Goodyear Employee Reviews

Found 763 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just another donkey
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  west coastFebruary 22, 2017
Very poor management all they care about is how many units u can sell. No price support high turnover. Better look elsewhere. Pay structure is poverty range.
Pros
not much
Cons
only cater to players
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good ppl to work for
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Rockwall, TXFebruary 21, 2017
i really enjoyed the staff there always took care of my every needs the store manager is a great person to work for he is a fair person lots of works very enjoyable place to work at or take your vehicles good honest people
Pros
good place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good company
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 20, 2017
Goodyear allows associates to advance their career through continuous improvement planning. As management, if you don't have a four-year degree, you max your potential as a store manager. But, that shouldn't be a surprise in today's world.
Pros
Good company - positive culture - they want you to succeed
Cons
Capped on pay scale - incentives ultimately become out of reach
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family orientated place to work
Tire Builder (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCFebruary 17, 2017
flexible hours. teamwork is the key to make any business run. it can get extremely hot in the summer. the most enjoyable part about the job was the payday.
Pros
great pay
Cons
temperature
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company with exceptional overall leadership.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 9, 2017
Historical company with brand new HQ.

Exciting and technology-relevant products. Supply Chain management lacking direction. Changing strategy direction every few years. Lacking in communication to employees.

Most enjoyable part of job is the rank and file employees with whom you work with
Pros
People
Cons
Lack of Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High change without support; unclear
Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 8, 2017
In tremendous transition - not strong change management capabilities at any leadership level. There is little strategic planning capabilities in the HR groups with extends to the rest of the organization.
Pros
Facility in Akron, co-workers were wonderful
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smells like being stuck
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCFebruary 6, 2017
This isn't a job you take and think "I'm going to move up in the company and make something of my life!". This is the job you take and think, "This is my life now. 12 hours a day, forever." it's hot, it's dirty and even if you get promoted it's just to another hot dirty job. if you stick it out long enough, you get to work in the office, which is just hot.
Pros
pay and benifits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodyear
General Service Tech (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 6, 2017
A typical day at work for a general service tech include a maintenance inspection, oil changes, tire repair, and mounting and balancing of tires.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honored to have worked for The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company
District Automotive Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYFebruary 6, 2017
Goodyear Provided an amazing career path so I could advance and flourish within their corporate structure and policies.
Pros
Training and Advancment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad however
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 5, 2017
Goodyear isn't to bad to work for. My only complaint about Goodyear, really isn't about Goodyear. Its management. Their management staff are more worried about making the company money than they are worried about keeping staff. When I left Goodyear, I called the management staff out on several issues in a store meeting. When I submitted my 2 weeks notice of resignation, 4/5 others did so as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodyear is a good place to work
IT Security Analyst, Sr (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 3, 2017
Things I like about Goodyear:
Parking deck
Benefits
Amount of time off
The work I do
The people I work with
If it wasn't for the culture of management and the feeling that I am not valued I would not want to leave
Short commute time

Things I don't like about Goodyear
Culture of management
Feeling that I am not a valued employee not
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best auto mechanic employers I've worked for.
Automobile mechanic (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 1, 2017
Goodyear is one of the best auto mechanic employers I have worked for. It has a clean and busy atmosphere. I enjoyed my co-workers and gained a lot of experience and new skills while working at Goodyear.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, highly demanding.
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Akron, OhioFebruary 1, 2017
There is always something to learn and do. You will rarely do the same thing two days in a row. Great environment. Very demanding but the people make the job better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect to be treated poorly by District Manager
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Orange Park, FLFebruary 1, 2017
Don't expect to stay in any one store to long ! The Division manager in Jacksonville has no care for his employees only his bonuses. Expect to hate the job shortly after getting it due to very bad management in Jacksonville and high turnover rates.
Pros
None
Cons
Week management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cure Tech II (Current Employee) –  Lawton, OKJanuary 31, 2017
Great place to work, good environment, nice people that push you to work harder, Learn more and more each day, pay is great. very long hours but great holiday and regular days off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Licensee
President (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2017
SCL was the licensee of the Goodyear Brand for Footwear. They were a terribly poor representative of the brand. They provided an inconsistent message to consumers in the end they proved to be a poor picture of the brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Destin, FLJanuary 27, 2017
I worked at goodyear for a few years i started out as a rental counter salesmen and worked my way up to service manager for the store it is a fun place to work very high paced and you need to know what you are talking about there when it comes to sales otherwise you will not be successful.

They provide all the training you will need and the staff are very freindly and easy to get along with.

One thing about Goodyear is they work as a team and as long as your a team player i would high advise everyone to apply for a job with them.
Pros
team player good salary
Cons
better communiocation between staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
tread extruder crew (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 25, 2017
After economic crisis took place in the region we went thru a flush of different management officers and relationships became impersonal. I was committed and dedicated to my career that ended prematurely!!!
Pros
I would love to go back
Cons
I on their no rehire list because i sued them
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor communication
Tire Builder (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 24, 2017
Poor communication between raw and finished materials leads to lack of execution by employees. Production tends to come to a halt adding to the loss of man hours and in some cases building materials. Managers are often forced to push out numbers instead of focusing on the direct needs of company to customer dynamic.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cloud systems and DevOps Architect (Current Employee) –  boston, maJanuary 24, 2017
Enjoy working here. learning every single day.
Management is quite pleasing to work with And very cooperative.
My colleagues are quite pleasing. Very helpful atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodyear. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 888 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

Richard Kramer
76%
198 ratings
Add your rating