Great American Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Overall, Divisional Management somewhat lacking
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 10, 2017
Great American is a good company. Great benefits and work/life balance. Pay is as expected for an insurance company. Not great but not terrible. I would work there again. The individual division management ranges from good to not good. Totally depends on what division you work for.
Pros
Benefits, work/life balance, solid company
Cons
Divisional management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourced
Tester (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 8, 2017
I worked for GAI for 14 years when the personal lines division was outsourced to two different companies. While I worked at GAI it was a good company. Never wanted to have to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 24, 2017
Really enjoyed my time with Great American Insurance. Really smart people and great focused management. Fantastic resources and training and a really nice culture with a commitment to people. I highly recommend work here.
Pros
Great support
Cons
average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, you can learn so much their.
LEAD SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJAugust 12, 2017
Small office setting, work with very intelligent and fun people. I've learned and continue learning so much working with the team that I am so blessed to be around 5 days a week.
Pros
Small setting
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall best in class insurance company who treats their employees very well.
Associate Business Developer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 6, 2017
Great place to work with excellent managers and colleagues. Work is challenging and your limits will be pushed. Work life balance is a very high priority throughout the company but they expect hard work when at the office. Given a lot of autonomy but there are also ample resources if assistance is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Territory Manager - Senior Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CAJuly 3, 2017
At the time there was a very strong family sense throughout the Company. Home office was warm and engaging and management was very interested in the development and growth of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Claim Processing Technician II (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 14, 2017
The expectations are unrealistic. Management don't seem to care. You couldn't leave on time even if your scheduled to leave. The compensation does not go with the job duties for all the things they expect from you its a joke.
Pros
leave early for the holidays on a Friday
Cons
health care is too expensive, parking is expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard insurance company
Actuary (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 1, 2017
Standard insurance company with normal workload and benefits. Some great coworkers. Turnover was not bad but after five years everyone else is more recently hired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Project Manager Intern (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 26, 2017
I interned here for 2 years and was brought on as a temporary employee. My team and I formed a great bond of friendship. We were very successfully and the organization recognized us for our successes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Annuities Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 21, 2017
I only spent a summer here but I feel like I learned a lot. If I ever had a question someone was there to help out. The food that is located in the building is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Premium Auditor (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 15, 2017
Working in the department I was in gave me the experience to learn about something else other than handling claims. My manager was very nice and I could always go and talk to him when I needed help and he would always take the time.
Pros
Pay/Vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMay 2, 2017
Sr. Management has lost the ability recognize staff. Staff are the workforce of the company and when Sr. Management thinks they have so much power to make inappropriate decisions that impact the employees what type of performance do you think you will get. They need management classes to coach and develop. Lot's of listening skills would improve the ratings.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not Satisfied
Client Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 1, 2017
The management made me very uncomfortable. It was not family friendly. The location was also very hard to park in the onsite parking lot with the competition of the Reds games. It was not a place where I felt wanted or needed.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great intern experience
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 30, 2017
Great American treats their interns with the same respect as full time employees. I got to see first hand how the day to day business occurs in insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry Level Position
IT Desktop Support Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 4, 2017
Great entry level position. Only negative is that you are required to stay 8-5 and cannot work from home ( even on days when nobody is in the office).
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Service Rep III (Former Employee) –  CincinnatiMarch 9, 2017
relaxed atmosphere
preventive health care
casual dress
hardest part of job monthly reports and closing dates
learned excel, word and how to process reports
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sr. Office Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 10, 2017
Great American was a good company to work for. The staff was hard working and nice. I moved up the chain by working hard and learning everything I needed to know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture
Finance Intern, Treasury Department (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 28, 2016
It was a great experience and I enjoy the job culture. They appreciate their employees. They encourage having healthy life style and co-workers was friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Envrionment
Business Process Engineer (Intern) (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 5, 2015
Great place to work. The people are nice and easy to talk to. There is a lot to learn from others more experienced and they are always willing to share their knowledge.
Pros
Lots of office parties, incentives, activities
Cons
work can get dull (not too innovative)
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work from home
Surplus Lines Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 13, 2015
I was given the opportunity to work in Surplus Lines and to work from home once I retired from my position as a Commercial Lines Underwriter on the admitted side. Management was very supportive and a position that was to last three months turned into 4.5 years.
Pros
working from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Great American Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Great American Insurance Group Reviews by Location