Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great location near home
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Williamson, WVOctober 20, 2017
A family oriented place to work, customers are a delight, lot of responsibilities and challenges throughout the week, donors always generous and courteiys
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always having to worry about your job ending out of the blue.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Eugene, OROctober 20, 2017
Depending on where you work or what store you work at, the stress level can vary. There is a lot of lack of communication within the company. The hardest part of the job was the lack of communication between managers and supervisors.
Pros
Nice vacation time off
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful work enviroment
Donation Attendant (Current Employee) –  Carpentersville, ILOctober 20, 2017
Lots of poor management coupled with poor state of the location makes it unbearable. I was shocked at the behavior I saw at the location on a daily basis, managers would just disappear and come back an hour later. Managers also cut hours horribly for full-time employees. (Except themselves)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 20, 2017
I learned management skills and leadership skills.
The hardest part of the job was the overflow of donations coming in and being able to keep it a safe place to work in. The management was amazing. My manager looked for the potential in her employees and would advance them into higher positions.
Pros
good pay and I enjoyed the processing, sorting and pricing of incoming donations
Cons
less time with my family having to relocate too far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill
Compliance/Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTOctober 20, 2017
In my experience, Goodwill lived up to its mission. I enjoyed the people I worked with and mostly the individuals I supported. The culture was inviting, which made going to work enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Donation Technician (Former Employee) –  Savoy, ILOctober 20, 2017
Good for people that have some disabilities and a positive environment. Sometimes can be very busy or slow every once in awhile. It wasn't a bad job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep you with the great benefits
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Goldsboro, NCOctober 20, 2017
Terrible company. Board of directors and owners make all the money. Don't care about the workers nor their personal lives. Lack of sufficient vacation time
Cons
short breaks, lack of personal time off, lack of vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Lead Processor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 19, 2017
Loved it there just need something closer to home, I Had a Great Manager there named kent, who was a great team player, and I was the sidekick, use to be a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good group of coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Destin, FLOctober 19, 2017
I had a good experience but decided to move to a new state. I really liked the customers and my coworkers. They were very friendly, we would often do things after work together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers make my day
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kenton, OHOctober 19, 2017
sometimes the day (mostly evenings) can be hectic and messy. the biggest pleasure is when i have such good customers that compliment my job well done or something nice to say. most of them are so cheerful and that really makes my day.
Pros
fun, productive
Cons
unstable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAOctober 19, 2017
Exceptional understanding and providing help for my disability. The management are enjoyable and easy to work with. I have had a very possitive expercience working at Goodwill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun steady pase
E-Books Shipping (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 19, 2017
easy relax place to work you knew what you needed to do which made it easier to work and get things done faster.how to properly pull orders and package them
Pros
fun, quick pase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAOctober 19, 2017
I absolutely loved working here and I wish I could have stayed! Great staff with a wonderful workplace culture. I would recommend to anyone! The most enjoyable part was getting to know all the customers :)
Pros
Amazing Workplace
Cons
Warm Conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very a nice to place to work
Goodwill (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXOctober 19, 2017
It's a very calm place to work and get to meet new people. My job there was very fair and I was very relaxed cause I didn't have to rush and I could enjoy the good customer service that I was receiving to build more with other people..
Pros
lunch breaks was good
Cons
sometimes short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCOctober 19, 2017
This is a great company to work for as long as you dont mind long hours and schedule changes last minute. The DM wasn't family friendly and could care less about your thoughts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good Mission Statement
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Goodwill Industries of Columbia WillametteOctober 19, 2017
Some managers are promoted because the company does not know what else to do with them. The company itself stands for good ideas but some departments/programs would rather you not outshine them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with the possiblity of promotion
Merchandiser / Inventory (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAOctober 19, 2017
I loved it all the staff were pleasant, they had a cafeteria for the employees an the food was awesome i just loved it the days went by fast due to the atmosphere i give it five stars all day
Pros
Got to enjoy good music, no dress code, good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good companie
Sorter (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 19, 2017
i really like the job if they were not closing in aug i would not be leaving they work well with all different people and are understanding of life issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we were all great co workers
Processor/Sorter (Former Employee) –  Port Richey, FLOctober 19, 2017
i loved working for goodwill ind. the mgmt staff was always nice to me and i worked with a bunch of wonderful people. i learned a lot about retail from the staff there. also i learned some great management skills
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
trucks were hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production balanced area to work in
SCSEP Participant / Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 19, 2017
salary is too low, you work hard, no good career opportunities. need better management staff. the customers are friendly and very helpful about the overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10,359 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5