Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

Found 7,850 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 27, 2017
Goodwill is great because they give opportunities to most people, but the management takes advantage of these workers and places them in positions they are not being paid for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 27, 2017
I typically did donations i would greet the person donating & help them unload their donations. I learned that people donate alot of things to goodwill daily. The workplace enviromant was a positive enviroment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work area
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDMarch 27, 2017
people you work with are helpful easy to work for. good starter good or even long term really good place to work for they help you a lot on anything car work
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAMarch 27, 2017
A relax safe workplace. People at Goodwill tend to get alone,most of the time.Safety is always main focus,as well as respect and the way you treat your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Viewmont, NCMarch 27, 2017
It's great environment to work in, I enjoy the fast pace the movement but mostly because you get to interact with customers. Once you get the hang of it your good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXMarch 26, 2017
Most colleagues were good, one manager was outright terrible. Never helped anyone, very rude to everyone including customers. Left every time we close
Pros
insurance plans, discounts, auction
Cons
poor management, don't really train all that well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment and supportive upper management
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 26, 2017
Everyday is good day working at goodwill. Upper management always support your decision and very helpful. Work place culture is great and team work is amazing.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked thru a government based program at goodwill.
Culinary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMarch 26, 2017
Treated very nicely and enjoyed working with the management and the students
in the culinary program. Worked at Goodwill thru a government program so no chance
for advancement or pay raise.
Pros
Very friendly staff
Cons
Government prgram so no chance for pay raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 26, 2017
i work here as a crew leader loved my crew and still friends with some this day.Management was not as friendly or good had to do a lot of self management but i loved to work outside and with my crew.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 26, 2017
Proper training and guidelines were given upon start so all task we're clear amd precise. Alot of the time you're hopping around from work station to wrk station in order to provide enough help to everyone.
Pros
Good job experience
Cons
Must be reliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful long day
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 26, 2017
Stress, long day, low pay, poor management, low morale, lack of compassion for employees, no work/life balance, no job security, typical work day gloomy.
Pros
Meeting People
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, VAMarch 25, 2017
Great place to work and learn different job skills very friendly atmosphere everyone helps each other everyday , I would advice anyone looking for work to visit there website
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Program Manager/Instructor (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMarch 25, 2017
Start early
Plan lesson for the day
plan work for the afternoon
Go out in to the community and fine employment for students.
Work with local employers for improved work opportunities for graduates from program.
Data entry
End of day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
OFFICE ASSISTANT 2 & 3 (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMarch 25, 2017
Enjoyed working there and it was fun working for different offices never got bored. Learned a lot of new skills as well as being able to brush up on old skills and the company was very diverse. I guess the hardest part of the job would be leaving because you make a lot of new friends.
Pros
The commute was not very long, did not have to work weekends
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of driving
Driver (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 25, 2017
going to different stores seeing what people are donating to help others. only holidays you can take off are Thanksgiving and Christmas. you can take two weeks or more of vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 25, 2017
its a very good company. I was enjoyed working for them. I learned how to work with the employee. the hardest thing of this job was watched out for people who came to steal staff at the store.
Pros
excelent
Cons
excelnet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big money for free items
Cashier (Former Employee) –  La Mirada, CAMarch 24, 2017
The company which holds a an exempt status as if aiding the community to employ people and support growth is mainly about the bottom line. The push on sales for the managers is crazy and the requirement of cashiers to ask everyone for a cash donations is downright incorrigible. The clothing prices increase every year and the company doesn't even have a program for homeless people to come and get clothes, shoes, warm blankets or towels. The essentials to live on the street without dying. Not the pretty picture portrayed in the commercials
Pros
lots of stuff
Cons
very expensive for donated items free to them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fort lift
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMarch 24, 2017
The job was to drive fort lifts and I took my joy very serous I loved my job I am hard worker guy I would love to work with you guys the people loved my work all I want to do is be a good worker to you guys
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere
Clothing Sorter (Former Employee) –  Housron ,TXMarch 24, 2017
Goodwill is a good company to work for. The pay could be a little better but, if you are someone that is in need of a steady job then Goodwill Industries you should give a try.
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
Less Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No it has not got no tables
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIMarch 24, 2017
Good will is a good place to start back up working When we all work as a team player,alot of orders get now and shipped out.The work is not hard at all I liked doing it
Pros
no we brought our own luncdhes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 8,057 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6