Grand Valley State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 109 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Atmosphere = Great!
Director of Distance Education (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 17, 2017
Great environment to work within Higher Education. Pay is not the best but benefits and environment are excellent. Friendly staff to work with. I would gladly work there again.
Pros
Pay, atmosphere
Cons
Pay, opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Outside Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Allendale, MIAugust 15, 2017
I worked as an Outside Operations Manager at The Meadows Golf Course at GVSU. Great place to work. Started as a cart kid and within a year I was creating the schedule, doing minor cart maintenance and managing the other cart kids! Highly recommend applying!
Pros
Free golf, 50% off food, discounts on apparel
Cons
Not many hours, early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not strenuous and works with your schedule
Student Office Worker (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJuly 28, 2017
This job was very beneficial to me especially being a college student. The manager is very understanding and nice, she is helpful and resolves conflicts reasonably. I've never had a problems with any of the employees, it's a very positive environment.
Pros
Works with schedule, not strenuous
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gvsu
Disabilities Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJuly 6, 2017
Great University, quality education. With campus involvement personal growth will greatly improve. Needs to work on inclusive and diversity initiatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Manager
Student Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJuly 5, 2017
Flexible student scheduling. Allows for chances to get involved on campus through work environment. Gateway for managerial experience. Fun work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 27, 2017
Grand Valley is a great community where everyone feels welcomed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJune 27, 2017
Love the food and the atmosphere. I enjoy going to Pekadill's and telling people about the place. It's a great first job for those in high school and those who want to work weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Easy
Chemical/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJune 26, 2017
Had a blast working here. Management rocked and was more than willing to help you whenever needed. Pay sucked, but the awesome culture almost made up for it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Student Worker/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJune 19, 2017
Good working environment. Never found myself stressed out or needing any help but if I did need help there was always coworkers willing to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
GVSU Lakerstore Web Order/ Warehouse employee (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIJune 6, 2017
Great school to attend
Fun learning environment
Great professors
Intensive classes
Overall, I enjoyed my time at Grand Valley State University on both campuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Student Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 28, 2017
Great college experience along with a wonderful job while attending there. My boss was amazing and I learned a lot while I was there. Valuable skills and a very high stature of education was achieved while being there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
BUILDING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 21, 2017
This place has such a loving environment. I always enjoyed going to work where I had the opportunity to meet different people, exposed to many different experiences, and have a lot of fun.
Pros
Flexibile
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Student Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 15, 2017
This is the perfect place for student employment. Management is considerate of student's schedules and other responsibilities. They work with class schedules hour preferences. There is plenty of downtime to work on homework and catch up on reading.
Pros
Great bosses, studytime, great pay
Cons
Office attire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Student Researcher (Current Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 9, 2017
As a student I don't receive benefits or anything, but I enjoy getting experience in my field that will help me in the future. I would recommend this institution for future employment because they work around your student schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with, friendly atmosphere
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 4, 2017
A typical day includes meeting with the team and getting to work on that days agenda. The agenda is based on what needs to get done so the workplace was not repetitive or dull. Co workers were friendly and made the research lab an enjoyable place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Boss Ever (Pew Campus Security)
Booth Attendant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 2, 2017
I worked for Pew Campus Security for 2 semesters as a Booth Attendant / Ticket writer.. The people there were fantastic. The flexibility was unmatched, and the job is fairly laid-back. I transferred to another university, but if I were to stay at GVSU, I would certainly stay as an employee there. The supervisor genuinely cares about student employees, and is the most accomodating boss that I have ever had the pleasure of working with.
Pros
The longer you stay, the more you earn. It's a laid-back environment. The people are fantastic. Flexible hours.
Cons
Sometimes have to work in bad weather. Getting up early.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lively campus with possibilities for networking
Student (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 2, 2017
There was always some sort of event on campus and people that you could meet to endorse yourself and your skill set. A lot of the faculty and staff on campus were involved in multiple aspects of the campus relations as well as other organizations that they would be willing to promote.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIApril 24, 2017
Great place to work while in school. The Staff is wonderful and very helpful when it comes to a lot of things. The schedules are very flexible and set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Student (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIApril 17, 2017
I attended GVSU for my last 2 years of college.

I learned about Criminal Justice.

Hardest part was trying to get good grades.

Most enjoyable was getting my Bachelors Degree in the mail.
Pros
Degree
Cons
Debt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to teach Junior level students the ins and outs of Catering Events Management from Sales to Event Execution
Adjunct Professor - Banquets Mgmt (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 10, 2017
I worked as an adjunct professor at Grand Valley State University. They reached out to me based on my reputation in the events community in Grand Rapids. It was a great experience in helping students realize their best in become event professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grand Valley State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Grand Valley State University Reviews by Location