Graphic Packaging Employee Reviews

Found 365 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean Company
Senior Reporting and Metrics Analyst, HRIS (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 17, 2017
Lean company whose main customers have been decreasing revenue for a few years and causing GPI to have layoffs. A typical day was fast-pace and fun. If you like proving results then GPI is a good place to work. Just watch to see if GPI moves into other revenue streams because packaging middle aisles grocery story products are decreasing in sales due to customer demand of healthy food options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Gordonsville, TNJune 15, 2017
Typically would perform ones daily duties and be expected to go above and beyond. The job was just challenging enough to require the best of the employee without pushing too hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for advancement
Lean Process Engineer/Lean Black Belt (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJune 14, 2017
Good company. Fast environment. Company refuses to invest in machines. Leadership is at odds many times.

Company tends to retain hourly workers on a long term basis.
Pros
Opportunity for advancement
Cons
Manager turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Plants are Great!
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pacific, MOJune 14, 2017
The individual locations are good to work for; people are nice, supportive, and in most cases work well as a team. However, the more and more corporate driven processes that are directed to the plants have been having the tendency to bog down local process, create frustration for work/life balance, and in some cases create an overall sense of under appreciation for the amount of hard/good work the local team does. They have really good benefits for their employees.
Pros
Benefits, Pay
Cons
Work/Life Balance, Corporate Process, Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too strenuous
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHJune 7, 2017
If you like to work and have no life outside of GPI, this is the place for you! Prepare to work 12 hour days for 6-7 days in a row and for the company to show little to no appreciation for the work their employees do. No wonder the turnover rate is so high there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look for a productive job
Production shift laborer (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAJune 5, 2017
This is my first opportunity to begin working in the work force. I look forward to an exciting and rewarding future with this company. I am excited to work not just for this company but for any company if offered the opportunity to work. I will work hard to meet my goals and commit to my duties as they change
Pros
income
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly work environment
Assistant operator (Current Employee) –  West Monroe, LAJune 3, 2017
Nice place to work that pays well .. you get plenty overtime which is nice . Good benefits the staff is very nice.. you can bid on what department that you would like to work in.. each department pays different..Its a good homey friendly family atmosphere.
Pros
Meals for good safety
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved this place
Feeder Operator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 1, 2017
if i didn't move, i believe i would still have this job,. it allowed me to to see what i was actually capable of doing.i even transfered to a sister company, took my skills that i learned there with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, but...
Mill utility (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMay 26, 2017
Southern swing shift and management is always looking to fire people. The management here blame everything on the employees. This company is a place that makes it a challenge to keep your job. The only good thing about this job is the pay and the coworkers.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Dishonest management, swing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Packer/ Feeder/case sealer (Former Employee) –  Staunton, VAMay 16, 2017
the only thing that was good is the pay only if you work second or third shift. they worked me 5 days a week monday - Friday 12hr shifts which equals 60 a week. It's good if you are single and have no family.
Pros
pay
Cons
too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report

Want to know more about Graphic Packaging?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive
Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cantonment, FLMay 16, 2017
Multi-wall bag plant. was a great place to work until they decided to close up shop in 2009. High employee turn around made for a lot of training and cross training as well as overtime.
Pros
All the OT you could want.
Cons
Extreme weather conditions, heat, cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced place
Production associate (Current Employee) –  Perry, GAMay 16, 2017
It was fun and fast paced.Management is out of touch with employees.Great benifits,people and equipment.I will miss the people but not the 110 degree days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace. High volume. Busy.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAMay 11, 2017
If you want a work/life balance, stay away. The management is cut-throat and judge you based on petty observations. If you're not part of the good old boys club, you'll never make it. The ones who are in never face issues internally. If I had known before I took the job, I wouldn't have said no, but NO!. Don't work here!
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management, compensation, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay, but poor management practices
Machine Operator, Finishing Dept (Current Employee) –  Phoenixville, PAMay 9, 2017
While you are listed as an 8 hour employee 90% of the time you work 12hr days 5-6 days a week. Management rarely compliments or congratulates employees on work performed. Almost constantly behind schedule due to management's inability to schedule production to match labor force and equipment availability.
Cons
Long hours no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
core values not practiced by all directors
Business Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 9, 2017
They have a policy that employees must gain supervisor approval to apply for another role in the company...good luck with that. If you are good at what you do, your supervisor wants to keep you.
Pros
People you work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job if you don't mind a swing shift operation.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILMay 6, 2017
I worked there for 2 years and this job sucked the life out of me. The changing of shifts every other week can get to you. This job is meant for a younger single person.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
Swing shift structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to volunteer
assistant machine tender (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMay 4, 2017
job not a career, poor pay for skilled trades, great hours monday through friday 7-4 no weekends at all. good guys to work with. no one looking over your shoulder.
Pros
hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Job Security
Finishing Department (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMay 2, 2017
This is a place to work if you are willing to put in 12 long hours a day and weekends are part of your normal shift. Working weekends will not result in OT pay but regular 40 hour pay.
Pros
Lots of OT
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay for reliable workers
Associate (Current Employee) –  Pacific, MOMay 2, 2017
Overall its factory labor and can be challenging for those unfamiliar with this work. This job benefits self starters and those with mechanical intellect. Experience is a must have at GPI. In most cases you are working alone or with small team to complete tasks with minimal supervision. Great place to work for an Adult minded person.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Gordonsville, TNApril 26, 2017
Great environment and awesome people. Wish my assignment had not ended. Budget cuts and contracts being pulled had many of us temporary workers unable to get hired on full time. This is a great company with excellent benefits!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Graphic Packaging. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 419 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1