Find companies:
Grainger
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
239 reviews

Grainger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good sometimes to work there
Accounts Payable Data Input Representative (Former Employee), Niles, ILNovember 30, 2013
Pros: most people and management were very nice and helpful
Cons: people gossip too much and there was some backstabbing
It was allright to work for. Most of the time it was good.Grainger outsourced Accounts Payable to Panama in July of 2012. We lost our jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont even think about it
Account Manager (Former Employee), NJNovember 24, 2013
Pros: solid car reimbursement, profit sharing
Cons: horrible management., goals of 18-40 percent from your prior figures
First, Grainger expects you, as an Account Manager to visit 4-5 customer per day for one to two hours each. You MUST have all your appointments in your calendars with a full description of who you are seeing, the objective, and the results. You must also do various admin tasks such as pipeline, planning, account plans, more calendar planning and forecasting. – more... I didn't even get to the research and customer calls yet! Once this is all done, your lucky if you were able to complete a busy day in just under 10-12 hours. The profit sharing is good, but the management is just horrible. I have never seen a company hire the most "non-motivating" under qualified managers in my life! Senior Leadership do not want DSM's that are COACHES....they want police officers that micro manager your every move and analyze everything from your customer visits, to the selling process, to the actual sales meetings you book with customers! If all this is not enough to make you run for the hills, be prepared to topple 20-40 percent goals annually. Grainger has a unique way of "tinkering" with individual goals every SIX MONTHS. YES...GOOD LUCK! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corp changes and down sizing.....
Facility Technician (Former Employee), Janesville, WINovember 20, 2013
Pros: clean building
Cons: reduction in force
R.E.F. has changed the warehouse.... no longer needing maintenance guys....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Specialist (Current Employee), San DiegoNovember 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great co-workers
Cons: short breaks, takes years to advance
Working in the branch is a easy job. Non stimulating for a young ambitious person, but a great starter job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy working 24/7 then this is your type of Job!
Account Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisNovember 11, 2013
Pros: profit sharing
Cons: never ending day!
Grainger has a great profit sharing program but the time they expect to get from you in return is nights, weekends and holidays after you have already completed your typical 10-12 work hour day. The most difficult part of the job is the persistent paperwork that is required to do anything. Daily call reports, quotes, pipelines, calendars, forecasts, – more... projects all have to be reviewed by multiple parties at the end of the day. Don't forget color coding for target prioritization. Grainger loves conference calls! Emails from management, emails from customers, emails from project teams. You must be a fluent multi-tasker! Co-workers and customers are the best part of the job! Too bad management doesn't reward their seasoned veterans for hard work and effort through the years. You will always be considered for what you can do for them today not what you did yesterday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Lake Forest, ILNovember 10, 2013
Not really happy with treatment of employees, they were not always very fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50/50 Happy
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Lake Forest ILNovember 1, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: politics
My experience with Grainger was a great one. I learned alot but also I learned that politics plays a part in job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
On Site Service Consultant (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 30, 2013
I do believe this is a good company but with kids and grand kids I need more of a work life balance. There are a lot of times I am working till 9:00 at night and have no time with my family and looking to find something that will allow me to have more time with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great production Job
WHEREHOUSE OPERATOR (Former Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: great pay, and great benefits
Cons: had to leave job when i got married to re-locate.
Enjoyed working for this company. Had great benefits, great staff, management treated you right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated Company
SLS Associate/ Lead Coordinator (Current Employee), PhoenixOctober 29, 2013
Great company but not many chance for growth and promotion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend the salad bar
Minesweeper (Former Employee), Lake Forest, ILOctober 26, 2013
Pros: profit sharing, but benefits have been trimmed steadily year over year
Cons: too many employees idolize leadership...creepy!!
* Typical day...reviewed workload, attended meeting, adjusted workload, emailed/programmed, lunch or meeting, emailed/programmed, attended meeting, and planned the next day's workload.
* What I learned...(1) if it ain't broke, fix it, (2) once broken, you're to blame, FIX IT! (3) once fixed, it was management's/leadership's accomplishment, (4) if it – more... doesn't work, do it again and again until you exhaust the budget, (5) new year, new budget, repeat #4, (6) cover your rear, always, (7) leadership changes goals/rules/specifications at will, now things aren't covered, (8) why didn't you cover this?!? (9) handicap stalls are a great place to hide, unless your same-sex boss has a disability, (10) bathroom etiquette does not apply to Middle-Eastern and Indo-Asian born managers, so be prepared for an awkward powerpoint presentation.
* Management...they just want to be loved.
* My co-workers...mostly a competent bunch.
* Hardest part...consistently changing goals due to the constant shuffle of supervision/management.
* Enjoyable part...(1) sitting in team meetings where leadership spouts their intelligence, entrepreneurial spirit, and general AWESOMENESS, (2) watching leadership initiatives implode, (3) reading about promotions the formerly mentioned leaders received, and (4) a few times per year, company paid for team-building outings where the goal was to beat the heck out of each other--it depended on the manager.

Overall, working here was not curing world hunger, sending a man to the moon, or finding enlightenment. Work-Life balance is good, benefits a tick above standard, and teamwork relatively collegial. Good luck, job seeker! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, paid well, mostly great supervisors, jobs were enjoyable
Stockkeeper/.Orderfiller (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOOctober 25, 2013
Pros: pay, jobs, people
Cons: when the economy went sour, my job ended and i couldn't return.
I had a great career at Grainger, worked in almost every department, and found many friends. Pay and benefits were great! If your department went a full year without a lost-time accident, you were rewarded with a steak lunch and 45 minute lunch period. I learned to operate many different pieces of equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Attitudes
Account Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2013
Really positive company that promotes and hires exceptional people.New ideas are welcome and the company is one big think tank of leaders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced High Volume Work Environment
Facilities/Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Robbinsville, NJOctober 20, 2013
Pros: perks and benefits
Demanding fast paced environment that requires you on your "A" game all the time. Great group of team members who give it there all everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilites at Grainger
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 16, 2013
start my day out clearing out all conveyer belts and unloading any trucks. Also I would set up various numbers of areas of company first thing in morning. During the day I would load any pallets into truck wrap them up to insure they wouldn't fall in truck. During that time I would pack customer products with packing paper scan into right location wrap – more... and load depending what branch or customers order was going to. Toward end of day the whole crew would wrap all pallets and load into truck and walk out as team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grainger
DC Supervisor (Former Employee), Robbinsville, NJSeptember 24, 2013
Most enjoyable part of my day was the people who worked for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company culture is changing. Be wary of this company.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Albany, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: profit sharing
Cons: incompetent middle management
Was in customer service. Used to be a great company to work for. Now customer service is becoming scripted and you are not to question anything about it. Indoctrination is a good word to describe it. Also is becoming extremely micromanaged. Everyday is like walking on eggshells. Branch and district management is hit and miss. More miss than hit. The – more... only reason some are in their positions is because they like to hear themselves talk. Most have no management or people skills, they just regurgitate information and are good at drinking the "kool-aid". Was without a branch manager for 2 years. Nothing good can come out of that. Just an example of a bad district manager. Upper management was not concerned. No room for advancement in the branches. Now branches, I believe, are becoming a thing of the past. New strategy has all phone agents going to call centers. Company now is satisfied with internet sales and shipping product to customers through a distribution network and on site inventory opportunities. Customers are "encouraged" not to come to the branch to pick up their product through the new customer service scripts(indoctrination) called Back2Basics. Middle management only advance by walking all over people and leaving a trail of dust. If you're satisfied with a dead end, robotic job without quality supervision then the branch/customer service side of Grainger may be place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, bad managemnt, great benefits
Account Manager II (Former Employee), New Hyde Park, NYSeptember 19, 2013
some people can make a career of this place if they have lucrative packages. really you train yourself here or other reps that are nbice will show you the ropes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Wholesale Team Leader (Former Employee), McAllen, TXSeptember 6, 2013
• Managed counter, phone and warehouse personnel
• Planned and assigned work duties and schedules
• Monitored and evaluated performance
• Development and training of partners
• Merchandising of showroom
• Supported outside sales personnel
• Inventory preparation
• Monitored warehouse and sales floor inventory accuracy
• Facilitated customer/vendor/labor – more... correspondence
• Provided customer service resolving problems and follow up
• Insured customer satisfaction
• Insured company standards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits, good culture
Electrical and Lighting Specialist (Current Employee), Lincolnshire, ILSeptember 4, 2013
I enjoyed my time at Grainger, it was the perfect job for me at the time. My particular job did not lend itself well to advancement which is why I decided to move on.

About Grainger

Grainger is no stranger to those in need of a wide variety of industrial products. W.W. Grainger distributes more than one million – Read more