Find companies:
Great Dane Trailers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Great Dane Trailers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My customers while working at Great Dane were great.
Outside Sales/Assistant Parts Management (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 26, 2014
Pros: empowered to use multi-tasking skills with office/part order management.
Cons: when working in outside sales-long driving hours.
A typical work day included working one on one with my direct customers via phone, text, emails and daily stops at customers place of business to build relations, check status of parts needed, and also determine other customer needs. This was a very high pace job which required constant contact with the main office (parts team) and the customer and – more... excellent communication and customer relation skills. Often worked at local branch for inside sales, order pulling and distribution. This job required the ability to do whatever was needed to get the job done. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know customers and vendors. I also enjoyed the ordering and receiving aspects of working inside the local office to assist the manager on a weekly basis with part ordering and inventory control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funeral home
mortician (Former Employee), Statesboro ,GaMarch 7, 2014
This was an excellent experience in my life. I just had a change of heart of my college major.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place.
Painter/laborer (Current Employee), Danville, PAFebruary 10, 2014
very productive and well managed. work a 40hr week minimal overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
built big rig trailers (Former Employee), Huntsville Hollow, TNDecember 22, 2013
Pros: hour for lunch
Cons: non trusting checked everything u bring in and take out sloe to ome in and out
showed up hooked the lifts to the bords brought them to the fram cut hammed them in then line move up for other work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Welder (Former Employee), Terre Haute, IndianaNovember 7, 2013
Loved to work there. Great people to be around and work with. Great benefits. Had a 401K. Management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Trailer Builder (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 29, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: closed
moved out of town but was a great education of building and use of many equipments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Assembly (Former Employee), Kewanee, ILOctober 28, 2013
everyone is respectful and always in a good mood. the supervisers are always jumping in beside you and walking through everything with you. if you need help ask everyone is willing to pitch in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced evironment that worked you hard
Maintenance Technician/Maintenance Lead Man (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: worked 4 ten hour days and had a 3 day weekend every week
Cons: breaks were short, when something was down, supervisor constantly asking when you were going to get it fixed, and they didn't pay nearly enough
Great Dane Trailers was a fast paced environment, with lots of fast paced walking, supervisors breathing down you neck to get to job done. It had great co-workers to work with, management wasn't that great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Parts Department (Current Employee), Kewanee, ILSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: great atsmophere
Cons: far drive for rate of pay
I started out as a line worker and within a few months I was moved up to Parts Department. Fellow Employees are fun to be around. Everyone is Very Helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with good production standards
Assembler A/Crane Operator (Former Employee), Brazil, INAugust 29, 2013
Pros: hot lunches and regular smoke breaks
Cons: extremely hot in the summer but what factory isn't
Great Dane provided a break from the mundane working environment of press operating I was used to previously (of course this depended on where you were stationed). Unfortunatly circumstances arose were I needed a job that was closer to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if your a Labor
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Kewanee, ILJuly 25, 2013
Pros: playing with air tools.
Cons: uncessful probation
Came in went to work.
Learned how to Build axles and set them on a trailer.
Management was friendly and yet firm.
Co-workers where fun and joyful at times.
bouncing around was the hardest.
Playing with tools was the most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy job
Line Assembler (Former Employee), Washingtonville, PAJuly 24, 2013
repeative work but easy not very good pay assembly line four tens only two shifts day and night
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
sidewall assembly (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 18, 2013
Pros: good pay, good benefits, steady work
Cons: lack of appreciation for work that was being preformed
would build and repair sidewalls for dry trailers. it would be steady work and i enjoyed working around the people i worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work good atmosphere
material handler A (Former Employee), Brazil, INJuly 15, 2013
Pros: decent pay, close to home
Cons: dangerous work under constant pressure
began at 0600 inspected crane, checked planning for the day and usually had a truck to unload 1st thing,then began builing floor kits for production(we had to keep ahead of production by at least 1 week)
i learned how to operate a forklift and asked for ojt on overhead crane and worked like that untill i passed
Most managers there came from the bottom – more... up and knew your job as well as theirs
it was dangerous work, my area was un heated and uncooled
co workers were usually freindly
I enjoyed working alone most of the time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Assembler (Former Employee), Brazil, INJune 28, 2013
The work was usually hard but it paid the bills. I did like the experience to learn different jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Experience will never forget
Office (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 11, 2013
Pros: close to train.
Cons: if you make a mistake it will live with you for the rest of your work life there.
Your days were busy and went by fast which is about the only good thing. The Manager for that specific department AWFUL person...rude, mean and terrible supervisor. The co-workers were extremely nice, hard-working and understanding. The hardest part of job was waking up every morning coming to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Assembler (Former Employee), Washingtonville, PAJune 4, 2013
Cons: short breaks and not good managment
If you can deal with a lot of drama and rud people this is the place for you. and the manager do choose favorites. so if your not one of them then you are the one gettting blammed on for everything and pushed aside. some of the people there are really nice. and i have to say the best part of the job was going home just because how you get treated there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low moral nobody likes their job..
Trailer builder (Former Employee), Wayne, NEMay 23, 2013
Pros: fridays off
Great dane has a revolving door for employees, even when some employees get caught doing drugs in the back and get rehired the next month. the hours and pay just don't equate. the only good thing is that you get fridays off unless you get overtime which they won't tell you about you till the last minute. My team leader did nothing but hold up a podium. – more... I would not recommend this job to anyone – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working job
Line assembler (Former Employee), Brazil, INMay 16, 2013
Pros: hard work
Cons: heavylifting
made trailers for semi trucks, hard working job but loved it, it kept me busy all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenge
Industrial Mechanic (Former Employee), Kewanee, ILMay 5, 2013
Pros: being home everyday
Cons: maintence had no say over safety when we tell the workers to clear they refused and kept working
Tore machinery down diagnosed problems repaired and put back together

Watching out for my coworkers safety

About Great Dane Trailers

Celebrating over 100 years in business, Great Dane has built an enviable reputation as an industry leader in technology, innovation – Read more