Goss International Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Printing is a dying business
COST MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHMay 4, 2017
It was a struggle to reduce cost due to the nature of the business. We did a great job at reducing cost, but volumes were so low that it was difficult to do anything but single orders.
Pros
SAP was the ERP
Cons
Dying product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervisors, person to person. Terrible upper management.
Technical Writer / Illustrator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHApril 5, 2017
I liked my jobs at Goss International. I had great supervisors. Several of them gave me a chance to try better jobs although I had no formal education. Each time, it worked out well. I was allowed to try and improve the methods and the tools/programs used for documentation. Again, it was a positive experience for both my supervisors and for me.
The downside of working at Goss was the lack of job security. People were never sure when a layoff was to take place. There was poor communication between departments. Ultimately, the people being laid off were the people needed to support our customers.
Pros
Very good immediate supervisors
Cons
Upper level management seemed disconnected from the actual job of manufacturing a good product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with many challenges
Senior Assembly Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHMarch 29, 2017
Good people to work with in manufacturing.
Management had many challenges through the short duration I was there.
Enjoyed the diversity & challenges
Pros
Skilled production employees
Cons
Difficulties of acquiring quality materials on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are great
Machine Builder (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHMarch 8, 2017
the people that i work are great people
working with many problem to assembly printing press
the printing field is slowing down not many jobs
benefit are ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as long as you don't plan on staying to long
Sr. Quality Inspector / CMM Programmer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHFebruary 28, 2017
Great people, great chance to improve and learn. Grow your career with people who want to help. Good insurance, dental and eye care as well. Plus 401K
Pros
Pay, co-workers
Cons
Can't be sure to have a job in months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with excellant people everyday and learned a lot
Sr. Electrical Controls Tester (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHJanuary 9, 2017
I learned a lot about PLC's and control circuits and testing. Management was very supportive and gave me a lot of opportunity's.
Pros
I loved Control Testing and troubleshooting.
Cons
The lack of raises for several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing based company with an unstable future
Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHNovember 10, 2016
Nice place to work, work it self is good clean hands on assembly work. Goss is owned by investors that are making lots of changes. appears to be a large gap between the management and product assembly. Goss has many obstacles to overcome but could be a great place to work like it was in the past.
Pros
Good people to work with. Clean safe environment.
Cons
Not real big on employee apreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had.
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  Kennedale, TXSeptember 3, 2016
This place was great to work at. I learned a lot from very smart people. I ran a MillTurn M100 and M65 and made cylinders for the printing industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is an issue. They have been letting long term employees go.
CMM Operator/Mechanical Inspector (Former Employee) –  Durham, NH 03824September 1, 2016
Good co-workers, terrible management. Both of my bosses were let go after being there for 25+ years. I did love working there and what I did. Great people but they are too strict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabletron is no longer open
Pricing Analyst / Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHDecember 14, 2015
People, hours, management was good. Sometimes I found it slow paced and I personally like to be busy. The management I had while at Cabletron was always willing to help you advance if given the opportunity.
Pros
Christmas Party
Cons
Dying industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transition.
Senior Designer/Generalist (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHMay 26, 2015
With the advent of the internet, Goss found demand for its products - heavy duty printing presses - in decline and was in a period of transition while I was there.

Technical work was very interesting, somewhat cerebral which I like, and relatively confined.
Pros
Constant work, professional environment, good management.
Cons
NH too cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Positions that require specific and in depth knowledge of Newspaper Production Equipment and Process
Manager of Installations and Audits (Former Employee) –  Durham, New hampshireJanuary 23, 2015
Worked from home office most of year. Required extensive travel and contact with various customer newspaper throughout USA. Required to observe customer operations and make recommendations for quality and productivity enhancements. Required to install, train employees on press enhancements purchased and demonstrate improvements during production operations. Responsible for installation, training and start-up of entire printing press systems at major metropolitan newspapers across country.
Pros
Independent work making major decisions with company support.
Cons
Extended long term absence from home during some periods.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Customer Service Department (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHDecember 21, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed working for this company. Enjoyed meeting new people at the different sites. Loved the travel. The worst part of the job is that it took me away from my family while my daughter was growing up. But now that my daughter is grown up, would like to travel for work again.
Pros
Loved working on machinery
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work requiring multi discipinary skills
Engineer, R&D (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHNovember 6, 2014
Many engineering problems to solve and great variety of new and existing products to work on. Great team of talented engineers to work with. Unfortunately, the industry is in decline due to increasing competition from electronic media.
Pros
great variety of challenging work
Cons
printing equipment industry is declining
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old fashion company
Sr. Buyer/ Planner (Current Employee) –  Durham, NHOctober 14, 2014
Very old company with no chance in this new world environment, unless they become lean and change management .
Co-workers have been working in the company form more than 30 years average , and they have created habits
Pros
Good product, Job security
Cons
Low salary, Old mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Projects are always different, challanging
Machinist Erector/Site Supervisior (Current Employee) –  Durham, NHSeptember 27, 2014
Always challanging, Always learning. Pleasant work enviorment.
Great pay.
Pros
Rental cars, paid flights, nice hotels, 5 weeks vacation, company match 401k
Cons
away from home for 3 weeks intervals, 6 weeks overseas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat conservative place to work.
Associate Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHJuly 31, 2014
Ability to perform a variety of work. Non-union environment allows for engineers to be engaged in hands-on laboratory work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completetly lacks management.
Senior Buyer / Lead Buyer (Current Employee) –  Durham, NHMay 27, 2014
I enjoyed my job very much but there is little to no management here. Not a very informative company to work for.
Pros
Hours
Cons
management, stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They allow you to choose from 3 different times to come in to work
Electrical / Mechanical Assembler (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHFebruary 4, 2013
The company has give 3 different times to come in and work which is you have a schedule it helps if something has to be done. Also you had a chance to work through out the weekend and for added overtime which helped for financial situations
Pros
the different times to work and working with your schedule
Cons
not much of a future with in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great family oriented company
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Durham, NHSeptember 8, 2012
a day at work involved installing paint booths for printing presses. Management was great and my co workers were a pleasure to work with. the hardest part of the job was the constant travel but I loved learning the various aspects of my chosen trade.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
constant travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goss International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

Goss International Reviews by Location