services was a good experience, I am grateful to them for my livelihood, and as the name indicates, its an agency that cares about families of all walks of life, they are advocates for helping families at risks and so forth. As their administrative assistant, I worked with only the administrative aspects and liaised with teammates – more... as necessary to support them. My co-workers were good people, my supervisor also great, they were difficult situations at times when things were not going well, but it eventually worked out. The hardest part of the job I'd would say actually cutting work week, it affected my income, other than that nothing, The most enjoyable time is having staff parties at restaurants where we were at ease to just be relaxed for a while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Experience , fun work place , great people
Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
During my time at good shepered Office i learned how to do filing, faxing, copying and mailing . I would set appointments for client within office . Answer and made phone calls . I Greeted people with the up most respect when entering and exiting the office . My bosses were cool and very outgoing . My coworker were so sweet and very funny . The hardest – more... part of the job was customers that are very rude and going through there problems and would come in and take it out on us . I'm a very nice person and i kept my cool at all times . I didn't let them ruin my day . The best part was the foodddddddddddd ! They would have parties almost everyday and had great food . This was a very good experience for me . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORK LIFE
Intern, Brownsville Recreation Center (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 20, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
IT WAS AN INTERNSHIP.
HOW TO MANAGEMENT MY MONEY.
LEARN HOW TO WORK WITH PEOPLE.
CO-WORKERS WORRY NICE.
THE HARDEST THING ABOUT MY JOB WAS LEAVE.
WHAT I ENJOY THE MOST ABOUT MY JOB WAS GOOING TO WORK EVERY DAY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncommunicative
Caseworker (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 9, 2013
This place didn't provide any opportunities to grow or help establish guidelines in which to follow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 14, 2013
Pros: free lunches, great staff, in my school
Cons: minimum wage
I was able to work with great staff members and make extra money after school at the office as a intern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, passion job
Activities Specialist (Promotion) (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 11, 2013
good start up job. atmosphere is great in any department but salary is a little low
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its something that I looked forward to waking up every morning to do
Group Leader (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 9, 2013
Pros: love being around the kids and seeing them with smiles on their face
Cons: not enough hours
Helping kids with homework conducting STEM activities. Assisting day teachers with after school tutoring. I've learned to control my anger over the three years. I got along with all my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the language bearer. The most enjoyable thing about my job is being able to put a smile on a kids face and seeing them progress – more... each and every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing opportunities to grow
Activity instructor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJune 16, 2013
Working for Good Shepherd Services has been an amazing experience and I have truly loved working for this organization. There seems to be a lot of room to pitch new ideas as well as great support. I have the opportunity to work with the youth in many facets of which i am grateful for. Co-workers and supervisors have taught me a lot and have been hands-on – more... in my growth with this company. The hardest part of my job is not being able to help or reach all of the youth that I encounter. I have learned that there will always be some small way that you have touched someone's life even if it is not as obvious as you would like it to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a good place
Youth Development Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 16, 2013
I have liked working for this agency. The workers are nice and I have had really good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin in soocial work
Social Worker (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 4, 2013
I feel like I got to know the child welfare system and what I want to do with my LCSW. They have great training seminars, too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun/learning work place...
Youth Development Specialist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: everything
Check emails, meet with students, cafe jams, group work, and oversee after school program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indepedent Living Counselor
Independent Living Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 11, 2013
A typical day at my current job will be meeting with my caseload, doing inspection of there apartments, or searching resources for them. This is an indepedent living program so most of the time the residents are not here. When I am not speaking to the directly, I am coductiing workshops. The workshops can range from any subject as far as resumes, coverletters, – more... finding employment, or open conversation on different topics.
I dont think my job is hard at all. I think its more of me balancing the things that I have to do. LIke meeting with the residents, meetings, and other duties that occur in the day.
One thing that I enjoy at my job is, everyday is something new. Each day it will be something different and something that I can learn from the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best non-for profit for line staff only, not for administration support staff.
Project Coordinator / Trainer (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 11, 2012
Truly the best place where i worked as direct service staff for three amazing years, but was not equally treated and respected after moved into the administrative support side. Heart broken I had to resign. Very hard to be supported equally by executive administration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Youth Development Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 10, 2012
it is hard work but it is very rewarding. i learn to make great decision that have helped changed the decision making of a youth in need of guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and long hours
Assistant Program Director (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 15, 2012
Pros: school trips, vacation, and holiday schedules. as well as benefits and discounts.
Cons: short breaks
My day at work included the coordination of community servive events to increase enrollment efforts, as well as creating and researching curriculum for the after school program. i have prepared reports and maintained records and databases to track participants attendance and for inventory purposes. Management was a great help in some aspects of this – more... job, however the most beneficial component to this job was the children and the parents. the hardest part of this job was leaving to pursue my dream of finishing my degree. the most enjoyable experience of this position as the creation process and to witness familes gain independency and self sufficient lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Administrative Assistant/Data Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 31, 2012
Pros: great work shops
Cons: its non profit. unfortunately they were hit hard with budget cuts.
It was a great place to work. I learned to work with diverse groups of people from all ethnic backgrounds.

I had a great supervisor who was supportive to no end.

I recommend Good Shepherds to anyone who is seeking a great place to start their careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing employee centered agency
Administrative Assistant/Data Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 19, 2012
Pros: this agency cares alot about its employees, they are always looking for ways to improve.
Cons: the educational requirements for each position is very strict, you can not advance without these requirements.
This organization is very vested in growth. They are constantly offering training courses and wellness programs for the employees. There are also several conferences and workshops where the employees get together and share there expertise in order to improve all of the other programs in the agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME EMPLOYER WHO TRULY CARES FOR THE CLIENT
Case Manager/Youth Advocate Counselor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 14, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: contracts that pay employee may not get renewed
Loved my time with GSS. They truly cared for the employee and the clients!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Group Leader (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: being involved and watching the children excel on every level
Cons: slim chance at growth within the company
The most enjoyable part about my job is creating a bond with the children and helping them excel at whatever they want to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jump Start
Intern Office Clerk Assistant / Customer Service (Former Employee), Bronx NYSeptember 20, 2012
Gave me the opportunity to start in something I liked doing while in school.