Find companies:
Goodyear
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
510 reviews

Goodyear Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well but very poor work environment
Production Area Manager (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: poor upper managerment
Pays well but very poor work environment. This is a decent starter job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proformance Shop
Service Writer (Former Employee), Upland, CAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: goodyear products, staff was hard working
Cons: owner passed away and family did not want to keep the business alive.
Everyone went out of there way to keep customers happy and coming back. On my day off, I would call on business and offer free tire rotations and oil changes and then up sell them into a Snythetic Program.
I really enjoyed meeting the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment. Great honest people to work with.
General Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), McLeanAugust 14, 2014
Pros: always being able to stay busy.
Cons: having too much work to do with not enough employees.
A typical day at work for me would be, pulling in cars, inspecting the cars, recommending things that need to be replaced on customers vehicle, working in a fast pace busy environment, doing oil changes brakes, mounting, balancing tires,and also clean shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6 days a week
Retail Sales Manager, Warehouse Manager, (Former Employee), Chillicothe, OHAugust 12, 2014
Cons: sunday was a day of rest to tired to do anything
worked very hard 6 days a week, learned alot, spent 6 weeks at goodyear management training school in akron oh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
General Service Technician (Former Employee), Perris, CAAugust 4, 2014
Good Place and they will move you up if desired. They care about their people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot place to work
Maintenance / Emergency Brigade Captain (Former Employee), Danville, VAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: hot industrial enviroment
Cons: poor management
management needs help very fast and hot industrial environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Mechanic (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2014
Its a good company and good facilities, but the pay scales and the benefits need work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and consistant work.
General Service Technician (Current Employee), Bluffton, SCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: easy and consistant work.
Cons: lower paying.
Although pay was not desirable, it was good work and pleasant co-workers. I was responsible for replacing, and repairing, tires and changing oil. Management was competent and understanding of situations. My co-workers are great and amazing to work with. They are knowledgeable and helpful whenever it is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work. Every day is different and challenging
Sales, Assistant Store Manager, Store Manager (Current Employee), Bloomingdale, IL- Painfield, IL-Elmhurst, ILJuly 12, 2014
A lot of customer interaction daily. Selling of services based on vehicle inspections. I have learned more about automotive than I ever thought I could. This is a great company to work for and my direct management, which includes store and district manager, are very good at keeping communication with employees a top priority. The hardest part of this job was learning everything that goes with this job. What I enjoy the most is that I am providing guests with services that can and will keep them safe on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorting tires is that exciting
Sorter (Former Employee), Fayetteville,NCJuly 9, 2014
Sorted tires, made sure all conveyor lines were running properly at all times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay!!!!
Cure Tech II / Inspector (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJuly 8, 2014
Goodyear makes sure its employees are well compensated for there time at work. It is near impossible to balance a healthy home life and sleep schedule. They in factory care is very biased in the direction of the company. They try to treat you like a fraud every time you get hert.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Tire Inspector (Former Employee), Union City, TNJune 30, 2014
Pros: great pay & benefits
Cons: the union.
I learned to inspect to trim tires. I helped train new inspectors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
able to get bigger muscle from loading tires
loader (Former Employee), unioncity,tennesseeJune 26, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: not enough time to do more
a typical work day at my job is very busy non-stop moving
I learn how to load in small spaces
my co-woker have good competeing skills
hardest part is loading the truck with tires
the best time getting a pay check from a long week work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expanded my knowledge
Lead Auto Technician (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 25, 2014
Was able to learn a lot from older employees and the head technicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy industrial setting.
Journeyman Industrial Pipefitter (Former Employee), Danville, VirginiaJune 25, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: a dangerous work environment.
A good company to work for with great benifits and great place to develope a good work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty Place Long Hours
Banbury Extra Associate (Former Employee), Danville, VAJune 24, 2014
The money is extremely good. However, there is a lot of work place drama. Not much teamwork in some departments. The hours are very long depending on shift and department. This is a rubber plant so do not expect to leave clean if you don't shower first. The benefits are amazing and it is a union job. The work is very hard but the pay makes up for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service Technician (Former Employee), Duncanville, TXJune 20, 2014
Good place to work if you want to advance in the automotive industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expierence
Master Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Coram, NYJune 19, 2014
Pros: safety
Cons: low pay
The company focuses a lot of safety compared to other shops. Equipment such as lifts are well maintained. Technician compensation is based on flag therefore it is not easy to make money! Stay in school!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who hires management
Office manager (Former Employee), Baton RougeJune 19, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management..what a joke
I advised the manager that I was attending summer classes, he agreed as if everything was fine. I went to work the following day and was fired. I had never been written up nor ever received any reprimands. I'm still unaware as to why exactly I was let go if everything was agreed upon. Goodyear as a whole was a fair company to work for its just the management that's horrible.
If a company promotes education and tuition reimbursement how can one be fired for attending 6 hours of summer classes. And the worst part is I was still working full time hours. The manager I feel personally felt threatened by the fact I was about to receive degree and he hadn't obtained one. He wouldn't give me any work duties to do. I would literally sit at work for 8-9 hours looking at the ceiling. I was there to do a job and wasn't able to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job.you can move up here
Auto Mechanic (Former Employee), Torrance, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits.retirement and pension
Cons: working on cars in shop can get greasey and dirty
start in morning look for invoice coming out of office bring car in shop and do service work on invoice.learn how to work fast customers are waiting.be clean with car.manager in office taking care of any problems.it is a cooperative workplace everyone helps 2 workers can get job done fast.sometimes after busy day your back is tired.use back brace and stay strong.good part of job is people everyone trys to help to keep moving fast.

About Goodyear

Goodyear is one of the world's largest tire companies. A Fortune 500 company, we employ approximately 73,000 people and manufacture – Read more