Greater Lawrence Family Health Center

Greater Lawrence Family Health Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very important work experience in my life as Scanning Clerk
SCANNING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJune 2, 2017
I loved working for this great family GLFHC gave me the opportunity to work with them 1999 without hardly knowing the English language. I learned a lot and was given the opportunity to take trainning from other areas
Pros
The dining area is very cozy
Cons
Marginal benefits are excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at. Excellent team work
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAMay 20, 2017
I love my job and the fact that we can make a difference in the lives of people in our community. My work place is second home and where I spenfd a lot of time in. Glad for my coworkers they rock.
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAMarch 20, 2017
Enjoyed my time at GLFHC. It is a rewarding, demanding, and busy place to work at. Love the staff. Everyone truly care for patients and want to help. The staff for the most part gets along and help one another, when they are not in competition.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Commitment to the Community
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAMarch 14, 2017
This is a company that does an outstanding job of providing unbiased, holistic health management to an underserved population in the surrounding Merrimack Valley area. Mostly serving people of Dominican Republic and Puerto Rican origin, the staff here works well in helping each patient get connected with what they need, whether it is applying for disability, getting approved for insurance, or just being seen for a routine check-up. For a non-profit, it also does a great job at maneuvering the tricky health system and staying profitable for the betterment of the clinic, community, and employees.
Pros
Positive work environment, get to serve an appreciate population
Cons
Not as competitive pay as other Boston-based Health Centers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, poor communication
Part-time 24 hrs/wk (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJanuary 25, 2017
Not supportive of registered nurses, senior management inaccessible, inexperienced staff assigned management positions
Pros
schedule
Cons
inexperienced, unprofessional middle management, inaccessable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional environment
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAJanuary 13, 2017
My typical day consisted in updating large numbers of customer contact and prescription information. Under Christine Habeeb I learned how to create journal entries and other accounting information. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the professional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained a lot of experience
Transcription Clerk, Medical Records (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAMarch 11, 2016
Greater Lawrence Family Health Center was a great place to start my professional career. Working with such high level staff and sensitive information was extremely educational and I value everything that I learned from that experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work at
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAFebruary 13, 2016
Poor management, micromanaging and pay was a slap in the face! Only thing good was meeting new patients but the working conditions were awful and stressful the burn out rate is so high at this place that it is not worth your mental health
Pros
Patients and the good employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow in the medical field and experience diverse culture.
Senior Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJuly 2, 2015
Start off the day by ensuring all medical devices are in good working order. Call in patient and obtain vital signs then chart in EMR. Prep patient for physician.
Pros
Flexibility.
Cons
Pay rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAJanuary 29, 2015
Love my patients and my doctors. Wish that more companies were as great as them.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing patient population
Family Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJanuary 13, 2015
Serving the people of this community is incredibly rewarding
Pros
Patient population
Cons
Support staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Methuen, MAOctober 10, 2014
Amazing staff however, management does not recognize or appreciate dedication
Was this review helpful?Yes14No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Peer Navigator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MASeptember 30, 2014
Conduct outreach to find individuals lost to follow-up or at risk of falling out of medical care.Address barriers to staying connected to regular medical care.Mentor on how to prepare for medical appointments. Facilitate communication between patients and medical staff.Remind individuals about upcoming medical/non-medical appointments.Connect individuals to support groups, training, workshops and other events that connect individuals to
other persons living with HIV/AIDS. Assist individuals in navigating the system.Discuss feelings related to being HIV positive.Provide support and comfort to newly diagnosed individuals. Listen attentively to individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MASeptember 4, 2014
A typical day at work would be making reminder calls and being in medical records scanning and faxing papers.

I learned about being responsible and how it feels like to have someone depending on you.

My co-workers were really great and helpful, they were always there when i needed them.

The hardest part of the job was leaving without a job. I would not mind to work there just making reminder calls and scanning. Even though it seems like a small job, but it helps out a ton and without someone doing it then there will be no way the clinic would function.

The most enjoyable part was being part of the GLFHC family. Everyone was treated equal and with respect even though I was way younger than most of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Senior Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAAugust 25, 2014
assisting providers all day
translating
good team play
everyone is very nice and makes you feel comfortable
Pros
flexiblity
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible and understanding
Registered Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lawrence,MAAugust 21, 2014
GLFHC is a great place to start your career. I learned many more qualities than a regular Medical assistant at another place would learn. Personnel is wonderful and is flexible enough that allows you to go back to school.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Finance (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAJune 11, 2014
Former employee. At times excessive work load, promised help that never transpired. Stressful situations. Enjoyed coworkers, not management.
Pros
Professional office, flexible schedule.
Cons
Management disconnected from others, no raises in years, good work not acknowledged.
Was this review helpful?Yes16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Pharmacy Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAMay 20, 2014
The job isn't bad , the management could use some improvement. Employees should get much more acknowledgment of their good work and advancement should not be so hard.
Cons
short breaks, insurance lacks
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent
Risk Reduction Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MADecember 23, 2013
great benefits , great people , room for advancement, I would recommend this place !
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Pharmacy Refill Representative (Current Employee) –  Lawrence MAJuly 23, 2013
Medication refills, Prior Authorizations, Patient customer service, Phone calls
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greater Lawrence Family Health Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
4.1

Greater Lawrence Family Health Center Reviews by Location