GOURMET GARAGE Employee Reviews in United States

See reviews about:
Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 29, 2016
Great work environment and everyone is very friendly, open minded, giving and loving. I wish I had confidence to stay there but I must leave because I am ugly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Prepared Food (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 23, 2015
It is a supermarket which are all located downtown. Nothing too serious! I learned many things working in Prepared Foods, the training is not efficient, you have to basically train yourself. The management is pretty cool, very caring people. It was awesome getting to know the customers, the customers were the reason why I was always joyful at work.
Pros
50% off to eat inside the store.
Cons
Store is way too cold
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2015
City travel is extremely difficult when you are working a 10 hour shift 10 hours become 13 hours if you are not in a boro with a subway.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2014
very bad manager. i loved the boss but his managers are really bad at what they do. harrassment
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here... ever
anonymous (Former Employee) –  66th streetAugust 6, 2014
If you want to be part of a company where the new guy will be expected to do ALL the work while the other guys joke around, eat free food and take unlimited smoke and bathroom breaks, then this is the company for you. Even worse, if you fall behind because you are the only one working, you will be written up for it. The manager is a cheap lazy slime ball and the assistant manager is even worse. They mostly hire illegals, so if you're down stairs, you have to know Spanish. Also, this place is a death trap with numerous safety and health violations. The "chef" cooks expired food. Broken wires and spills everywhere. Downstairs is a death trap if not paying attention as people walk around swinging knives. No classes are given on proper knive handling or food prep or storage. Please stay away from this company if you value your health and safety
Pros
a weekly paycheck
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate office woes
accounts payable clerk (Former Employee) –  New YorkMay 10, 2014
I worked in their corporate office as an accounts payable clerk. Hands down the worst company I ever worked for. The manager of the department did not know how to managed and was not experienced. The extremely tight close quarters made it impossible to answer vendor inquiries on the phone. The owners would walk in without acknowledging anyone of us. It was simply a disorganized mess
Pros
nice coworkers
Cons
everything rise
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere, Utilizes teamwork and customer value
Cashier, Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2014
I would greet customers, check and charge them for their items. Conversed with them. Stock items in shelves, rotated items, check productivity of items and ordered items that sold best or that was requested by customers.
I learned a lot on how to approach people, how to better organize my work ethics, ordering items that best fit the needs of customers, understood the ins & outs of the company.
Management keep everything in place, treated me like family, always taught me about bettering myself.
Hardest part of the job was coming in with no structure and having to approach customers and fellow employees
Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people from different parts of the world and learning to better myself food and body wise and also being with my coworkers.
Pros
discounts for employees, wonderful area
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a safe place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  66thDecember 1, 2013
Didn't feel it was a safe environment two people at my job came at two other employees with a knife and nothing was done so right away I left this job I didn't feel safe after that
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy,fast paced enviroment
Food Caterer/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2013
I loved this job. I spent most days working with Caterers, drivers and customers., Handling orders, money, emails, faxes and phone calls. I loved the managers , my colleagues and the people. The hardest part of my job was keeping really high profile events in a small time frame but those actually ended up being my favorite parts of my job. I love to push myself to the limit
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 8, 2013
Hop on the slicer, cut meat and cheeses, did party trays, big orders, special orders. I learned how to perform better than I did before by using the tools I was giving and working with the people I was assigned to. My manager was very understanding and a great person to work with. My co-workers were also very fun and exciting people to work with. The hardest part of the job I would say would be the inventory and the most enjoyable part was just being around the people I worked with a having a good time while getting the job done in the process.
Pros
tips
Cons
no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High end grocery store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2013
I worked here for a summer and it was very enjoyable. The job titles are clear cut and if that what your title says that is what you do, nothing more. Morning shifts were great, you then have your whole morning to yourself, but night shifts were fine because its New York and there is always something to do there. Management was present, but the place was so well ran you didn't see them much. Had to get used to the people though, seeing that i'm a southern girl, but other than that it was fine.
Pros
job titleis job title, nice breaks, beautiful locations
Cons
olive bar smell, patrons, regular dogs can come in grocery stores
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rg
cashier (Former Employee) –  96th and park in ny,nyMarch 1, 2012
I personally belive that the GM at the store on 96th st needs to better run his store, shopping there was ok but when i went to check out and got to the cashiers they were rude not helping in any sort of way almost like i bothered them. The manger should supervise his front end much better,
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture