Gordmans

217 reviews

Gordmans Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE
Cashier (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJuly 27, 2015
GREAT PLACE TO WORK!
Friendly staff, great managers, great enviornment.
loved working here!
just doesnt give enough hours and the pay isnt that great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long stressful, but love the people i worked with, and helped!
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Midvale, UTJuly 25, 2015
Pros: friendly customers
Cons: short breaks, no interaction from manager
the management was awful, they didn't pay enough.
they had me work 9 hour days, just to treat me bad. I loved working with the customers, and my co workers, they always made me happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Nampa, IDJuly 19, 2015
Pros: 15 minute break required by law
Cons: Short breaks
I didn't learn anything out of the ordinary and each day was the same. It's not a job with any challenges or strategies. Very mundane with little room for advanement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Sales Floor Representative (Former Employee), Fairview Heights, ILJuly 9, 2015
salefloor rep and folder clothes answering the phones and help guest when they were in need of help also my coworkers i were also a cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Exciting atmosphere to work in
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Nampa, IDJuly 5, 2015
A typical day in my shoes at Gordmans includes Putting merchandise away (re-shop/returns), Recovering the departments as to making them look nice and appealing to the guest's eye. I also run a cashier when busy and do all things cashiers do. I also Clean up messes, answer guests questions and greet them as I see them!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Stockroom Associate (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 3, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: the pay
Lots of hard work and the pay is not so great, but the co-workers made it fun. Lifting heavy boxes and lots of climbing on latters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay company to work for
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 30, 2015
Pros: Good benefits
Cons: terrible raises, not much room for advancement
lots of work to be done, managers don't help out when needed at this specific location. Althought my coworkers were awesome to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cordova, TNJune 30, 2015
A typical day at work consists of unloading and processing new merchandise. The management is good. The hardest part of the job is getting everything done in a short amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly, helpful place of employment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaJune 27, 2015
Pros: employee discounts
I greeted and assisted customers throughout the store. I managed money through the register and stocked racks and shelves when needed. My coworkers were young and full of energy, never a dull moment. The – more... store manage was awesome. Fun, inviting, and flexible to her employees needs. The hardest part of the job was black Friday. The most enjoyable part of my job was I always had something to do and working around others that I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MOJune 25, 2015
Pros: great experience
Cons: short breaks, most time is speant alone, little to no training
The work environment wasn't the best, but over all it was a pretty fun place to work. There was little to no training so one had to teach themselves the ways around. the people were super helpful though! everyone kind of helped each other out. it was not an easy adjustment but the staff helped a lot due to lack of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service based, fast-paced, productive and friendly environment
Guest Service and Shoe Department Associate (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly work environment, and I learned be responsible for a department on my own.
Cons: variations in scheduling, compensation did not match the amount of responsibiltes required for the job
I was responsible for operating the guest service desk which required handling all customer complaints and issues as well as overseeing the lane cashiers and providing them with assistance. I was also a lead in the shoe department helping customers on the floor, as well as merchandising new products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Cashier, Floor Associate (Current Employee), Mentor, OHJune 22, 2015
The most enjoyable part of my job is greeting and helping my guest with any help they would need. Love the co-workers and my management staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and good work envioment
Cashier/Floor Associate (Former Employee), Nampa, IDJune 22, 2015
Pros: Employees
Cons: Managers
I learned how to work in stressful environments. The hardest part of the job was being on my feet for over 10 hours a day on some occasions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position with many learning opportunities.
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Midvale, UTJune 18, 2015
A typical day at work consisted of my daily audits and following up with the departments managers and the store manager. I would then review the electronic journal to search for any discrepancies or shortages – more... that should be looked into. I would spend any other time looking for suspected shoplifters and observing/apprehending them.
I learned a great deal on the operational side of the store, learning how to audit and improve results as well as coordinating and communicating with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont recommend working there
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee), Clayton, INJune 15, 2015
they allowed a man that had numerous harassment claims against him to still continue to work there around the women that filed the claims. let me go 1 day before my hours were up.
they play favorites majorly here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
Home Lead (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 11, 2015
Pros: friendly enviorment, cable in the break room
Gordman's has been the best job I've ever had. I learned many skills and have enjoyed almost every moment here. The assistant mangers are amazing along with most of the co workers. I stay busy and was able to interact with people on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIJune 9, 2015
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Not many hours
Consulted with customers to help them with their shopping needs.
Assisted in the fitting rooms.
Mark downed prices and restored shelves to prepare for sales.
Answered phone called, took out trash, swept through the store, when needed.
Worked on register to get the lines down faster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible IT Dept
IT (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 1, 2015
Pros: Lots of light
Cons: EVERYTHING
This company has POOR management. IF you work for the corporate location, in a matter of months at least 30 people left the company, couldn't wait to get another job. I know this because I set them up – more... and took them down when they started and left. There is SO MUCH favoritism in IT, especially windows team, that its ugly to watch if you are looking for an opportunity to grow. The windows manager lies about your job role and than gets intimidated if you are aggressive and take initiative to do more. There is NO room for growth in IT. Their is no loyalty. People initially seem nice and the environment is very open...lots of sunlight, but the inside politics, who likes who, who nitpicks who is much bigger in the arena of things. Its a revolving door and the technology is run by a guy who needs allot more under his belt than he will admit to. There are so many issues with the technology and how it runs that it will spin your head. The repoire is very bad when you start to see the everyday ins and outs. I had GREAT relationships with the users, but the people in IT were so extremely fake, poor decision making, Don't think you can make a difference in a company like this because they will knock you for a loop. It only looks good from the outside. I left on my own to avoid disruption and to keep my professionalism in tact. I will say that the CEO is fantastic. Great down to earth guy. To bad my boss couldn't be that cool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Figuring out who they are
retail manager (Current Employee), midwestMay 29, 2015
Gordmans has gone thru a lot changes over the last several years and is struggling to know who they are as a retailer. The growing pains related to these changes have maintained high level of executive – more... turnover even at retail standards. If you can find your way thru the sea of confusion there are opportunities for advancement. To be successful at the store level salary executives must except that work/life balance is something often discussed but rarely realized. If coming on board with the company your best bet is corporate office at a mid-level or lower position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Guest Service/Floor Associate (Current Employee), East Peoria, ILMay 28, 2015
Awesome place to work at. Great coworkers and many benefits. Good discount for employees and the management was really great to work with. Allowed me to do my internship and come back afterwards