Find companies:
Graham Windham
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Graham Windham Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The rewards are the kids and family thanking you
Clinician (Former Employee), Westchester CampusJune 4, 2015
Pros: working with the youth, campus events, able to take sick and vacation time with no question, matching retirement fund, good health benefits
Cons: Having to work with other departments, Personality conflict, Staff with hidden agendas for self fullfillment
The most enjoyable part of this job are the kids. The kids we work with have behavioral and organic mental health conditions. Its not easy but once you build a therapeutic relationship with them and they – more... see that you naturally care its very rewarding. I love when parents experience that ah ha moment and learn new techniques to use with their kids. For the most part, management is supportive when everything is going right. Co-workers can be supportive and others can be supportive when it serves themselves. The CEO appears to be wonderful however our interactions are limited as its only when he's on campus for an event. If you decide to work for this company and employees are telling you as the newbie which employees to look out for you should be weary of the reporter. There are some very sneaky people here with personal agendas. Some staff has a tendency of becoming jealous when the kids are drawn to certain team members. As much as you want to help the kids, stick to your job description there are consequences if you go above the call of duty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Receptionist (Former Employee), Hastings, NYMarch 29, 2015
Great benefit sand work culture as well. Ability to learn new skills and gain insight into social service work path. Career that offers several opportunities for advancement. Fulfilling work and experience in human services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The kids are the greatest- is the best thing about the agency.
Case planner (Former Employee), BronxMarch 18, 2015
Pros: working with the children.
Cons: its who you know and how that gets bonuses and promotions
An enormous amount of work but can be managed. Friendships are formed among staff but you must be careful who you choose to associate with. Some have hidden agendas.

Supervision is 50-50. You can either – more... end up with a great supervisor or you don't.

Some supervisors have lied during evaluation period to ensure hard-working staff did not receive any bonuses.

The children are the best once who develop a rapport with them. They are very honest and just looking for someone to care about them. Children will react negatively if they feel they are being lied too or not being heard.

Some people received bonuses and or promotions based on the closeness with their supervisor and or director.

Little respect for seasoned workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
HCI (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: insurance
Cons: expected to work 6 days no over time
No job security, the insurance is pretty good. Lack of management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
wsp (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 22, 2014
im just trying to upload my resume and apply for a job. I don't want to review my employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
B2H Worker (Former Employee), Webstar ave bronx, NYJune 20, 2014
Pros: pay rate
Everyone here works together to get things done and on time. The manager made sure my job felt easy and non stressfull. Ive learned how to deal with special needs children. I,ve also learned how to communicate more fluently. The best part of the job was working with the families. The children respected and loved when i would come to see them. I love to put smiles on people faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graham Windham
BEHAVIORAL SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: you get paid for training's, paperwork, supervision, services, etc....
Cons: some parents and kids are difficult to deal with.
Considering that I work out in the field a typical day at work would end in a child smiling and learning something new for the future. Time management is necessary for any field you work in especially – more... case work. My co-workers are delightful and are very helpful. The hardest part of the job is when a parent/child or both are difficult to work with. Most rewarding part of the job is when you invested all your time and energy into a kid and you see the change and improvement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Unit Supervisor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYApril 7, 2014
It is indeed a fast pace environment that requires autonomy, and attention to details. I have improved my organization and time management skills as this is pivotal in my overall job performance. The hardest part of my job is the lack of support. The most enjoyable part of my job is linked to my clients saying thanks for my help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the Experience!
Bridges to Health- Health Care Integrator (Temp) (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Working here at Graham Windham is very exciting and I've meet some wonderful people. The Bridges 2 Health program helped me to help foster care kids with services that they do not get get in the home. It really taught me the skills and knowledge to help people who need the support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Westchester, NYJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: supportive culture, helpful management
Cons: long hours
The management team here is great. I worked on the campus in Westchester County. The AVP is one of the best people you can ever work for. She's fair and was always a terrific support. The only con was – more... the hours were very demanding and you could work a combination of shifts sometimes. Otherwise, it's a fun place to work as long as you understand the work you're doing is important and you take it seriously. I met so many wonderful children and families during my time here and it was some of the best times of my professional career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 30, 2013
They are a great place to work if you love helping people. It's difficult going into people's homes and judging whether or not they are good parents, going through their closets to make sure they have – more... enough clothing for their family, making sure there's enough food etc. At the end of the day it's a great environment. The director has a my way or the highway attitude, but at the end of the day you're there for the families not her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest job ever
Foster Care Senior Case Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: helping children and biological parents reunite with one another
Cons: when a parent could care less if their child returned to their care
The day consisted of making at least 10 visits to foster homes, schools, biological parents, and doctors. I learned people have come to accept their children being placed in foster care and enjoy freedom – more... from being a parent as long as they can visit their child. Supervisors at Graham were very supportive and the management style was something I looked at which allowed me to perform my duties at Women In Need as a Supervisor. I still have positive relationship with all of my coworkers I met at Graham Windham. I enjoyed working with them and was sad when I left. The hardest part of the job was seeing young females that were led into prostitution and their biological parents knew it and did nothing to prevent it. It was hard when children wanted to return home but could not because their parents were refusing to comply with services to allow the children to be returned to their care. I enjoyed when I had those parents that worked hard to have their children returned to their care once reality of the fact their children were no longer with them set in. It was a great feeling to see mother and child smiling from ear to ear and just being thankful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but in a positive way
Behavior Management Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 28, 2013
Pros: scheduling
Cons: change of supervision
I started out per diem and earned a full time position due to the success I was having with the families and the children. I gave children behavioral therapy, respite, and helped them in the community. – more... My co workers were delightful and helpful. The management was great. The Hardest part of the job was being able to see the children as much as they would like you to due to the permitted time you have and the caseload. The most enjoyable part was the children and families requesting that I work with them even if I was transferred to a new case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A enjoyable and rich setting that serves children with special needs different apealing academic tools to succeed in school
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 24, 2013
Ghraham Windhamm, is specialized school for children facing diverse special needs which facilitates children with some special needs and their parents the opportunity to further expand their academic potential – more... in a reduced class room setting. The Ghram Windhamm scholastic site runs two distinct programs. One of the two programs is designed specificly for pre- schoolers and children in their early childhood years. This The Ghram Windhamm Nursery recruits a limited poputlation of students. These students recieve a day long of class as well as outside services like physical therapy, counseling and other services as requested. The second program at Ghram Windham, is a more mainstreamed setting in which children recieve an elementry preparation from K-5th grade and depending on a child's needs and IEP they may recieve other outside services upon request and the child's IEP. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experiences, advance and learning place.
Directory Assistant Secretary (Former Employee), Hastings, NYJune 19, 2013
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: health insurance, short breaks here and there.
It was a very nice experience working for this company since they though me a lot of stuffs that later on was very useful in my life thanks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make a difference in a family's life.
Case Planner (Current Employee), BronxJune 9, 2013
Pros: great opportunity to move up in company.
Cons: stressful
Extremely fast paced position, it's not for everyone. You make a difference in the life of the family's but you must know how to separate your work life and personal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foster Agency
Specialist, Human Resources Services (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: credit union, benefit resources some of the benefits they offered.
Cons: not entitled to all holidays. no annual or cost of living pay increases.
Busy from start to finish. Lots of paperwork.Lots of short term claims to submit. Lots of filing. I've learned how to work closely with others as a team player. I learned some computer upgrades. Got along – more... well with Co workers. Worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was was working on employees accrued time. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping staff to their satisfaction while they were out on leave of absence and had lots of questions. I also enjoyed most of the celebrations they had at work in reference to employee appreciation activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense caseload with long hours
Bilingual Case Planner (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: expanding organization allows for professional growth
Cons: human resources department is inconsistent
Overall my experience was a positive one. The organization is going through a transformation so employees need to be able to think on their feet and provide meaningful contributions. Overhead management is exceptional and highly supportive as well as intelligent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work. large grounds with riverviews
Custodian/Maintaince (Former Employee), Hudson, NYJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: good pay, benefits, paid holidays, paid vacations
Cons: company vehicles not in the best shape
much to do and learn here. nice people and kids as well. it was great working with them and seeing the kids grow and learn.
most days i did maintenance fix windows, doors, locks etc.. emptied the trash, – more... minor plumbing,painting, fixed furniture. most of this i learned on the job. the management was great. fair people. most of my co workers were nice to work with as well. helpful and skillful people who taught me alot.the hardest part of the job was snow removal when it would snow alot and it was freezing outside. most enjoyable part of this job was seeing the kids happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged as of 2007
Case Planner (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 16, 2012
Pros: many staff were friendly and caring to each others professional needs.
Cons: replacement management was inexperienced and did not offer proper guidance when needed.
When i was hired, I believed I was entering a great company and for a time it was. However following a management change at the upper levels, promises were made about job security however it was broken following the unexpected replacement of our director. With that every staff member that was hired under him was either replaced or forced to leave.

Graham Windham Salaries

Case Planner
$42,100 per year
$30.00 per hour
Interim Health Care Advisor
$43,000 per year
Assistant Director
$40.00 per hour
Facilitator
$30.00 per hour