GOOD WILL Employee Reviews

Found 82 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day At Good will
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSFebruary 2, 2016
I worked in the E commerce Department. i would arrive at the store around 10 am and clocked in. then i would rush to my station. i was the only employee in this department. first part of my day was gathering books from huge cardboard boxes and putting them into bins to be scanned. Then i would scan them into the stores E commerce system.Those books that were accepted were sent to Kansas city Missouri and those that didn't were sent to the sales floor
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goodwill
cashire (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEJanuary 28, 2016
i had really good managers who work really good with. i enjoyed meeting new people! i didn't really have any bad days! Everyday was a great day for me. even when am sick i wanna stay more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Yuba City, CAJanuary 20, 2016
Being a stocker at Goodwill was a very enjoyable experience. This was my first job and I'm glad it was. It taught me how to work on a team and to pay attention to detail.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place and laid back
Cahier (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILJanuary 14, 2016
I really enjoyed working her the co workers and as well as management was very nice and fun to be around but i did like how if you wanted to go part time that you couldn't
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Couldnt go part time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience. Nice and friendly co-workers. Awesome superviser
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GAJanuary 12, 2016
learned how to enter data into their data system. Amazing co-workers, learned that communication is important when dealing with the progressiveness of your day. Amazing enviroment. The best part of my day was getting to see the faces of satisfied consumer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Stocker (Former Employee) –  WINovember 17, 2015
Very nice place to work.
Alot of people come and go on this job, but the job is fairly easy. there really is no reason why. They give you enough time to take care of family situations and are very understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Will
Donation Processor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 2, 2015
I didnt work at good will for a long time because it was a temp job for me. While I worked there it was fun, The management was very easy to talked to. It felt good to work in such a place that help people that may have been down in some hard time to help them pick thereselves back up
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 20, 2015
Good Will was a fun fast pace job, but kept well together. Management made sure everyone was comfortable as possible while sorting through all the items coming in daily
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Matrial handler operations (Former Employee) –  1080 N 7th Street San Jose 95112August 27, 2015
it was a fun work place to work at was a good experience for me i like the company and the environment that brings back the community would like to reconsider in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
get to met great people (Former Employee) –  orangeburgAugust 4, 2015
ok place to work , its a job I learned how to communicate with people
management ok, and co workers ok hardest part of the job standing on your feet all day, what I enjoyed is customer satisfaction.
Pros
get to met great people
Cons
short breaks pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind of boaring
Retail Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJuly 23, 2015
not much for people to do if ur not a cashire. was quite place my superviser was great also and so were the co-workers. i learned costomer service there to they also taught the younger workers how to save and spend our money the right way.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very calm and nice place to work at.
Loss Prevention Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJuly 7, 2015
My typical day at work started at 9:00 am Mon-Frid. I learned how the loss prevention worked for our store watching all of our store's locations. My manager there was very nice very busy woman responsible for a lot of different things. It was just mainly me most of the time in the office, reporting any suspicious activities or any accidents. The hardest part of the job was having to keep up with all the stores theft and accidents having to quickly write down in notes to call that store immediately having another theft going on in another location. What I enjoyed most was the people who worked in the other departments super nice,respectful and helpful.
Pros
Free food by our supervisor on fridays.
Cons
Being the only person in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
strike crew (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 24, 2015
I learned how to decorate for a wide variety of events from weddings to events at hotels such as the chiefs convention, to banquets , parties etc. all hotel events
the owner and management were all very nice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you can drop off gently used clothes and other items, and also buy some slightly used items like clothing and house hold goods
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAJune 22, 2015
A day at Good Will, is quite interesting you received several items from the public throughout the day, that has to be process to go out on the floor for sale. You will meet all kinds of customers from different walks of life (interesting people). You will learn how to receive and process clothing and other items you will also handle putting items on the floor for sale and you will learn cashiering. The hardest part of the job is going through items that don't make it to the sales floor. The enjoyable part is meeting the customer's who loves to talk and share their personal Good Will stories.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Hanger/Sorter/Clothing Tagger (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 25, 2015
Sorting donations and organizing items for store display and sales. Provided customer service to several different customer needs. Rearranging furniture for displays for sales. Cleaned and waxed store floors. Sorting and pricing items according the condition of the item.
Pros
enjoyed other employees and management
Cons
no job promotions or raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT BOSS
Office/ Career Center Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAMay 23, 2015
GOOD OVERALL, Happy and friendly enviornment no room to grow and doctor retired. Only a small office with 2 employees and 1 doctor
Pros
experience
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 20, 2015
helping out others,cleaning the trailers when they are unloaded,help the manager n keeping the ware house great n on task.
Pros
none
Cons
healthcard
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Clerk Processor (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAMay 11, 2015
Taught me the clothing process and alot of things can be cherish. Coworker very friendly and helpful.The store very organized.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
no wifi
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable and social work environment.
Donations Assistant, Receiving Department (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, ILMay 8, 2015
I loved greeting customers and taking their donations, always treating them with the love that sentimental items such as donations always deserve. It was a very social environment, which I enjoyed throughly, as I am a social person. I love Good Will's mission and all their work, and I want to be a part of the team again.
Pros
Social Environment
Cons
Never learned the forklift, but have a burning desire to!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun To Be At
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Menasha, WIApril 24, 2015
Smooth Relaxed
Pricing and sorting close is a pain
Management Is funny and relaxed
Co-workers are funny and relaxed
Loading and Unloading trucks was difficult but not impossible
Seeing 1600s to 1900s farming and antique items come through the doors.
Pros
Management was fiendly
Cons
Quiet too Quiet when sorting clothes and pricing them
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture