Find companies:
Gordmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
140 reviews

Gordmans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Independence, MOJuly 11, 2014
Handling check, cash, credit purchases. Credit card sales. Overseeing multiple associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, customer friendly and fun
Key/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great discount and fun work environment
Cons: confrontation with customers
A typical day at work: Offering great amount of customer service, organization structure of clothing, money management and employee empowerement to promore sales as well as exceptional customer service.
What I have learned: It's the little things that make the big difference.
Managment: Great role models, hardworking as well as fun
Co-workers: Great – more... team players
The hardest part of the job: Prevention of loss/stealing
The most enjoyable part of the job: The job itself and people that I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Trendy working environment
Cashier, Floor Lead (Former Employee), Evansville, INJune 25, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: low hours
On a day to day basis, I cleaned throughout the day after shoppers. I learned that if you take a large job and take it in different steps it is much easier to handle than trying to handle one huge job alone. The best part of this job was getting to meet new people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for retail experience
Sales Associate / Cashier (Former Employee), Bellevue, NEJune 22, 2014
Pros: discounts, customers, co-workers
Cons: closing
My typical day would include me to go through my different departments such as home, and Men's to ensure that all items were in place and looked presentable to the customers. I learned a bit of the retail business on how they market their clothing and using a cash register or to do money count. Management interact with the employees during and after – more... the shifts. Easy to talk to, and the co-workers were the same. We worked together as a team to get our job done. The hardest part of the job was cleaning up at the end to close shift and the most enjoyable part was meeting the different customers that come in through the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked it very much
Cashier, Sales Associate, Stock Room (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJune 16, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: management, long hours, unorganization, low pay
The days were very unorganized and very rushed.
I learned how to merchandise and work stock room.
Management honestly sucked. There is 4 managers and one would say one thing and the other would say the opposite so you were always getting in trouble. I took off for 3 days and it was approved a month early, then later got written up for taking those days – more... off. They were also very lazy. They had me working 12 hour shifts then tried to get me to work an additional 1-2 hours the same day. I saw a lot of people get hired and quit the same week they started working. It overwhelming.
Co-workers were drama and lazy. No one ever wanted to be there so they were always crabby and very unpleasant to be around.
Truck days were the hardest days because everyone was moody. Being there from 5am to 6pm happened a lot. The managers always said we could NOT leave until the trucks were finished and made us stay of tried to guilt trip us.
The most enjoyable part was being around the guests and seeing all the merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed yet productive team members
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 16, 2014
Pros: paid 15 minute breaks, monthly drawings for employee gift cards, associate discount
Cons: you may not always get the hours you want/need.
A typical day starts out with finding what there is to do. Work freight, put out returns, and cashier when needed are all part of the day. The management team is so laid-back, but everyone still does their job. The hardest part would be juggling your tasks with cashiering. This isn't difficult to do, as it is simply multitasking and treating our guests. – more... The most enjoyable part is getting to work with people who love their job and are always willing to answer questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJune 16, 2014
Everyday I would help customers by getting them into a fitting room. I cleaned the fitting rooms at the end of each day. I also tagged damaged items and clearance items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non profit
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Schererville, INMay 29, 2014
a wonderful family environment. with hardworking co workers who care about what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly associates, Unhealthy Management
Buyer (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 27, 2014
Pros: mid west culture, nice friendly people
Cons: no work life balance, micro management, not many internal promotions
Polarizing Leadership and favoritism is in place for this company. Very high turn over rate, unhappy and making it by day associates, almost no work life balance ( you are on your phone answering emails on your vacation ,when you are in ER etc ), inconsistent or unrealistic goals, almost no internal promotions, teams get built up with attractive offers – more... given to candidates from well known retailers all over the country , and people recycle in every two years. Only ones stay longer are the local Omaha based people. Everyone comes from other towns and companies wait to finish their two year relocation period, and leave if not earlier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recieveing Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMay 12, 2014
Pros: fun contest for gift cards
Cons: hours
typical day at work is steady management great, co workers a helpful friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and learn decorating skills
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 23, 2014
Pros: good experience
Cons: low wages
I enjoyed stocking the products and displaying them in a creative, eye catching manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work for Technical Support.
Service Desk Technician (Current Employee), Corporate Office. Omaha, NebraskaApril 19, 2014
Pros: some good people work there, but very few.
Cons: everything. don't recommend working in technology department.
software and hardware produces are ancient. management and upper management are clueless to how to operate a large company. no testing on software products before releasing to all employees, causing mutltiple headaches. Windows manager takes no responsibility for problems caused by his team. email system not compatible with smart phone on multiple accounts – more... on same computer. technology team doesn't support each department but are quick to point blame at other departments. week senior management within technology department. no documentation, training or proper handling procedure in place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Loss Prevention (Current Employee), MidwestApril 18, 2014
Gordmans is certainly an up and coming business which provides loss prevention agents ample opportunity to begin a career in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience throughout the whole store.
Stockroom/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIApril 12, 2014
Processing products out of the truck before displaying out on the floors was exciting. Like the stockroom team mates would say, "We're elves. It's Christmas everyday back here!" I learned that the stockroom is the base of the store. The managers were always around and very friendly. The hardest part about the job was finishing the task on time due to – more... a very little stockroom and a big truck. Overall, this was my favorite job throughout my entire job experience. It was great to bounce around and work many positions in the store also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day at Gordmans
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Lenexa, KSApril 8, 2014
I'm scheduled in the fitting room putting clothes on racks. I learned that customer is everything. My managers know how to do their job. My co workers are very respectable. There isnt a hard part of my job. the enjoyable part is meeting all the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress retail environment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Madison, WIApril 1, 2014
Pros: work life balance, low stress
Cons: hours
Gordman's is a great place to work if you like to stay busy. You get to work side by side with your team, do tons of merchandising, and get creative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time after school job
Juniors Lead (Current Employee), American Fork, UTMarch 13, 2014
Pros: my department always looks amazing
Cons: pay. management. work place.
My typical day, I would go in do my job, help customers and leave.
My co-workers are awesome. They are super friendly and willing to do any to help.
My management is unorganized. They do not know how to be a management team.
I learned that my fellow keys and I are doing an assistant mangager's job without the pay, benefits, and hours.
Hardest part of – more... the job is the stress of everything falling on you to finish when the management does not get their things done.
Best part of the job is knowing that I can handle an assistant manager position in a big box retial store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fun place to work
Full-Time Guest Services Lead (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaMarch 6, 2014
A typical day at work included; operating guest service desk independently, answering the phone, and helping out wherever needed.

I have learned that I can do a superior job with any type of customer.

Management did not come around much. Therefore, I made management decisions independently.

I did not work with co-workers very often.

The hardest – more... part of the job would be making sure that every customer left happy.

The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers, Store manager and ASM's are the worst.
Associate (Former Employee), Waterloo, IAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: discount with clearance event, guests
Cons: store manager, asm's, no help on the floor or at the registers.
Working at the Waterloo Gordmans was an awful experience. The store manager (if that is what you would like to call them) and ASM's, do not know what they are doing. Severely unorganized, constant belittling unfavored associates, demeaning behaviors, a lot of favoritism and if you are not liked you are well aware that you are not liked. Associates are – more... quite helpful when they can and not pushing out freight while trying to ring at the register all day. The plus side of working there was the fact that the guests made your day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and fun
Sales Associate/Guest Services (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: flexable
A typical day would include me working on the mens department and organizing the clothing,

1 2 3 4 5

About Gordmans

Midwestern shoppers head to Gordmans Stores for deeply-discounted fashionable apparel and home d√©cor. The¬†department store chain – Read more

Gordmans Photos