Find companies:
Goodwill Industries of North Georgia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Goodwill Industries of North Georgia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving men and women helping them job read
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Decatur, GAMay 12, 2014
Pros: training classes with customers and interaction
Cons: seeing a customer relapse
Reviewing a customers profile and developing a performance plan targeted for the individual. face to face with customer and learning his/her goals and dreams. what I learned most that everyone wants to be need and treated with respect dignity. I felt the management staff needed improvement specifically in training and development. Excellent co-workers – more... that would go the extra mile to help customers.

Hardest part of the job was seeing a customer relapse and fall back to his/her addiction. What I liked most was the growth period or transition. Actually witnessing the journey and know a customer is job ready . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was one of the most productive workers at my job.
Production Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 3, 2014
My typical day at work would start at 8 A.M. and over at 5 P.M. I used to get one hour lunch break besides two short breaks of 15
minutes each.My job was to collect donations from public and issue
them receipts. It was like a public relation oriented job and I liked my
job because I had experience in the same field in the past.
I did so well that my – more... picture appeared on the cover page of our
monthly "News Letter" along with my interview.
My supervisor was good. But I also did not give him a chance of
complaint Some of the co-workers were very helping while some of
them were not so.
Hardest part of the job was weekends,when we were flooded with
donations while other days of the week were most enjoyable when
the workload was not very heavy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, flexable schedules, customer service, heavy lifting, forklift driving
Production Associate (Current Employee), Griffin, GAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, having an hour lunch, getting 25% discount at other stores
Cons: the random work hours, the pay for the work you do, mangement communcation, cant shop at the store you work at
A typical day at work I price donated items as in electronics and furniture. This also includes lifting heavy objects such as big televisions and sofas, At goodwill I have learned a lot about retail and sales also ive learned how to operate a forklift and load trailers. The management at Goodwill isn't that great the manager and assistant managers don't – more... communicate well with each other so they have employees running in circles. The hardest part of my job is the random schedule they have us working you never know what your off days are going to be. The best part of my job is the customers I meet new people everyday. I love interacting with people that have questions about objects I price or put together. The other enjoyable part is driving the forklift ive been driving for almost a year and I have got it down pat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply or work for this company.
IT (Former Employee), AtlantaNovember 9, 2013
Pros: not many
Cons: long list
I worked in the IT department for years. The management takes advantage you, pay is minimal, and treat you like a piece of s***. The other reviews are right the HR department is horrible. Stay away!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Goodwill
Store Associate (Former Employee), 375 mcfarland pkwyAugust 19, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of greeting customers, working as a cashier, as well as hanging and colorizing racks. Some days would consist of merchandizing products and getting them ready for the floor. From this experience I learned how to have great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work at all
Store associate (Former Employee), Marietta georgiaAugust 5, 2013
Pros: 1hr lunches
Cons: long list
This store isn't a good place to work. They are not flexible. No good HR. They pay is minimum wage but you get overworked for nothing. Their slogan is"putting people to work" and that is exactly what they do and take advantage of. There is no direction either. The best thing about the store is, the co workers and employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Production associate (Former Employee), mcdonoughJuly 21, 2013
Cons: work 9 hours
It sucks working at Goodwill you make minimum wage with a raise after a year of employment up to a quarter not guaranteed to recieve a raise it is based on management. They eliminated positions so it is very hard to move up. They do not work with school schedules so if you are in school do not apply. They have no benefits the health dental and vision – more... are all separate health benefits start at 25-75/ per week out of your check then dental is like 20/month and vision like 20/month. You barely bring home 500 and that is without any benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management in HR
Manager (Former Employee), AtlantaApril 30, 2013
Cons: low pay, low moral, no career advancement.
Senior HR management have their heads in the sand. They are all have little or no formal HR experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Duluth, GAApril 5, 2013
enjoying the customers as i served them with great customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No way.
Cashier (Former Employee), North GAMarch 25, 2013
Pros: hour lunch breaks, co workers, job security....
Cons: too many to list...
I used to work for this company for about 4 years as a cashier and I wouldn't do it again. Low work place moral, dishonest management, they work you like a dog for min wage. Stressful workplace and the managers would steal but yet would sit in the office all day to watch the cameras. It wasn't bad when I first started but it went downhill in a year. – more... Priorities all wrong and it was tiring. Finally, we started losing managers cause of their dishonesty. Managers would fall soooo behind on yearly reviews, that the employees had to go to HR and complain. Managers also played favorites and disciplined unfairly. Several sexual harassment complaints....yeah I wouldn't come back or recommend this place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD WORK PLACE
Environmental Services (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 11, 2012
Pros: good environment
Cons: not enough hours
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST JOB THAT ANYONE COULD ASK FOR THEY ARE UNDERSTANDING AND THEY WILL WORK WITH YOU AND GIVE YOU A SECOND CHANCE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worse employers
Production (Former Employee), Douglasville gaSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: no pros
Cons: every thing
Don't waste your time here horrible management and worse core values. Minimum wage no advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and strenuous work environment.
Floor Associate (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 25, 2012
Pros: the company buys lunch for the associates at the end of the month.
Cons: short breaks, no overtime pay
I learned how to multitask and how to work in a different department area in production. As a floor associate I would place housewares in a section where they would go. Management are very tough on us and cocky. The place is busy on Tuesdays, Saturdays and Sundays. Customers would have merchandise scattered all over the floor. My co-workers and I would – more... have a fit about how the store being in a mess. My co-worker sometimes get on my nerves but the enjoyable part of my job is coming to work and laughing and joking with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh Management Styles
Manager (Current Employee), Fayetteville, GAJuly 7, 2012
Pros: pay and hours
Cons: always hiring/firing, allergens, dirty
This is not an employer who believes in coaching employees. The ridiculously high turn-around makes training new employees almost pointless and makes bonuses nearly unattainable. The pay is pretty good and the hours are fantastic for retail. Otherwise, it's a pretty awful job.

December 3, 2012

Any place you go you will find difficult people to work with. Not all Management is bad. This is a very good company to work for if you plan to grow with them. You will get plenty of Customer Service experience. I have been with GW for 3yrs and it is hard work for little pay. What is your reason for taking the job in the first place? To make a difference I hope. We have a mission and that is to put people to work. Our stores make $ to provide our Career Centers with computers to help ANYONE find a job. The Career Ctrs also has classes you can take. If you take pride in your work and yourself you will benefit. If you are a young punk and lazy this is not the place for you. Please don't waste GW's time. I hope this has helped some of you make a decission.

February 16, 2013

A comment on the comment: GW is not concerned with putting people to work, they are concerned with their bottom line, pure and simple. The company fell short in it's budget goals for November and december 2012 and they are now in a panic because the top managers did not get bonuses. What other company encourages it's employees to raise the proces on items they control to make more? They control 100% of the price points and they simply want more for less. My store manager treats his associates like cogs and could care less if they stay a day or a year, there are always more people looking for work and if they are desperate enough to work for 7.50 an hour, we will take them! There is a 94% turnaround rate....that should tell you something.