Find companies:
GORDON TRUCKING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

GORDON TRUCKING Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Run Company
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Pacific, WANovember 17, 2014
Every day was very busy and there was a lot of overtime. I enjoyed talking to the drivers everyday. Management treated you like family. The hardest part of the job was all the overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady place to work at
Commercial Driver (Former Employee), Pacific, WAOctober 5, 2014
Pros: generally, a good company
Cons: company going thru merger
Gordon Trucking has good trucks. Getting repairs done, takes time, and pay is too variable. Management tries, but comes up short. My review would be to come into this company with some money in your savings account. Overall I rate this company a 3 out of 5 stars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee), Pacific, WASeptember 30, 2014
this was a good company to work for but I had personal matters to take care of
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another cesspool company in the thieving, conniving trucking industry
driver/otr (Current Employee), rancho cucamonga caSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: paycheck. .more like donation to charity
Cons: no.respect, lied to, justification of poor treatment of driver
Driver managers and upper management talk to you any way they please but dont give it back or they will threaten your employment. Nothing but lies and deceit from the beginning. Industry takes advantage of people and the labor board does nothing to help mistreated employees and government allows it. Management's treatment and lack.of respect 4 drivers – more... is a reflection of the owner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place lots of new drivers
Local Driver, Office Assistant, Driver Trainer (Former Employee), Pacific, WAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: none that i can think of
Busy place lots of new drivers every week. Lots of long time employees. Ran lots of miles, had a lot of the same customers and routes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Albany, ORJuly 2, 2014
The company has a really good values are for the employee's best interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
west and midwest regional
driver (Former Employee), west and midwest regionalMay 16, 2014
Pros: newer trucks
Cons: health ins. no miles
no,no,no. mgmt lies while smiling at you. no miles, they think a driver can live on 300 miles a day. no detention pay, very little drop & hook, expect exactly 34 hr restart at home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical OTR company
CDL A Truck Driver (Former Employee), Pacific, WAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: put onto a dedicated account after 1 month of starting work
Cons: terrible health insurance, expensive, few places took it.
Typical OTR company. Nothing more significant then any others I worked for. Seemed to be a lot of in house problems with management related to the owners of the company not promoting from within except friends or family members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
go for this company is the best i work for so far Go Gordon =$$$$$$
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Pacific, WAJanuary 31, 2014
excellent company great up keep on their equipment and management excellent wish only I could go back typical day coffe break coffee break and deliver cargo easy and layback company but are very organize heads up for the fleet manager hardest part of job and writing the freeway and byways on paper sometime i forget or skipone and ithey will hold my – more... monies untill i correct or add missing freeways other than that they are excellent company ladies there are very nice and efficient on payroll benefits are outstanding – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an interesting job.
TRUCK DRIVER (Current Employee), Pacific, WAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: get to go to different places
Cons: not home that much
Driving truck can be one of the most stressed jobs there is. You have to watch around you for any distraction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go with Gordon if you have options
driver (Former Employee), Lathrop, CaNovember 22, 2013
Pros: home on weekends, lots of yards.
Cons: dispatchers have no idea what they are doing.
I worked for gordon .It was a joke. My dispatcher was a nightmare, along with 80 percent of the people I dealt with. The one thing I can say is i got home weekends.They would suck my hours dry looking for trailers that were not at the places they told me. The worst thing they could tell you is,"Find an empty." They had no idea where one was. They sent – more... me a couple times for loads that were already picked up and it would take a minimum of 2 3 hours before they got it figured out. To be fair i dont think there was enough dispatchers, but that cost drivers miles. Most of the people that work at Gordon have no idea about trucking. Don't go with them if you have options. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was nice to work at.Had nice time there
Driver (Former Employee), Pacific, WAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: i like working at gordon
Cons: did have anything bad to say about gordon
I would go to different home depots every night.From Seattle to Bellingham,wash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Pacific, WASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: lot of drop and hook
Cons: can't find empties, took hrs. looking for them.
Good home time, not enough cpm or miles. Lot of drop and hook.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company for teams
OTR team driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good miles, good equipment
Cons: sometimes long wait for repairs and services
This is a great company for teams...real teams, not super-solo teams. We have a preplan 99% of the time, they let us drop loads at our yards if they have too much time on them instead of having us sit, and we get home on time for time off. To the person that said he/she felt sorry for someone who thought this was a good company...you just keep on feeling – more... sorry for me and my $1,000+ take home pay...yes, company teams that want to run really make that much...and we are in a 2014 truck...but if you have that kind of attitude we really don't want you at this company, it will bring down our image and CSA rating! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drove long-haul on a dedicated route
Driver (Former Employee), MedfordAugust 1, 2013
Pros: great time-off schedule
Cons: l.a. traffic
Picked up transfer load at the yard and took it down to L.A. Dropped that load and picked up another in the drop lot to go to Seattle. I really learned how to manage time verses distance doing this because it was all a timed run. My co-driver was a friend of mine the that part was easy. Traffic was a bummer if we were unable to get out of L.A. by 4am. – more... Getting 2-3 days off a week was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent freight resulting in low pay.
US Temp. Control Fleet (Former Employee), Pacific, WAAugust 1, 2013
Not enough freight to support the ongoing driver recruiting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Company Driver (Current Employee), Portland, ORJuly 26, 2013
Pros: paid lunches, job security
Cons: bad planners
This company is average. Everyday is different unique. Fleet manager are clueless of what's goin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid company always working always communicating
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), Pacific WashingtonJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great miles plenty of home time
Cons: my time with them was cut short due to an unfortunate accident, that resulted in a citation that was against company safety guidelines
A typical day at work was always good my driver router was always available for updates and statuses to current deliveries and future deliveries. I always took the time to plan routes and leave in plenty of time to ensure on time delivery and prompt customer service was a top goal and safety of our equipment and others on the road.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required driving products and materials to other states
Truck driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJune 26, 2013
I loved driving trucks and seeing other states. I had the chance to make keen decisions in delivering merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed operator "Best in the West"
Director of Sales, Midwest (Former Employee), Pacific, WAJune 17, 2013
I would not consider working there. Work/ life is way out of balance.
There seems to be no time which you are not required to be available.