Google Employee Reviews

Found 422 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Camera Car Driver (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 11, 2015
Laid back atmosphere great team, leadership was fantastic learned many skills that assisted me in my daily life. The best part of the job was the overtime hours that were offered they were excellent . the parking was wonderful and the co workers were very helpful
Pros
Travel
Cons
Small car
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Summer Intern at DOODLE4GOOGLE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2015
A typical day at google is really hectic. Although you know you work for google, you never know when does the time pass by working all day. Excellent management and amazing co-workers and leaders. Hardest part of the job for me was to adjust my schedule as i was a full time student. the most enjoyable part of the job was the name where I worked itself "GOOGLE"
Pros
all facilities were provided like gym, lunches, dinner, campus etc Google is its own world within a world on earth
Cons
Visa sponsorship
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and workflow
Java Developer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 5, 2015
Its really good to work at google and i have learnt many thing regarding work at google and its really great opportunity to work at google.
Pros
Free lunches, etc.
Cons
Short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for
Corporate Engineering Integration (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CANovember 4, 2015
Excellent benefits, great culture, internal mobility, and coworkers and the best and brightest in their fields. Senior leadership will continue to make great products and a wonderful workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work day
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  xxx Eigth AvenueNovember 4, 2015
Google has been a fun place to work at. It has its perks such as free food and being in a relaxed environment. The pay is good compared to other jobs in the field.
Pros
free food
Cons
standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate workplace
Program Manager/Logistics (Former Employee) –  Mt View, CANovember 4, 2015
Adequate workplace but definitely tailored to the millennials. It is not a company that offers a good work life balance for someone who has young children or has just started a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent position
Senior Innovation Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 17, 2015
The team at Google provides clear direction and they provide consistent, valuable performance feedback while dedicating considerable efforts to developing the skills of all team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked a marketing project with them when i was a student
Student (Former Employee) –  FraminghamOctober 15, 2015
Great people to correspond with. Did not really work for the company. Overall a rewarding experience learning from them. Considerate of others and can present great.
Pros
Great people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in
Candidate Host (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 14, 2015
a fast paced working environment that is a fun. There are multiple amenities free for use such as pool tables, bowling lanes, swimming pools. Plus working here is great since everyone I deal with has a good sense of professionalism.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
the ladder of moving up
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sound Engineer, Text-to-Speech (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAOctober 7, 2015
Google is a great place to work. The culture here is unlike any other. You're encouraged to be creative, and that in turn is infectious because it motivates employees to give it their all. There are great perks around the main campus - the main one being free food. But it's nice to take a break and go play volleyball or take a ride down one of the slides.
Pros
Free lunch, concerts, talks, random perks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had an interesting time
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 6, 2015
Great place to work if you are a software engineer. Just like any other large company if you are not. The benefits are great but don't make up for some of the poor management practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is great; amazing perks
Scan Operator/POC of Returns (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CASeptember 29, 2015
Co workers are great,everyone is friendly, welcoming. If you ever have a question you don't have to hesitate about asking for help.
Pros
Free lunch, gym, laundry.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and transportation and food are provided.
SQA Engineer (contract) (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CASeptember 28, 2015
Schedule is from 9 - 5PM.
Run assigned test cases.
Group is too busy to social.
Jobs that not too hard.
Find bugs and report them.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a temp remote job
Ads Quality Rater (Current Employee) –  RemoteSeptember 27, 2015
I love the freedom that it gives me to work remotely. The job itself is very interesting because it allows me to see how search results are generated. The job is very automated. I do not have any live contact with Google. Any questions go thru my temp agency.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
ACCOUNT MANAGER, LARGE CUSTOMER SALES (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 27, 2015
I loved working at Google. Ton of responsibility and lots of opportunity to take on new projects and challenges. Smart colleagues who push you to be your best!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Google Quality Rater (Former Employee) –  RemoteSeptember 16, 2015
 Reporting and tracking the visual quality and content accuracy of Google advertisements
 Using an online tool to examine advertising-related data of different kinds and provide feedback and analysis to Google
 Examining and analyzing text, Web pages, images, and other kinds of information
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work long hours
Network Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  CASeptember 16, 2015
Lots of Fun but your work crazy hours. Lots of benefits but promotion is really hard for anyone with a family that needs to balance life vs work committments
Pros
Fun
Cons
Promo is like running for office
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Workplace , Amazing People
Web Developer (Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CASeptember 14, 2015
The hardest part of the job was being a consultant and being the only one on the team to create the application. Everything else I loved about the job, the perks, the people, the culture. I would work for Google over anywhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment with much opportunity to learn
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 14, 2015
Great place to work, many opportunities to learn new skills. Performance is rewarded.

Co-workers were helpful and willing to pitch in to improve the work and resolve issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't be a Google Maps GIS Surveyor
Adecco contractor, surveyor, Insight, PlaceSense (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 11, 2015
There is a strong divide between working as a contractor for Google vs being an employee. It was like being at the fence of the garden of Eden, looking in at happy Googlers, while sitting just out of reach. Being a Google employee, a "white badger", is great. Being a contractor (or TVC as Google calls us) can range from honestly very great, to terrible. If you're a developer who is a contractor, or a manager, life is pretty good. But if you're a worker bee, it's rough. The maps people possibly have the worst of it.

The Google divide is becomes quickly, starkly obvious just after starting. There is no health insurance, and no paid time off when working as a Google Maps surveyor (or any TVC). Traveling extensively, often no where interesting, and staying over the weekend with no option to return home for weeks at a time made this job very hard for me, especially because I have a family. Vacations, even short ones, where highly detrimental to putting food on the table and paying rent.

Google gave me a corporate credit card to pay for daily meals, which was good. BUT the card was heavily micromanaged with daily and weekly reports due for its use. Even though it had a daily expenditure cap. But I was never allowed to gain points for purchases, while my managers quickly become diamond Hilton members making reservations for me... A very clear double standard. You are also expected to enter business spaces and survey but without permission from business and business owners, which didn't sit well with me.

It was also falsely advertised as 50-75% travel, but was actually closer
  more... to 92.5 percent travel. I counted the days I spent with my wife, I spent about 35 days with her over a year. When I asked about this, I was informed the nature of the work changed since I was hired, and I could quit or continue working. (The nature hadn't changed, it was like that from day 1.)

It was very easy to be fired. Once, this is true, a surveyor accidentally bumped into a Google employee while passing the employee in a hallway. That TVC was fired within ten minutes, because the employee thought it was done on purpose. Another TVC made a joke an employee didn't like, and security literally showed up and escorted that person to their hotel, packed their bags, and brought them to the airport. TVC are constantly criticized my Google managers and TVC managers on the quality of their work. Any dip in "numbers and metrics" usually foreshadowed a reprimand. So a lot of TVC falsified their work to have high numbers, which made honest employees look like slackers. But the "top performers" where not questioned. This really caused a toxic work environment.

Management rarely reached out except to criticize, and frankly couldn't remember TVC names most of the time.

Performance reviews were strange. Many questions were asked, but one question was always asked. Managers constantly asked TVCs is they were "happy", which everyone automatically answered "yes", regardless of the honest of that. Google has a strange was of equating "happiness" to "job performance". While it's true happy employees work better, that doesn't mean honestly unhappy ones aren't working well. But everyone who admitted to being "unhappy" was let go within a month or two.

Fellow TVCs are delusional. Many TVC claim to be Google employees, but become notably distressed when unable to attend Google events, and TVC managers are vindictive when other TVC point out that "we are all TVCs." Many falsely claim to be Google employees on their linkedin profiles. When the job is particularly bad, TVC offer each other reassurance that "at least they can put Google on their resume", which is just sad.

Google managers are removed from the TVC reality. When going to Brazil, I requested emergency medical supplies, which was denied, because Brazil "wasn't a safety concern according to the Google Security Team." While sitting at gunpoint, briefly hostage in a favela, I was relieved that I purchased the kit myself. When we finally notified our Google manager of our near death experience, his response was, "I'm in meetings all day, sounds like you guys are alive and took care of it."

Not having insurance become a big problem too. Due to the laws of probability, I was put in several situations where people tried to actually murder me, either through vehicular homicide while driving, and once at gun point. All in less than a year. Being a combat veteran myself, having some one trying to kill me isn't new. What was new was having zero safety net for my family should I die. And having fellow Americans (or in some cases, Brazilians) trying to kill me.

There was zero protection for women. Several of the female surveyors were nearly sexually assaulted or robbed when working in bad areas. All surveyors are put in situations of questionable safety, but being female seemed to attract even more than usual trouble.

Overall, between the micromanagement, danger, and time away from home, this was a miserable job. I don't recommend it.

If health and life insurance, and paid time off were part of the job, it would have been a better.
  less
Pros
Free food
Cons
dangerous, zero growth, time away from home, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 649 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture