Greater Chicago Food Depository Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2017
I was mainly helping to volunteer at the food depository in Chicago. I helped organize food box packing, divided large groups into smaller ones, and provided demonstrations to new volunteers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2017
My experience was productive and skillful, I learned new things such as building orders onto pallets by manually lifting and placing products weighting up wards of 50 pounds. Ensuring accuracy in handling loads, whether in coming or out going. I also learned how to check loads for signs of infestation, damage, time temperature abuse and code dates; applying food safety standards .
Pros
long breaks
Cons
Bring your own Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results driven environment
Human Resources Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2016
The management is very straight forward and not involved in employee relations. I do like the fact that they are a non profit organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware!!!!
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 11, 2015
The C.O.O. rules with an iron hand and a lashing tongue!!! The last CFO stayed for less than 4 months. The entire organization is accustom to the lashing out of the C.O.O.. The C.O.O. is known to run EVERYTHING her way. If you don't agree with her, you had better not voice it or you will not be there very long.
Pros
Salad Bar
Cons
The C.O.O.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get place to teach and be taught
Volunteer Food Repack (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2015
Great working environment where teaching children came by easy and simple. Learned a lot of skills when it comes to being patient and helping others find a comfort zone to express themselves. Had a lot of fun on field trips and overall was a rather pleasant experience.
Pros
Snacks, great listeners
Cons
Pay was late the first couple of months
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
BILINGUAL AGENCY RELATIONS REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  chicagoMay 28, 2015
great & fulfilling job that allowed you to immerse yourself in the different communities. Supported agencies beyond the need of food resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2015
It was great to volunteer there. It was a great experience to help others. I enjoyed the people there and felt very welcomed to return and volunteer again.
Pros
happy people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Lunch Bus Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2014
Lunch Bus Intern
-Responsible for distributing meals to children in low-income neighborhoods.
-Responsible for keeping track of number of children and recording.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Salvage inspector/Production assistant (Former Employee) –  Worth, ILMay 1, 2014
I learned a lot during my time there and the job in it self was fun as well as fast paced. I like a steady day to day job. Always moving and enjoying what you do is essential for me. Everyone got along and worked to get the job done together.Supervisors seen my potential and left me to be team leader.
Pros
Everthing.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service Training
Training (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 29, 2014
Great experience.You learn lots of useful skills while getting hands on experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greater Chicago Food Depository. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
3.9

Greater Chicago Food Depository Reviews by Location