Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you're on company time alone
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Ventura, CAOctober 18, 2017
open donations bags sort all different items misc. together gross dirty laundry to trash.
after you get good stuff you must tag and hang after 100 item start a new load.
under no supervision
rats running around.
the hardest part dealing with customers wanting item to be price cheaper.

sorry not enjoyable.
Pros
store close to home
Cons
no breaks untill 3-31/2 hours of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 18, 2017
There are many duties,make sure all customers are satisfied, clean bathrooms and stock shelves,hang clothes,pull clothes and much more.Productive and fun workplace
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with a good mission to help community people in various ways.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 18, 2017
I would highly recommend employment to this company to anyone who needs employment. It is a good environment with the opportunity to be a part to help the community as well as the employee by carrying out their mission of building lives, families and communities through education, employment and training.
Pros
Great environment, fair wages, good operational hours
Cons
Only part time hours, no benefits, annual raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Sidney, OHOctober 18, 2017
Excellent place to go through to expand your knowledge and skills. They help with so much when it comes to improving yourself as a worker and person..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fast working place
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  missouri cityOctober 18, 2017
when I first started working there I liked it because we had a great manger but now some of the mangers that we get know is fun to work with but the want to much done with low pay
Pros
it is fun to work there to meet new people
Cons
short breaks and low in come
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady place to work
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXOctober 18, 2017
staff was easy to work with. Steady work. I was busy mostly all day working in the warehouse department. Good communication between employees. Enjoyed customer service.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill was where i learn to drive forklift
Driver (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAOctober 18, 2017
Goodwill was a good place to work and learning experience for me. By learning customer service.and how to work with all people .Sometimes I had to work handicap people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Textiles Sorter (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COOctober 18, 2017
I was only at goodwill for a month and within that time the ac had been broken in the warehouse so it was like working in a sweatshop, and while sweating non-stop; management would constantly be down your throat with negative enforcement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Employment Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 18, 2017
good benefits, busy place, dirty work. lots of people use the donation center as a place to drop off trash. very frustrating and not very healthy. people were often very rude to staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gesmv
DD Rehab Tech & Accounting Clerk I (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 18, 2017
I love working here. Its just that everything seems to be part time and I need a full time position.
Everyone is sure nice and understanding
easy laid back environment
Pros
the atmosphere
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with great clients that come in
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 17, 2017
I loved working there I would still have this job if it wasn't for my manager.some of the co workers got really close. it was a fun job and I miss it.
Pros
get to look at everything
Cons
percent discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier and Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLOctober 17, 2017
good place to work retail
hours were cut down to 8 hours a week for employees due to budget
hardest part of the job was keeping hangers off the floor
Pros
meeting new poeple
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than retail
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 17, 2017
A typical day at Goodwill I'll sum up in one word Unknown. While working there you never knew what you expect. As a manager we had to do more than supervise the staff. The customers weren't given the best customer service, due to the lack of upper management involvement. Daily we were put in danger not knowing what to expect from our customers or staff.
Pros
Discounts to amusement parks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment/ co-workers are motivated and supportive
General Laborer/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXOctober 17, 2017
Loading and unloading truck, learn how to operate new equipment, and keeping material organized. The hardest part of the job the job is working at a fast pace. The most enjoyable part of the job is when it slows down.
Pros
3 bresks a day
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and dm and hr
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Burnside, KYOctober 17, 2017
Dont waste your time if you are not part of their group they will do anything to get rid of you. Pay is horrible and your donations are old moldy filled with bugs. You put your health at risk everytime you open a bag or box. Management does not train properly
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the manager was problematic and confusing to staff
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2017
I think it was a wonderful job, other than the manager who caused all kinds of difficult decisions which keep staff confused. She ran the staff as a slave driver. I would recommend others to work there but not under the staff manager I worked under. Loved the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VAOctober 17, 2017
Nice place to work for the summer. I would recommend others to work here if they don't have experience working with a company. Friendly clean and a nice place to work.
Pros
good lighting
Cons
no snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced place to work at
Donation Attendant/Utility (Former Employee) –  Uniontown, PAOctober 17, 2017
I took in donations and organized warehouse.
Also cleaned bathroom and swept and mopped showroom floors..
Helped front desk with customers. I signed and stamped ticket for the donations that were made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, enjoyed talking with people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Hilliard OhioOctober 17, 2017
I loved the customers and I loved the clothes and fashion. But the management was rude, did not protect their employees and would allow customers to treat employees terrible.
Pros
discounts on items
Cons
some customers were not kind and took advantage of employees with ok from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 16, 2017
A typical day at work is starting my day with out no problems.How to help others in retail cashier sourding the clothes cleaning management lack of communication very bad I work with all types of people The hardest part of the job is very long hours very stressful The most enjoyable all the coworkers show up to work as a team
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10,332 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5