Find companies:
Grant Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Grant Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn about the medical field.
Environmental Services Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: was still able to work as a volunteer
Cons: rotated weekends
Started out as a hospital volunteer and gained valuable experience. Obtained employment as a housekeeper. Observed doctors and nurses in patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Staff Echocardiographer and Vascular Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches on occasion
Great place to work. Very supportive staff and management. Great place to learn and to teach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was actually fun!!
Barista (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 26, 2013
I loved working at grant. I miss it there the people there made it seem like juss a nother day. And i enjoyed either adding to someone great news or brighting some elses... u can forget you are in a hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and full of energy!
Registered Nurse - ED (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioNovember 9, 2013
I learn something new everyday. The most important value I have learned in working in a Level One Trauma Center ER is how important teamwork is. Great team work means great patient care! Working in the ER shows and challenges to be on your A game; peoples lives are in your hand. You must be a 'jack of all trades'.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work place, working with good people, and focusing on patient care.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 11, 2013
A typical day at work would include, using aseptic technique in the IV room, compounding IV drips for patients, filling crash carts, delivering meds all over the hospital (including narcotics), responding to codes and level one traumas. I learned more about the pharmacy lifestyle outside of retail pharmacy. My coworkers were awesome, management was – more... good most of the time. Working in a level one trauma center can be a stressful job at times but still enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grant Medical Center provided a multitude of areas to work in, as well as a diverse group of healthcare professionals and patients.
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 25, 2013
Pros: health insurance, 3 twelve hour shifts, and trauma team.
Cons: short staff during busy seasons, on occasion a negative environment, and at times no breaks during shift.
The first day I walked into Grant Medical Center for a clinical rotation I knew I wanted to work there and I was hired as a student and continued to work there for several more years until my relocation to Tennessee. I learned and grew so much while working at Grant. I worked with a versatile group of healthcare professionals and patients. I loved working – more... there, especially when everyone was getting along together. The one thing I noticed that really bothered me was individuals causing damage to their coworkers to either cover themselves or advance. My favorite part of my job was working on the trauma team and in the emergency room. Since Grant is a large, teaching hospital I was given the opportunity to participate in areas I would not in other places. The hardest part of my job was working in the NICU. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational and fun place to work
sterile processing tech (Current Employee), columbus ohioJuly 10, 2013
Assemblying and decontamination of surgical instruments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORKPLACE, ALWAYS SOMETHING NEW
PCT UNIT COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 14, 2013
Pros: internet access anytime.
Cons: when the elevator is out of order and you have to take the stairs to the 9th floor..
I WORKED ON THE RESPONSE TEAM AT GRANT AND NO DAY WAS EVER TYPICAL.... EACH DAY WAS EXCITING AND DIFFERENT. WHICH I LOVED. I LEARNED A LOT FROM BEING WITH GRANT, LIKE MY FIRST CODE BLUE EXPERIENCE, I WAS TERRIFIED BUT HAD THE ADRENALINE RUSH AT THE SAME TIME. MY CO-WORKERS WERE SIMPLY AMAZING, THERE WAS NEVER A QUESTION THAT THEY COULDNT ANWSER FOR – more... ME. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THIS JOB, WAS JUST HAVING GREAT TEAM WORK ... THEY KIND OF BECAME FAMILY.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed every department I worked in at Grant!
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 14, 2013
I had the pleasure of working in the Trauma Unit, the ICU and the ER Observation Unit during my employment at Grant Medical Center. They really made an investment in me with with additional work place training and college tuition reimbursement. The skills and education I received during my employment at Grant has served me well for many years. Great – more... experience! I relocated and came back for a second time! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had so much fun working at Grant Medical Center both with the staff and the patiance.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 6, 2013
Pros: interacting with both the staff and the patiance
Cons: something was always breaking down, a computer or the dish machine.
I really enjoyed my co-workers and my managers, they made the day go fast with their wild sense of humor. And serving the patiance was very rewarding because most of them were so apprecative when you came with there food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working and learning with a professional staff.
Service Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 21, 2013
Working everyday was different and new challenges but the overall atmosphere getting the task done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people trying their best
Staff RN (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioFebruary 18, 2013
Healthcare is HARD, especially when your customers aren't the nicest of people. The staff here are amazing, and the management tries to help, even though they're often drowning in administrative tasks.

Pay is average, as are benefits. Major advantage is not having to rotate shifts! Don't plan on too much movement once you're in - HR ignores everyone – more... equally whether internal or external candidate.

Overall, the culture is hopeful. I think there are good people trying as best they can with what they have. Proud to be struggling along side these guys and gals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it there!
Surgical Technologist Externship (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 18, 2013
The people I worked with was great, they are a wonderful group of people. I learned so much while I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoy the experience i recieved working there
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 16, 2012
Pros: a lot inservice classes
Cons: not enough staff
i got alot of experience seeing alot of different health issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fortune 500 company to work for.
Patient Logistics Response Center (Current Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 9, 2012
I have worked for Grant Medical Center in several departments of the hospital over the past 10 years. I started in Patient Registration then continues on to Patient Logistics and Patient Companion. I have enjoyed all aspects of my work and look forward to many more years there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Manager for Obstetric/gynecological patients. Review submission of hospital stays to various private insurers, discharge planning
Coordinator and Utilization Resource Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 3, 2012
Pros: ability to seek opportunities "outside the box" while making a difference in patients outcomes
Cons: little room for error
Daily: review current inpatients and their insurers. Review charts for possible neededs upon discharge based on current inpatient notes. Set up discharge needs with Social Worker, submit hospital review to appropriate insurer, notify appropriate community services as needed based on clients needs (WIC, Home health, Health Dept, Clinic, adoption agency, – more... etc). Reorganized OB/GYN clinic completely based on current medical standards of care and services. Reorganized care maps, MD orders, clinic forms, set up WIC and SW visits to all OB clients. Monitor changes and statistics for ongoing readmits, length of stay, high risk deliveries, etc. Process Improvement program involvement and regulation. Cross coverage to other departments based on needs (cardiac, general medicine, general surgery, orthopedics, oncology, endocrinology, etc) of team. Involvement of "Mobile" unit (outcome of clinic reorganization) that visits area High Schools to provide Obstetric care at school so clients don't miss school to visit hospital clinic and to insure care for each stage of pregnancy and set up services as needed. Greatly enhanced/improved outcomes for this age group.

Management: continually changed and often lead by ego. Little support and often demeaning at time when the original manager who hired me (who was excellent and great mentor) was let go.

Co-workers: varied but able to communicate and form great relationship with several. Fairly good teamwork but mostly among a few of many co-workers.

Hardest part of job: Reorganizing the Clinic. Took much time and coordination but when completed, great accomplishment.

Most enjoyable: clinic reorganization when completed and to see the improved quality stats, variety of opportunities, ability to work with various organizations in community to help service needed clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with my co-workers
Housekeeper (Current Employee), columbus, ohioMarch 19, 2012
Grant Medical Center is a good hospital. I enjoy working on my floor. The people are friendly.