Find companies:
Grainger
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
314 reviews

Grainger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits; able to work from home
Contract Specialist (Current Employee), Northbrook, ILJuly 27, 2014
Pros: work from home
My job is very challenging and every day is differant, never the same. I am able to use all my skills learned and put it into my current job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
forklift driver (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 26, 2014
good job just did not pay well at all so I left there seeking a job with the railroad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work life balance.
Branch Operations Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityJuly 25, 2014
Learn alot about business acumen.
The best part of working their was the people.
No difficult parts of the job had enough resources to get my job done.
Regular day was managing my team, sharing goals and objectives, coaching and developing my team, and watching over the day to day operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one day is the same, a fast pace and ever changing environment.
Operations Process Manager (Former Employee), Southaven, MSJuly 24, 2014
No one day is the same, a fast pace and ever changing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local management team is inexperienced in the sales/marketing division.
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Central PennsylvaniaJuly 24, 2014
Unrealistic goal expectations. Heavy focus on non-productive administrative responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace at times
Packing team member (Former Employee), roanoke txJuly 24, 2014
Pros: benefits clean warehouse
Cons: certain people are heavily favored for certain reasons.
overall great place to work like all places can get a little frustrating not being able to move into the positions you want when your extremely capable. fun place to work and great group of people to work around. The overall management are pretty good people there are a few that seem a bit shady at times. Not a bad place too work but at the same time be ready to be overlooked for positions that you may deserve to someone the manager may favor at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to sell for with excellent benefits
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), Austin TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: strong company and great benefits
Cons: over complicate the sales process, undervalue sales professionals ability to for strong relationships
I truly enjoy working with Grainger. This is the #1 MRO provider in the country, and they do a great job of training and supporting there sales force, with the latest technology. Very positive place to work and the most enjoyable part for me is the interactions with the customers. Strong emphasis in customer face time, but extra requirements and admin actually restrict one from maximizing the precious 8-5 hours customers are at their place of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best warehouses I've worked at.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Robbinsville, NJJuly 21, 2014
Benefits are A+ along with the competitive compensation. Very strict rules and guidelines to follow though to stay employed there. Many people lose their job within the first month not being able to keep up with work flow. But overall, a great company to build yourself in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: salary
Management taught me many things on top of the biological and horticultural aspect of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits decent compensation
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Roanoke, TXJuly 8, 2014
Overall I think that Grainger is a good company and truly cares about there employees. However your experience will vary based on which department/manager you work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high paced job actively working
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Niles, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: yearly raise full time work always learning
Cons: had to relocate
The day always was new work job never same thing day to day.
learned to get it done
Very informative and always involved in production.
co-workers very helpful.
very long days of overtime.
Doing different jobs almost everyday not boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Transition Team (Former Employee), Niles, ILJune 30, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: they moved to minooka
Loved working here easy to get along with co-workers. Training was great. Great Management and always busy even though is was on ly a seasonal contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable management leads to unstable teams
Developing Assistant-Contract Assignment (Former Employee), Lake Forest, ILJune 27, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: poor planning
This company takes a long time to confirm a position, this is after you've interview with them several times. In addition, the planning for who will perform what job function is pretty poor and they tend to hire contract positions without confirming a budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filled orders, handled the manual labor well.
Order Filler (Former Employee), Kansas City,MOJune 25, 2014
Set hours, good co-workers, good work.
Filled orders.
Liked the manual labor.
Sometimes too laborious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and Great People
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), El Paso, TXJune 25, 2014
Pros: out in field
Cons: little chance for advancement
It is a pleasure working with everyone at Grainger. I enjoy working with business owners and watching our partnership grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace- close to home and professional building
INTERNATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee), Niles, ILJune 24, 2014
Pros: good base salary with commision opportunities- great benifits packager
Cons: hours are sometimes difficult-
Great place to work and lots of opportunities to advance. Co-workers are all professional and outstanding
Grainger is constantly training their employees and learning is a constant never ending challenge.
The hardest part of my job, I would say is the hours of 4am to 12:30 PM
Moste enjoyable part is working with international customers and internal business partners
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the teamwork and goal setting objectives which were always achievable.
Product Team Information Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Forest, ILJune 11, 2014
Pros: to many to list.
It was a privilege to work along side dedicated fellow workers and accomplish all of our goals and be a part of a company that grew in leaps and bonds over the years I served. I cannot think of anything that was hard or not enjoyable about my time other than leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressed work enviroment for many people that work there
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Macedonia, OHJune 1, 2014
I enjoyed working for Grainger and part of me would still love to be there. The biggest downfalls was almost every person that I worked with was always very afraid to lose there job and it caused a lot of grief.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Work Place That Allows Growth
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), Northridge, CAMay 29, 2014
Learned how to grow the business within existing accounts through strategic selling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grainger
Area EHS Manager (Former Employee), Niles, ILMay 29, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: travel
Good company to work for. Spent 9 years with this company, management was good to work with, training was paid for.

About Grainger

Grainger is no stranger to those in need of a wide variety of industrial products. W.W. Grainger distributes more than one million – Read more