Find companies:
Great Western Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Great Western Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most difficult employer I've ever had
Former Employee (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDJune 2, 2014
Pros: you'll meet and make friends with some very fine colleagues; 401k
Cons: almost everything else
First of all, I should say that working in a branch vs. working in the corporate tower are two different things at this organization. People in the branches are always curious and even starved for acknowledgment from the corporate tower, but sadly they don't realize how good they have it being out of site and out of mind. My experience at the corporate – more... tower was, quite frankly, the worst work experience I've ever had in my many years of banking. There are really good people there, and there is even the outward projection of opportunity. But don't be fooled. It is as cut throat and dog-eat-dog as any corporation could ever be. The National Australia Bank presence is entirely manipulative of the system - they will sell you anything you want to hear and mean none of it later. Typical of global corporate behemoths, NAB doesn't really care one hoot about employees (sure, their many spin doctors make lots of effort and feigned gesture to suggest they do, but it's all mostly smoke and mirrors) as evidenced by their regular redundancies. Rub one of the Aussies the wrong way and you will be instantly doomed/black-balled; no matter how much effort you put into trying to resolve a concern or absolve doubts, the NAB folks hold eternal grudges, and they can be extremely spiteful, even mean-spirited, just because its part of their own power-trip DNA. Make no mistake, Great Western Bank is a very large bank, trying very hard to pretend to be a community bank. It's not. It's a bloodthirsty, corporate environment from top to bottom at the tower; with many, many self-serving opportunists looking for an angle to diminish a peer and project superiority. And NAB doesn't care about employee morale, it only cares about profits that translate into dividends for shareholders on the other side of the world. Think you can get ahead at GWB? Most people don't stay for very long anymore. Why? Because the compensation program is a complete gimmick. Because the corporate culture is replete with gimmicks. Because only those who are so pathetic to constantly pucker up and kiss up have even the remotest opportunity to get ahead. When you come on board, there is much promise of opportunity compensation wise, career tract wise, and any other wise. The HR people sell a very appealing bill of sale. Yet, you should be aware that it is NAB's nature to figure out any way possible to reduce compensation, not improve it. It is their nature to keep people duped and doped into complacency. So, don't believe for one second that this is a prime place to hang your hat long term. Rather, trust the corporate record. GWB has seen better than 20% of its staff turn over year-over-year since 2011. In 2013, over 30% of the staff left. And through mid-April 2014, the company was on pace to see a 30% departure rate again. Look at the many open positions. It's surprising how many are professional positions, managers, senior people, market leaders, and so on. That's a telltale sign of how a company treats its people. Lots of turnover signals lots of not very happy people. So, pursue GWB if you must but know you are really married to NAB when you do. It's an ideal place to work if you can't find work elsewhere, or if anything will do. They'll take you. They always have lots and lots of openings. Good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun while helping your customers
Lead Teller (Current Employee), Story City, IAMay 12, 2014
Great place to work. Every one is helpful and willing to work with you to help you meet all the customers needs!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Teller (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEMay 10, 2014
Pros: good job to work through college.
Cons: none.
I worked as a teller. Helped other with deposits, money orders, problems with their accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid financial organization
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Northridge, CAApril 30, 2014
Very good organization to work and contribute.
located in several locations and very solution focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bank was very procedueral
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), Chatsworth, CAMarch 24, 2014
Great Western bank was purchased by Washington Mutual and they laid of all IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commuinity-Style culture here is so nice!
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 5, 2014
Typical day at work involves any number of things. Some days we can be extremely slow, and other days there is not enough time to even finish the first task of the day. Best part about Great Western is that employees own what they do and are responsible for accounts and clients from beginning to end. Everyone that works there is very easy to get along – more... with and the culture encourages people to want to help each other out.

Most difficult part of the job is being dynamic enough to balance time efficiently. Daily plans can go out the window as soon as the doors open since we not only handle new accounts, but are the primary contact for customer service needs. Also, our location is the main support branch for the business bankers, so we also do a lot of work in trying to support their clients' needs.

Co-workers at Great Western are fantastic. The support staff from operations are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful which is very important when you are the one handling customer needs directly!

Despite the very low staffing for the retail side, there is never a problem getting people their vacation time as we help each other out. If you're looking for a bank where you are deeply involved in the decisions for your customers, this is a great place to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Enviorment
Teller (Current Employee), Omaha,NEMarch 5, 2014
Very enjoyable, my co-workers and managers are always there for assistance. I handle many task on a daily bases on top of making sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Business Banking Assistant (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COFebruary 18, 2014
The people that I work with are wonderful. We have a great team with tremendous work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging responsibilities
Vice President / Senior Branch Manager (Former Employee), Largo, FLFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good working enviroment great benifits
Cons: company was in a poor financial position and eventually failed
I was the VP and branch manger of a fairly large deposit based bank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Employer EVER
Personal Banker Officer (Former Employee), ColoradoJanuary 29, 2014
GWB does not treat it's employees fairly or with respect. They limit advancement opportunities while saying, "If you learn how to do this one more thing...you'll be in-line for a promotion." But that promotion never comes. The work load is heavy and involves working through lunches as an hourly employee just to meet deadlines. Raises are small (usually – more... $0.10 - $0.20) and they only occur once a year. Management will utilize the ideas and plans of their top employees without giving that employee due credit. They have nearly a 100% turnover rate, and it's pretty obvious why. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace where everyone is willing to help you improve your skills.
Credit Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Aberdeen, SDJanuary 6, 2014
As a credit analyst, my responsibility was to analyze clients' financial positions to determine their capacity to pay current/new debts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Financial Services Officer (Former Employee), Burbank, CAJanuary 3, 2014
Now JP Morgan Chase, or simply Chase. I met a lot of great people working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smile goes a long ways
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Fort Dodge, IAJanuary 1, 2014
I enjoy the returning customers coming in and remembering them by name and having a good conversation with them. Also enjoy meeting new people and getting them the correct information about the company. A smile goes a long ways. Customers enjoy when people smile and show they are having a good time while working. Customers are affected by how the employee – more... acts. The hardest part of the job is trying the make the most upset customer completely satisfied with the business as they walk out of the door. Management could be somewhat improved to help the company and employees succeed at what they do. I perform duties such as simple deposits and cashing checks but also help customers banking easier by helping them understand their account details. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Review
Teller Supervisor (Former Employee), Clive, IANovember 25, 2013
Promotes doing what's best for the customer rather than pushing products and sales to profit the company. Benefits are good. Good team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GWB
Financial Analyst Commercial Banking (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great management in colorado
Cons: bureaucracy hindered value add activities
Was a great community bank until it was acquired by a company from SD and then the great community bank lost its luster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Teller (Current Employee), Atlantic, IAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: great benefits and compensation, discounted banking services
Cons: standing on your feet for extended periods of time, high turnover, burnout rate
A typical day at work includes assisting customers though transactions, disputes, answering questions and preventing fraudulent activities.

The hardest part of the job is being positive in a negative environment.

The most enjoyable part of the job is building new or existing customer relationships.

My co-workers were very difficult to get along with – more... due to them exerting negative energy towards me all day long. The one co-worker moved her office so that I could not see her texting on her phone all day long. She has told me on numerous occasions that it is her mission to get me to quit. Once she hits her goals for the company she shuts everyone else out. She has it out for the other teller as well.

Management does not seem to care that bullying and harassment are taking place at this branch. I've been told several times by my manager and coworker that I'm incompetent (in front of customers) and that I should quit. When customers complain about my unfair treatment they turn around and say that I'm a valued employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Credit Analyst Intern (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJune 24, 2013
Pros: good envirnoment, fun people to work with, good amount of work to be done
Cons: no advancement, sometimes work was hard to find, quiet office
A generally good place to work. Had lots of work to be done with occasional gaps in work. Co-workers were friendly and always available and willing to help out. The most enjoyable part of the job was doing the analysis and working out potential problems with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Grand Island, NEMay 25, 2013
I really enojoyed working there it was a very good job, had to leave for personal emergency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chatsworth, CAApril 11, 2013
Loved the environment, very professional, good environment, and got along with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Sioux Falls SDApril 7, 2013
Pros: pay is great
Cons: co-workers allowed to harass and badmouth
I worked here for 2 years in Account Maintenance. My co-worker bad mouthed me to all her friends, within earshot. When I went to management, they moved me to another department and she got no consequences at all. Management allowed harassment to happen and continue for weeks, HR would do nothing about it. Do NOT work in Operations!

About Great Western Bank

Great Western Bancorporation is the holding company for Great Western Bank, which¬†operates about 200 branches in Iowa, Kansas, – Read more