GOURMET GARAGE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Prepped food supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 7, 2017
Very fast paced and stressful to those who cannot handle stresful situations. Required to do a multitude of tasks, including but not limited to, inventory, heavy lifting, customer service, cashier, stocking, prepping food, food preparation, cleaning, breaking down and setting up different areas in store, etc.
Pros
50% of lunch
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and great customers
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2017
Amazing staff and customers. Managers are very helpful and understanding. Staff is helpful and can be from any department. Useful discount on products. Great locations.
Pros
discounts, staff
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelent
Produce Associate , and produce asistant manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10013June 30, 2017
Good swell maintained sanitary wok aplace , Flexible Schedules , Good pay ,Health care provide by the company , 30 Minunes breaks , 10 ato 15 minutes breack times about 3 or 4 On each period already Worked Well paid salarys
Pros
Free 30 luch breaks And 3 Everydays 10 Minutes breack Times
Cons
Good and exelent Heath providers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 29, 2017
Very competitive compensation and work life balance. The management is very well trained and are very good to the employees.

Low turnover for employees shows that this is a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Poter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2017
I think it is very nice, saved me lot of time to make one on my own. For this part, I will say it is very nice idea to work on it on wed and saved it automatically.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work for
Meat/Seafood Manager/ store manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 17, 2017
Great place to work for loved working for this company wish they hadn't closed there store down but while it was there very busy great employees to work with owners where always around and ask questions about there store and how to make it better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Owner/ operator/ kosher cafe (Current Employee) –  JCCMarch 15, 2017
Potential for growth and development . Creative and interesting working atmosphere . Each day is different and the cafe is located in a friendly environment
Pros
Staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working over there
Cashier/Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 26, 2016
great working experience and nice management that will try their possible best to work with you . come in contact with all kinds of custoers and also will have the chance to meet some movie artist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  52 greene stNovember 13, 2016
It was a great learning environment. They give opportunities for growth. Training process is very hands on and learning as you go. Overall a great experience.
Pros
advancement
Cons
not given salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
data entry/ home delivery (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2016
While working at Gourmet Garage the workload is not a lot the co-worker and great. However , Management is not organized and the company doesn't offer sick time or other benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 29, 2016
Great work environment and everyone is very friendly, open minded, giving and loving. I wish I had confidence to stay there but I must leave because I am ugly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive dirty place
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 31, 2015
A typical day consisted of co-workers drinking and doing drugs on the job. managers doing the same and health codes being ignored. It was ridiculously dirty for being a food serving and sales establishment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Prepared Food (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 23, 2015
It is a supermarket which are all located downtown. Nothing too serious! I learned many things working in Prepared Foods, the training is not efficient, you have to basically train yourself. The management is pretty cool, very caring people. It was awesome getting to know the customers, the customers were the reason why I was always joyful at work.
Pros
50% off to eat inside the store.
Cons
Store is way too cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2015
City travel is extremely difficult when you are working a 10 hour shift 10 hours become 13 hours if you are not in a boro with a subway.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2014
very bad manager. i loved the boss but his managers are really bad at what they do. harrassment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here... ever
anonymous (Former Employee) –  66th streetAugust 6, 2014
If you want to be part of a company where the new guy will be expected to do ALL the work while the other guys joke around, eat free food and take unlimited smoke and bathroom breaks, then this is the company for you. Even worse, if you fall behind because you are the only one working, you will be written up for it. The manager is a cheap lazy slime ball and the assistant manager is even worse. They mostly hire illegals, so if you're down stairs, you have to know Spanish. Also, this place is a death trap with numerous safety and health violations. The "chef" cooks expired food. Broken wires and spills everywhere. Downstairs is a death trap if not paying attention as people walk around swinging knives. No classes are given on proper knive handling or food prep or storage. Please stay away from this company if you value your health and safety
Pros
a weekly paycheck
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate office woes
accounts payable clerk (Former Employee) –  New YorkMay 10, 2014
I worked in their corporate office as an accounts payable clerk. Hands down the worst company I ever worked for. The manager of the department did not know how to managed and was not experienced. The extremely tight close quarters made it impossible to answer vendor inquiries on the phone. The owners would walk in without acknowledging anyone of us. It was simply a disorganized mess
Pros
nice coworkers
Cons
everything rise
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere, Utilizes teamwork and customer value
Cashier, Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2014
I would greet customers, check and charge them for their items. Conversed with them. Stock items in shelves, rotated items, check productivity of items and ordered items that sold best or that was requested by customers.
I learned a lot on how to approach people, how to better organize my work ethics, ordering items that best fit the needs of customers, understood the ins & outs of the company.
Management keep everything in place, treated me like family, always taught me about bettering myself.
Hardest part of the job was coming in with no structure and having to approach customers and fellow employees
Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people from different parts of the world and learning to better myself food and body wise and also being with my coworkers.
Pros
discounts for employees, wonderful area
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a safe place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  66thDecember 1, 2013
Didn't feel it was a safe environment two people at my job came at two other employees with a knife and nothing was done so right away I left this job I didn't feel safe after that
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy,fast paced enviroment
Food Caterer/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2013
I loved this job. I spent most days working with Caterers, drivers and customers., Handling orders, money, emails, faxes and phone calls. I loved the managers , my colleagues and the people. The hardest part of my job was keeping really high profile events in a small time frame but those actually ended up being my favorite parts of my job. I love to push myself to the limit
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GOURMET GARAGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 26 reviews
510
43
37
22
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

GOURMET GARAGE Reviews by Location