Goodwill of Greater Washington Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Good Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 31, 2016
I have nothing good to say this company does not have growth within and its not a secured place of employment. I would not recommend this place for employment to anyone.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
donation attendant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 21, 2016
its a ok job at first but you do a lot of work for little pay & that something they should fix fast .also its little help in the production area
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Inspiring workplace
Donation Attendant/ Books and Media Processor (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VAFebruary 26, 2016
Bright and early, hard work but fun work, a simple yet complex job to do. Learned how to band together, organize and prioritize.
Pros
Good employees/co-workers and management
Cons
Short Breaks, and hard to deal with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse working environment
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Annandale, VADecember 31, 2015
You can learn a lot from working @ goodwill! Goodwill offers flexible work schedules and a mature team environment. The breaks are a little short but they're manageable.
Pros
learning
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the community
E Commerce Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 16, 2015
I learned a lot about the ins and outs of non profits while employed here. They should really consider the cost of living in DC.
Pros
Community oriented
Cons
poor compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work and a Meaningful Career
Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 14, 2015
Don't overlook this non-profit community based organization as a next career choice! The mission, company values, and vision have an insurmountable impact on both the employees and surrounding community. It's a great choice anyway you slice it. The career choices are so diverse. If you like working in retail department store, or in corporate role, driving a truck or selling items online, the choices are more than one could imagine.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill is a great place to work and shop at.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDSeptember 3, 2015
I learned so much from working at GGW. I want to thank them for giving me the opportunity to be a part of such a Great Organization. From helping build lives not only in the workplace but in the community as well serving the DVM area. Being able to manage and supervise up to 30 associates wouldn't of been as easy without the help of the The GREAT GGW staff.I have and would recommend GGW. Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others is very important
Processor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJuly 18, 2015
I really appreciate Goodwill Of Greater Washington, because they do transform lives into greatness. I am a witness to that statement. When I worked their back in 2012, they taught me to have Rise Values that will carry me for the rest of my life. I will always respect what Goodwill Of Washington does for others.
Pros
Employment, Education, and Housing
Cons
Challenges and lack of knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ten Months of work ethnicity
Part-Time Custodian (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 9, 2015
I find working for Goodwill in Washington DC to be a experience of excitement at first. But there still be room for improvements for custodian lounge in the basement.
Cons
Poor Custodian Lounge area
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be able to multi task
Assistant Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  annadale, vaFebruary 27, 2015
Every day is nonstop, full of energy, enjoy meeting new people every day. Management cares about associates. Need to be able to multi task. Keeping floor stocked and organized for customers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company
Retail Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria VirginiaDecember 20, 2014
Love the company and the benefits, for me right now is just the distance
Pros
give me a chance to get back to work
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok...
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  woodbridge, vaNovember 24, 2014
Good for highschool student looking to make a little cash by working part-time, not for older people who have mortgages to pay.
Pros
management was very understanding of certain scheduling
Cons
management, full time never got more than 32 hours, very low pay for everything that is expected of you
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience overall
Custodial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 24, 2014
learned how to conduct myself around people and learned the aspect of working hard and being focused
Pros
nice hours
Cons
the supervisors at some of the buildings were a little testy
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only apply if you desperately need a job
retail floor associate (Current Employee) –  Washington DCOctober 15, 2014
you do soo much work for very minimal pay, the Assistant Manager at my location is a liar and has no management skills, the only reason she's still there is because she had pull in HR. I wouldn't recommend this job unless you're in desperate need other than that reconsider
Pros
close at 7
Cons
management, minimum wage, over worked, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 6, 2014
A typical day at work would be to maintain the apperance of the stores for the customers. Thye are important.
Pros
i got to see different types of donation that people made.
Cons
no overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work!
Retail and Production Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Manassas, VAJuly 17, 2014
A typical day at work for me consists of assisting upper management with daily assignments for employees, assist associates with questions and/or their needs, customer service, ensure daily tasks are completed.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great IT Internship with hands-on technical experience.
Information Technology Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 4, 2014
-Responding to technical support inquiries via phone, email and in-person. Creating user accounts and email accounts. Resetting passwords and deleting accounts. Troubleshooting hardware, software and network problems.
-I learned good customer service skills, help desk administration, and IT Service Management.
-Very intelligent, skillful and highly supportive co-workers and management.
-Multitasking is the hardest part of this job. But with proper time management I have been able to work successfully.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is solving problems and seeing end-users very happy and fulfilled that their problems are no longer there.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun work place
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 16, 2014
Can't wait to see what things people donate.
co-workers are very hard workers...
room for advancement.
loyal customers.
Pros
give's second chances to felons....
Cons
unable to shop at store.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very meaningful employment
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 19, 2013
A typical day consists of driving from store to store. I've learned how to drive a truck better. Management shows extreme favoritism. The job isn't hard. I don't enjoy the job due to the favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 15, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting face to face with the customers
Pros
get to shop at the store once a month
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

Goodwill of Greater Washington Reviews by Location