Google Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People to Work With
Data Scientist (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 22, 2017
I liked the culture, the projects, and the opportunity to work with stellar colleagues who taught me a lot about how to be a top rate professional. Project deadlines could be challenging. You have to be prepared to learn rapidly.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Sometimes projects would end without completion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Operations Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pryor, OK 74361October 21, 2017
Typical Day: Working different tasks depending on demand

Management: Self Managed for the most Part

Hardest Part: Deciding on what to Eat

Most Enjoyable part: Playing Ping Pong on Break with Colleges
Pros
Free Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Free Drinks and Snacks. Self Managed Time
Cons
Contracts don't turn into full employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Fiber Optic Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 19, 2017
Typical day with Google starts at 8:30am and ends around 4-5pm depending on the job. Really great company and really great co-workers. Few things could be done differently but its currently being changed.
Pros
Mon-Fri, Breaks
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment, poor management
Procurement Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 18, 2017
I worked at Google as a contractor for a year and a half.
After couple months on the job I have realized that a lot of things that have been advised prior to the start date appeared to be different in reality, i.e. micromanagement, different job tasks, manager changed, lack of leadership or lack of clear goals to follow. On top of that I could feel that I was being left out on many occasions since I was a contractor. Also I felt mistreated, I could get a random text or a phone call late in the evening from a PM asking why I did this or why I did not do this even though everything has been discussed and followed per provided instructions.
At the end of my contract I felt miserable and underestimated.
I am glad that my project ended.
Pros
free lunches, free snacks, free gym
Cons
poor management, stressful environment, unreliable peers, can't trust anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Google Guide (Current Employee) –  West Hollywood, CAOctober 17, 2017
productive and fun work place. very social work place with lots of friendly vibes. meeting lots of people. learning and educating others. being apart of google history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2017
Its a easy job. You just go from place to place and make sure that Google's products are advertised right and that the employees know everything about the products they sale.
Pros
Easy minimal work
Cons
Standing for hours on end
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITC not Google
Fiber/Broadband/CATV Technician (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 11, 2017
I did not work for Google but did installs for Google Fiber, which ITC managed. I am required to have 150 minimum characters for this review. This is lame
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 11, 2017
Professional & friendly environment, free food/gym/perks/snacks etc.
As a contractor - not a lot of room for growth. Its good for a family person (35y.o. and above). For young person - better to work in fast-paced competitive start-up
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job cool perks
Google Specialist (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAOctober 11, 2017
work in google merchandising through a third party had lot of fun meeting people who loved their goggle products, area mangers and google direct office was a great help when needed any help on projects
Pros
free merch, schedule your own days to work
Cons
put lot of miles on your car due you coverage area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits. Nurturing environment for motivated individuals.
Visual Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2017
Overall, Google is an amazing place to work. Your day-to-day can be vastly different depending on what team you're on and what your role is. The one thing that's consistent for all teams is that innovators and those with a motivated work ethic will excel, no matter where you are on the corporate ladder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Marketing Events Project Manager, Google Partners (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 9, 2017
Cool job and team.
Great food and perks
Cool gym and swimming pool
Cool travel and buildings
Not much space for creativity and advancement, wishing for more
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at a job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 6, 2017
typical day at work is always busy,witch is good by me. because by me staying busy? IT SEEMS TO make the time go by much faster.AND THE more i work? The more i learn, because each day is a learning exprience . which makes the job more exciting. The hardest part is when some people slack in their work assigment. But thats when i have to work extra hard. just to make sure that the job is done correct. The fun part of the job is getting may pay check .
Pros
always on time for work
Cons
try not to be late or miss a wook day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I never worked at google
I never worked at google (Former Employee) –  never worked hereOctober 5, 2017
I never worked at google never ever evr evr ever worked at google i dont kknpw why you think i worked at google but i never worked at google ever ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Google via Randstad
Visual Data Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAOctober 4, 2017
This was a very fun place to work, they did lots of activities to keep people fresh and engaged. I really enjoyed it, unfortunately my position was a contract with an end date. So unless you could figure out something else to do that was needed to further the project then you were done.
Pros
great life work balance here
Cons
you weren't actually a Googler, just a contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Field Operations - Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 3, 2017
Google was amazing to work for. Fun times. Great people. Facilities were amazing. Long hours but the perks made up for it. Loved every minute of the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Support Transition Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 3, 2017
You will work hard
You will work together
You will have fun
You will learn new things
You will get stressed out

In my experience everyone is treated as a responsible adult. The culture is fantastic and collaborative.

The only gripe I have is that often there are high level direction changes that require you to refocus on a new area without notice and the can be a problem when in an external facing role as you will have to redirect partners who are not privy to that direction change.
Pros
Free Lunch, Free Breakfast, Free Dinner, collaborative environment
Cons
Direction often changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Express Fulfillment Lead (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 2, 2017
Its a greta place to work. The work culture is nice, relaxing, and fun. You will enjoy your projects if you stay up to speed on relevant skills needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and Collaborative culture
Product Management (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 1, 2017
Very cost driven which is typical at any company. Great place to learn how to work with international cross-functional teams. Always leverage data to align stakeholders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for opinionated people
Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2017
Fun place to work. Lots of perks. Smart people.

But, lack of direction, focus and "discipline".

The hiring process brings in (or used to hire) some smart, but opinionated primadonnas that can overwhelm meetings and discussions.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Weird ("Healthy") food
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Google creates an environment for creativity to thrive.
Senior Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 1, 2017
Google creates an environment for creativity to thrive.
The difference being the people they hire. Each team member is an expert at their field and it's through these people that relationships are built.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Google. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,787 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.3