Find companies:
Graybar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Graybar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the pay could have been better
Material Handler (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 10, 2014
Pros: provided communities with security
Cons: working locations without being armed
worked in areas where an armed guard should have worked, it put my safety on the line. work schedual was not set , sometimes i wouls work at night then the next day i was working during the day, and the hours werent always the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gray Bar - Daily Work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Glen Ellyn, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: good benifets
Every day we unload and load trucks and vans!
When we receive a load, we sign documents and log them into the computer.
When we are done putting our items in the computer, we then can put them on the shelves, in the Warehouse.
That's what we do everyday in a short version!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a warehouse full beyond capacity
Dedicated Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 25, 2014
That warehouse was a local warehouse that operated as a regional hub for over a year. It was stocked to about 150% of the expected capacity. Everyone worked hard, and made sure that the customers were always taken care of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee compatibility
Inventory Planner (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 23, 2014
Pros: education and work advancement from within were supported
Cons: economy dictated job changes and decreasing departments
Employees were encouraged to interact both within the job and outside, and helped each other succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a workplace with lots of changes
truck driver / warehouse (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 11, 2014
As a truck driver I would go and Perform my duties to the best of my ability.learn to appreciate customers and their business.doing the right job and stand by it was wend of day joy.poor performance and not taking charge and be a leader example was hard through the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Accounting Services Representative I (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 15, 2014
Busy, focused
core competence
professional
friendly
repetitive duties
posting checks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From only working 2weeks with them because i was a temp they show me alot and said i learn much faster then any they've trained
TEMP (Former Employee), fort worth , txFebruary 4, 2014
i thank god for graybar in fort worth on cambridge.From only working 2weeks with them because i was a temp they show me alot and said i learn much faster then any they've trained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast past work enviroment, Corporate setting
Project Specialist (Current Employee), Dublin,CaDecember 10, 2013
Pros: great company
Cons: support from supervisors and managment
Daily Routine:
*maintain and update status logs
*review and answer 50 emails plus a day
*data entry
*process invoices
*communicate with customers via telephone and email
*manage accounts
*meet deadlines for customers daily

*developed great customer service skills
*trained on SAP data entry system
*manage customer accounts
*guidelines and procedures

Co-workers:
*Team – more... players and great support system

Hardest part of job:
*completing all task on a high work volume day

Most enjoyable part of job:
satisfaction of completing all task and working with customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Riverview FlOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great pay, great people
Cons: schedule
A typical day at work was very busy. Never a dull moment. I learned every electric part there is. how to work well with others. How to work independently. Management was very awesome. they were always there to help acomedate your needs. Co-workers were very helpful. The hardest part of my job was my schedule. The best part was the people I got to work – more... with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job until you can find a better one
material handler (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 20, 2013
Graybar is not a bad place to work, however the management makes it hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great high energy environment and an overall fun place to work.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 7, 2013
Great job in a fun environment. Very fast paced fitness club in a corporate location. Very much enjoyed the flexibility of being in charge of scheduling clients. The more challenging part of the job is the mandatory floor shifts. Generally, the hardest part is being at the mercy of a clients schedule. Some days your first seesion could be at 5:30AM – more... and the last one could be at 9:00PM. Client cancellations are frequent and a nature of the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Owned/Top Management team in the business
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee), Hayward, CAFebruary 28, 2013
Rock solid company with deep core values and unmatched loyalty to their employees. Management team is very well educated, qualified, and a step ahead of the rest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
occasional a lunch
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 10, 2012
Pros: suppliers took us out for driks and dinner
Cons: my manager couldbe very difficult at time
I worked with a great sales man, and helped him grow his client bases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management could make a difference...
Custer Service (Current Employee), St LouisSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: good benefits, management is not usually around to watch over you.
Cons: employees pretty much hate their job
Management lets you work at your own pace, doesn't hold most accountable. There are alot of talented employees that work for the company, but the management doesn't care, so in turn the employees doesn't care.

There is no structure, very disorganized and needs better upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Material Handler (Former Employee), Hayward, CASeptember 19, 2012
great company and great co-workers and great location. good location
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Warehouse Material Handler (Former Employee), Taunton, MAJuly 22, 2012
Pros: stocks, shares, benefits
Cons: management unhelpful
Pick orders,safety,cut wire, inventory control,customer pick up,machine maintenance. I learned electrical stock, management could have been better. Co-workers not bad, the hardest part about the job getting a leader who would help with any problems. The most enjoyable part operating the machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company, but very old fashioned and conservative
Cost Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 5, 2012
Worked in purchasing, rules are extremely strict and the atmosphere is uncomfortably open. Micromanagement is the most prevalent trait, but management is extremely competent. If you can get past that, the company offers a decent benefits package. The pay is low for this type of work, but profit sharing helps. Most everyone says that the grass is greener – more... outside the department, so I would keep an open mind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electical equipment
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Glendale Hieghts, ILJuly 3, 2012
Pros: hours were great 3am-12 noon
Cons: temp to hire position, overall company not very organized
recievie all inbound material via rf unit

load local trucks for delivery

put away recieved product accurately

perform cycle counts, clear any discrepencies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employee owned company to work for!!!
Financial Assistant (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 29, 2012
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: not be able to wear jeans on friday!!
A company that allows you to be you and have fun doing it!!! It's not a long 8 hour day. We have fun while we work, so make for a short 8 hour day!!!!

About Graybar

Graybar, a Fortune 500 corporation and one of the largest employee-owned companies in North America, is a leader in the distribution – Read more