Find companies:
Great Clips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
422 reviews

Great Clips Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for beginners but dont stay too long
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 6, 2014
Pros: getting haircut exp if right out of school
Cons: poor management and little raise
This job was good in the beginning to get your experience, but after time there is little growth. You are stuck in hair cutting only. The owner of salon in Omaha NE does a poor job of keeping his employees. Raises are non existant unless you are management. They focus on retail sales instead of quality cuts and base your raise on how much retail you – more... sale..Not haircut time or quality as stated in description. They withhold your paycheck if you do not meet your retail goal for biweekly payday. They reward you by giving your paycheck on a saturday instead of monday if you were a "good retail employee"...VERY SAD!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Canton, MIMarch 6, 2014
Pros: close by
Cons: low wages
The best part is that it was a busy location. The employees aren't given the compensation or benefits they deserve from the employer or the clients. Its a good place for someone learning the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love what i do love making people look and feel beautiful
Stylist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 5, 2014
Not the best place to work but i Love what i do..so i Did it anyway until i could find something better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Education and training
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Pflugerville, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Great place to work if to need to learn more cutting skill. Fast paced environment was a plus. Never a dull moment is what I love.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always meeting new people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Colleyville, TXMarch 4, 2014
Pros: free haircuts
Cons: family and friends wanted free haircuts
I enjoyed every aspect of my job. I believe I have grown into a very responsible person, one who can be counted on getting the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good boss
Stylist (Current Employee), Kettering, OhMarch 4, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: no health care
I have been a stylist for 4 years and enjoy meeting new people. My work place is an hour away from my home and my desire is to find work closer to home. Any position I take, I will give 100%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers and manager
Stylist (Current Employee), TNFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: management was great
Really great place to start working right off of cosmetology school. Everyone I worked with was super nice and helpful, patient with me provided additional training which was just what I needed and the Manager was also great have nothing but good things to say about this company would recommend it to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun while intermingling with clients and fellow co-workers.
Hairstylist (Current Employee), Buda, TXFebruary 25, 2014
The environment gives you a warm welcoming invite from all stylists, including myself. The most enjoyable part of the day is when I see a satisfied customer leaving the shop. Learned how to be professional and attentive to my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quantity reigns over quality. Stylists do not embrace others as a team.
Stylist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: requests off almost always approved, franchise owner active in community
Cons: lack of professionalism, not enough time between clients, no floor mats, low employee retention rate, senior stylist has free range with no consequences being the proverbially cash cow
Long hours with few breaks. Stylists are expected to create a flawless haircut within 13- 15 minutes and then begin another, after another and penalized if production goals are not met. Ideally within a 10 hour shift, you should have about 30 clients under your belt. I learned that this is an easy way to over-exert yourself and develop repetitive motion – more... injuries. There are also no floor mats for leg and back support. Management is petty and immature and give way to gossip about employees. Communication is blurred by passive aggressive comments. Co-workers are a mixture of people from all walks of life, some more personable than others. Management does not emphasize professional conversation. Certain topics are out of place in a work environment, cause conflict, make clients feel uncomfortable, and create a rift in what should be a solid team. The most enjoyable part of the job was the clientele. I had great conversations with many of them and learned something new about life each day through the eyes of someone who experiences things differently than my own firsthand perception. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Stylist (Former Employee), Hendersonville, TNFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: poor health benifits
I worked really hard but enjoyed the work environment I had. I enjoyed the interaction with my clients and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE OWNER
Hair stylist (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, SCFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: nice places to eat
Cons: owner is horrible
very busy place to work, hate that you have to learn how to cut hair AGAIN(even though im licensed to cut hair) Management sucks, the owners know NOTHING ABOUT HAIR!!!! Not to mention they put their hands on employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Manager (Former Employee), North CantonFebruary 12, 2014
Cons: everything
Don't waste your time on this particular Great Clips. The general manager is only out for herself. You will never get anywhere with this particular Great Clips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my manager and the stylists that I worked with.
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: manager and coworkers
Cons: no breaks, overworked, under paid, requires flexible scheduling
Great Clips is a good company for beginner hair stylists. They offer only haircuts, some salons offer perms and hair conditioning treatments, For me it was a good job to work during going to college and the tips were good and job was really easy. The part that really frustrated me was the scheduling had to be really flexible and it was hard to plan – more... personal things. I felt over worked and stressed because I worked at a busy location and it was almost impossible to get a break. The salon closes late at 9pm and its frustrating to close the salon 9pm and then have to go back and do an opening shift the next morning. I feel like the company is good for someone who is just out of beauty stepping into the beauty industry but they dont offer color services and so its very limited to a stylist who wants to grow in the industry. My manager and the stylists I worked with made it worth while, however I don't think I would want to work for Great Clips again since I am a stylist whose had exposure and experience in the industry for 5 years, Im trying to make this Cosmetology field my career and not just a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Managing Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Parma Heights, OHFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: tip money every day.
Cons: short breaks. no healthcare.
The job was good. I just needed a chance to advance my skills in other areas. It wasn't consistent as far as customers were concerned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you can handle the pace
Stylist (Former Employee), Northfield, MNFebruary 6, 2014
I enjoyed working at Great Clips. My coworkers made it a fun job. I liked the fast pace and challenges
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Ever
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 4, 2014
The customers were great it was the job itself. Was having a hard time with co-workers thought I could trust my manager and talk about issues and it came back to bite me. Co-workers always complained about not being treated right and never being able to advance within the company, plus the pay was a joke. I felt like a slave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clips
Senior Stylist (Current Employee), Pinole, CAFebruary 3, 2014
I usually start my day counting the drawer, making sure the shop is clean and preparing for the customers. I have learned to deal with all types of personalities and multitask and still be able to keep the customers satisfied. The management could be a lot better no ever takes charge so its hard. The coworkers just go with the flow because everyone – more... needs a job although things are not ran in a business matter. The hardest part of the job is not having a set schedule. I really love dealing with customers because I can always make them leave with a nice haircut and a smile. I can also listen to them and be like a therapist by helping them solve their problems or be a listening ear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like any Salon
Stylist (Former Employee), Huntersville, NCFebruary 1, 2014
Just like any salon, lots of drama and confrontation. But over all love my fellow coworkers and enjoy the people that I got to meet on the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive salon
Senior Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fort Gratiot, MIFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: advancement possibilities are endless
Very fast paced salon offering an array of benefits. Rewards hard working stylists with advancements in the company as well as bonus'.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), foster city caJanuary 28, 2014
it was a great first job heplped me get my first car. very fast pase, the co workers are great, the tips are awsome. the owners are not all that great