Grainger Employee Reviews

Found 1,050 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is decent
Sales and Customer Relations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIApril 12, 2017
The pay is decent, and that's what keeps people working there. It's a decent job for someone that doesn't have a college degree, or has just started working after school.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are only a number
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIApril 11, 2017
No job security. Your position can be eliminated at any time. They prefer to hire from outside rather than promote. No compassion for unusual circumstances. It's just a job with a paycheck.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything other than benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons like anywhere
Bulk Receiving Team (Former Employee) –  Minooka, ILApril 11, 2017
I liked working for Grainger the company is great to work for. The work itself sucks. Routinely lift 75lbs like the description says but you also will be moving 125lbs +. Motors, 55 gallon drums etc... Everyone is usually too busy to help out. It doesnt really pay to be the fastest or most productive, just means you get more work. Supposed to be scanning at 130 seconds per but people routinely scan at 190-230 and arent disciplined, which means they complete less trailers. So at the end of the day even if your team has completed twice as much as a team that stands around and talks you have to go help them before you can leave. Never really know when youre getting off, managers add trucks to pad the numbers.
Pros
Good benefits, catered food several times a year. Good managers
Cons
Very physical work, no real advancement, work/life balance, no sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for. I received better offer.
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 10, 2017
As the assistant branch manager, I typically ran the day to day operations of the branch. I opened the store in the morning and closed up at night. The vast product knowledge I acquired has helped me in my Industrial Distribution career. The managing of dozens of employees different personalities made me a better listener. The thousands of different customer requirements has taught me to be a problem solver.
Pros
Large company. They sell everything
Cons
Large Company, they lose the individual input.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Department
Associate (Current Employee) –  Independence, MOApril 8, 2017
Working in this environment is completely different depending on where you are assigned. Job seekers may need to ask specific questions on what they will be doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Dog in Distribution
Regional Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Forest, ILApril 6, 2017
Great company and well oiled sales machine. However, it's a bit of a churn mentality towards employees and has closed some of their core branches, so service has diminished. If they are not careful Fastenal and MSC will eat their lunch.
Pros
Great products and a lot of them
Cons
Churn mentality of sales team
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Packer (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 6, 2017
Great place with great benefits. Benefits start from day one with great insurance plans. Great profit sharing and 401k. Get little rewards here and there like free t shirts or a free lunch.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An old large company trying to keep up in an agile new world
Onsite Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 5, 2017
Grainger comes from years past and is loaded with bureaucracy. Decisions are slow and struggle to keep pace with today's industries. Managers have too many direct reports and get bogged down in compliance rather than coaching to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
change is inevitable wherever you are in the company
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 1, 2017
lots and lots of meetings, sometimes back to back all day long.
I learned that it matters who you make friends with and which leader you align yourself to.
Management is constantly changing, the turn over has been crazy high recently.
Workplace culture in Lakeforest is very different from the downtown Chicago office. Downtown is a lot more open, modern, and laid back. Lake forest is a typical stuffy environment with "casual friday."
People are generally nice.
Pros
Downtown office is really nice, great views, and location
Cons
Management turn over rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 1, 2017
Great training and work environment. Motivating leadership willing to develop team players. The company is very forward thinking from the top to the bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misrepresentation of position and poor management
Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 31, 2017
They are terrible at management, they have almost an entire management staff hand picked on the buddy system. They all came over from AllState insurance together and have no idea what they are doing. Coaching is comical and it is a telemarketing job(not Inside Sales). You will make no commission based on their business model and work for strictly your base most months. Don't make the same mistake I did, wait for something better.
Pros
On site cafeteria, some good people
Cons
poor coaching strategies, terrible business management, unrealistic sales goals, hard to hit commission target
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 29, 2017
The management has been inexperienced since I have been there and it seems there is a lot of ongoing changes at that position.

The culture there otherwise is very good. There are a lot of longtime employees there who are very willing to assist anyone new.

No dental is offered to part-time associates.
Pros
Pay, flexible hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSMarch 28, 2017
Terrible company to work with. There is waayyyyyyyyyy to much drama and wayyyyyyyyyyyy to much sneaking around and wayyyyyyyy to much dishonesty there. Would not recommend to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVMarch 28, 2017
Great place to work with great people. Interact with the public and provide solutions based on customer's needs. All around good job with decent pay.!
Pros
pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They coworker were the best worker i ever work with
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMarch 27, 2017
Since I was hired they team at the company is very professional alot of room to grow the managers are pretty awesome the doing a great job I learned alot from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to work
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 26, 2017
Very high paced, high pressure to deliver the products during the day. Little attention is paid to personal commitments, the company comes first. You will get paid very well and the benefits package are second to none. But you are sacrificing any semblance of a home life during the work week. You start at the same time every morning and stay until that day's orders are completed, which means anywhere as early as 5:45PM to 8PM. Just remember the company's business comes first, but you will be compensated very well. If you want to advance to anything other than local middle management, you'll have to go to Corporate in Illinois. The people are mixed, I've met some of my best friends working here, as well as some of the most loathsome folks I've met. You spend so much time together, conflicts are inevitable.
Pros
Good pay for the job
Cons
Hard work, "specifically" managed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Customer, Every Time.
Sales Associate/Inventory Management Rep (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 24, 2017
We take care of the customer, we go above and beyond to make sure the customer is taken care of in which" Every Customer, Every Time" is the motto we strive for every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best company
Major Account Manager (Former Employee) –  puerto ricoMarch 23, 2017
Grainger is and was the best company i have ever worked.. it was fun.. it was very professional .. lots of training... job security... management was the best..
Pros
the best company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Picker and Packer (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 21, 2017
Loved the people I worked with, management didn't always know the best way to get the job done but was efficient and would always take ideas in to consideration. Very easy to get a long with as long as the job always got done. Managers weren't afraid to step in and help if we ever got behind or needed the help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership and Company Sales Support
Manufacturing Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 21, 2017
Inexperienced sales management with heavy handed management styles. Poor sales support model - Zoro website (Grainger owns Zoro) directly competes with all Grainger sales representatives, while the sales reps get outrageous sales goals and no credit for Zoro sales.
Pros
Breadth of product
Cons
Poor Leadership and Sales Support
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grainger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,269 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7