Google Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Fiber Optic Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 19, 2017
Typical day with Google starts at 8:30am and ends around 4-5pm depending on the job. Really great company and really great co-workers. Few things could be done differently but its currently being changed.
Pros
Mon-Fri, Breaks
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Google Guide (Current Employee) –  West Hollywood, CAOctober 17, 2017
productive and fun work place. very social work place with lots of friendly vibes. meeting lots of people. learning and educating others. being apart of google history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2017
Its a easy job. You just go from place to place and make sure that Google's products are advertised right and that the employees know everything about the products they sale.
Pros
Easy minimal work
Cons
Standing for hours on end
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITC not Google
Fiber/Broadband/CATV Technician (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 11, 2017
I did not work for Google but did installs for Google Fiber, which ITC managed. I am required to have 150 minimum characters for this review. This is lame
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 11, 2017
Professional & friendly environment, free food/gym/perks/snacks etc.
As a contractor - not a lot of room for growth. Its good for a family person (35y.o. and above). For young person - better to work in fast-paced competitive start-up
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job cool perks
Google Specialist (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAOctober 11, 2017
work in google merchandising through a third party had lot of fun meeting people who loved their goggle products, area mangers and google direct office was a great help when needed any help on projects
Pros
free merch, schedule your own days to work
Cons
put lot of miles on your car due you coverage area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits. Nurturing environment for motivated individuals.
Visual Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2017
Overall, Google is an amazing place to work. Your day-to-day can be vastly different depending on what team you're on and what your role is. The one thing that's consistent for all teams is that innovators and those with a motivated work ethic will excel, no matter where you are on the corporate ladder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Marketing Events Project Manager, Google Partners (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 9, 2017
Cool job and team.
Great food and perks
Cool gym and swimming pool
Cool travel and buildings
Not much space for creativity and advancement, wishing for more
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at a job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 6, 2017
typical day at work is always busy,witch is good by me. because by me staying busy? IT SEEMS TO make the time go by much faster.AND THE more i work? The more i learn, because each day is a learning exprience . which makes the job more exciting. The hardest part is when some people slack in their work assigment. But thats when i have to work extra hard. just to make sure that the job is done correct. The fun part of the job is getting may pay check .
Pros
always on time for work
Cons
try not to be late or miss a wook day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I never worked at google
I never worked at google (Former Employee) –  never worked hereOctober 5, 2017
I never worked at google never ever evr evr ever worked at google i dont kknpw why you think i worked at google but i never worked at google ever ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Google via Randstad
Visual Data Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAOctober 4, 2017
This was a very fun place to work, they did lots of activities to keep people fresh and engaged. I really enjoyed it, unfortunately my position was a contract with an end date. So unless you could figure out something else to do that was needed to further the project then you were done.
Pros
great life work balance here
Cons
you weren't actually a Googler, just a contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Field Operations - Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 3, 2017
Google was amazing to work for. Fun times. Great people. Facilities were amazing. Long hours but the perks made up for it. Loved every minute of the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Support Transition Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 3, 2017
You will work hard
You will work together
You will have fun
You will learn new things
You will get stressed out

In my experience everyone is treated as a responsible adult. The culture is fantastic and collaborative.

The only gripe I have is that often there are high level direction changes that require you to refocus on a new area without notice and the can be a problem when in an external facing role as you will have to redirect partners who are not privy to that direction change.
Pros
Free Lunch, Free Breakfast, Free Dinner, collaborative environment
Cons
Direction often changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Express Fulfillment Lead (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 2, 2017
Its a greta place to work. The work culture is nice, relaxing, and fun. You will enjoy your projects if you stay up to speed on relevant skills needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and Collaborative culture
Product Management (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 1, 2017
Very cost driven which is typical at any company. Great place to learn how to work with international cross-functional teams. Always leverage data to align stakeholders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for opinionated people
Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2017
Fun place to work. Lots of perks. Smart people.

But, lack of direction, focus and "discipline".

The hiring process brings in (or used to hire) some smart, but opinionated primadonnas that can overwhelm meetings and discussions.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Weird ("Healthy") food
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Google creates an environment for creativity to thrive.
Senior Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 1, 2017
Google creates an environment for creativity to thrive.
The difference being the people they hire. Each team member is an expert at their field and it's through these people that relationships are built.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment and work culture
Operations Lead (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CASeptember 30, 2017
Very relaxed yet competitive work culture. Learned to work in diverse environment, improved management and technical skills. Never thought working would be fun before working in Google!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Here interesting and instructive
Picker & Packer (Current Employee) –  Germantown, MDSeptember 29, 2017
This company is very standers
Rule regulation better than other company
I learnt lot of things from this company, they did train us for fourteen
days
No hardest part for the company but need to be careful
It's really enjoyable place to work.
Pros
No free lunch and no pay in the break time
Cons
Break good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Animator (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CASeptember 28, 2017
best everrrr
Days were Hectic but i felt occipied
it was as any other GA work but was worth it and would love to work in a space like pace where i can be the person i am and can do what im best at
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Google. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,784 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.3