Great Lakes Cheese Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp service work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHJuly 15, 2017
The job wasnt bad but they worked you threw a temp service for three years with no benefits. I worked in shipping and receiving running forklift and picking orders.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Temp service work. No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful no communication
Operator (Current Employee) –  Adams, NYJune 13, 2017
The Job has great benefits with decent paid time off. However if you do not put your job above your family or yourself you will not like it. There is no communication between laborers and management.
Pros
benefits
Cons
horrible atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
QA Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manchester, TNMay 31, 2017
Good benefits the ESOP plan is a great, the employees own 20% of the company, good place to work, family atmosphere, people really care about what they are doing here to make a quality product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad work place overall
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Seymour, WIMay 12, 2017
Overall a nice place to work good people to work with on the floor. Managers are not bad don't see much of them anyway. A high turn over rate of employees due to the manual labor and the pay in return for the work you. Probably one of the best group of employees I have ever worked with.
Pros
advancement oppertunity, esop, paid time off starts the first of every year.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Line Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHApril 25, 2017
Employees aren't treated fairly the pay was great but the work environment wasn't that good. They didn't value the hard workers and the ones who didn't care was praised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, mulitasking work place
Line Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fillmore, UTApril 13, 2017
One needs to be able stand on your feet all day with a couple breaks. Be able to work at a fast pace. Same routine. Noisy, but fun co workers.
Good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for great pay
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHApril 10, 2017
Great Lakes Cheese offers great pay for low skill level job. Great benefits with employment sharing program, 401k, and all the health care you could ask for.
Pros
great pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, good job with good benefits
Bulk cheese handler (Current Employee) –  Fillmore, UTFebruary 24, 2017
I have enjoyed working with this company for the most part. I don't really have any complaints about the work environment as a whole, but it can get a little bit boring. They do reward us for our productivity on the production floor every now and again with pizza and other such meals.
Pros
free meals
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, WIFebruary 10, 2017
being part time you do not receive any benefits. thats why i decided to leave. they treated everyone equally, and when i was there they had a good trainers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with a family atmosphere
Cutter (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, WIJanuary 19, 2017
A typical day for me is loading cheese on to the line. I've learned how to run the machines and how to inspect product. The management at great lakes is one of the best I've worked with, they make sure all they're workers get treated equal and are safe everyday. The hardest part of the shift is when the line you are on goes down. I enjoy the people I work with, they make everyone feel welcomed.
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here, if you can avoid it all together
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIDecember 15, 2016
HR dept is so out of touch with employees, management doesn't care about making there own goals.
proably the worst job I have ever had.
Pros
none
Cons
HR dept is prejustice
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a job
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, WINovember 21, 2016
Management could use some classes on leading and how to talk to employees. The workload is not fair for all three shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Line Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHNovember 12, 2016
I appreciate the opportunity that was given to me at Great Lakes Cheese, however I feel that the position was not entirely for me. The work there was enjoyable, but my co-workers made it a less enjoyable place to work.
Pros
steady pay, good hours, good benefits
Cons
hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place with good hours
Fillmore Ut, Line attendant (Current Employee) –  Fillmore, UTOctober 5, 2016
I really enjoy working at the cheese plant. I am very social and enjoy that I can converse with others and still get things done. I also like that I get full time hours.
Pros
good breaks
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and great benefits. No communication skills, no knowledge amongst supervisors and managers
Raw Transporter (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNJuly 14, 2016
I loved on Friday when i got paid. But, you never had a set schedule and the supervisors always made changes to the production schedule without giving any notice and expected the employees to read their minds. I loved my position besides not ever getting any communication from supervisors on changes and then getting fussed at when I got behind because they changed the schedule and never notified me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Handler (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, WIJune 30, 2016
The worker at this place is nice and it a nice environmental to work. The teach and tell you what needs to be done. They help you once you don't get something or needed help.
Pros
benefit
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
racist people here
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIMarch 20, 2016
the way they treat employees suck.... had a bad experience here.was only working a temporary assignment through a temp agency.thank god for that
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company heading down
bulk cheese handler (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHFebruary 16, 2016
company is going down hill with the hire of outside plant mangers to the hire of supervisor that have no leadership skills working the ones that care into the ground and turning a blind eye to the ones that dont
Pros
good pay
Cons
short breaks 2x15
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faced paced environment, overall good company
Maintenance Technician / Electrician (Former Employee) –  Hiram, OHJanuary 15, 2016
It's a fast paced environment, Has good owners but all management needs restructuring in all departments. Production department is very unorganized.
Pros
Good Pay, Good Benefits
Cons
Very Fast paced, unorganized, needs corporate restructering
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed production and sanitation employees to ensure proper company policies and procedures are followed.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIDecember 10, 2015
Scheduling responsibilities. All audits were ready when scheduled. OSHA and USDA regulations were followed. Employee training and transferring into production and sanitation positions.
Pros
Annual company party
Cons
too much favoritism given to a certain shift and personnel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Great Lakes Cheese. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

64%
17 ratings
Add your rating

Great Lakes Cheese Reviews by Location