Find companies:
Green Mountain Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Green Mountain Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canvassing at stores and events, very hit or miss
sales agent (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, patient management, green company that cares about the environment.
Cons: seedy city locations, high-pressure sales tactics, dirty employees.
They set me up at tables in local supermarkets. I had to ask passers by if they wanted to switch to green energy. 99.9% of respondents weren't interested. This could have had something to do with the fact that I was often placed in neighborhoods were most people didn't pay out of pocket for their electricity. (Because it was included in their rent or – more... condo fee or because they lived in college dorms.) Needless to say, these weren't good locations in which to make sales.

Most agents used pushy sales tactics, and I had a problem with that. To me, no means no. Just let that customer go. If they're interested, they'll ask for more information. Pressuring them doesn't work and certainly didn't work for the agents who employed this tactic.

As a side note, half my co-workers smelled as if they never bathed.

Management was good and tailored my schedule to my life's other obligations, so I have no complaints there. As long as I showed up for the shifts I was scheduled, all was good. I was never interrogated about why I couldn't work on particular days.

On a final note, I hate being in the city, and that's where they put me nine times out of then. I had to commute to the job sites on Philly's cavernous subway system, and this made me feel dirty and unsafe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Applicable
Executive Assistant to CEO/Office Manager (Former Employee), Plano TexasMarch 31, 2014
Management needs a lot of work. Other than that I did like my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save the environment!
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: work atmosphere, co- workers, management
Cons: d2d
They actually care about the environment and you as a employee. You work d2d, events and storefronts. A goo place to work in the summer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outside supermarkets looking for potential customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McAllen, TXJanuary 10, 2014
talking to people walking in front of the store and ask about their energy provider, learned what kind of energy their is out there, management was always good, coworkers worked well, hardest part was finding new customers in areas where co-op energy is around
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and location along with great compensation
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Downtown Austin TXDecember 5, 2013
Pros: located on w 6th, comfy and nice workplace, garage parking, wifi
Cons: management is slow
Great place to work, the offices are located on w 6th st downtown Austin which makes getting off super exciting. Great pay and benefits I was part of the inside sales dept and easily averaged $22/hr.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly Door to Door /canvassing
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Portland ORNovember 13, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, work outside
Cons: limited hours, door-to-door work, not much advancement opportunity
If you have no problem doing door to door sales, you'll like this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not safe
Customer Service associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 24, 2013
I had to work late hours in a environment that was not safe for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 26, 2013
you work a lot in different type of weather conditions, and sale energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fun Work Environment!
Assistant Recruiter (Current Employee), Plano, TXFebruary 12, 2013
Great company, Quickly growing nationwide!
Awesome opportunities to grow!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad For commission only
Sales Agent/Partnership Ambassador (Current Employee), white plains nyOctober 16, 2012
Pros: paid, fed meetings, nice people, good cause.
Cons: commission only, no benefits
This is a commission based job, though you are reimbursed for gas if you have to travel over 30 miles. If you don't mind commission only, and are looking to earn extra money it's a great part time job, super flexible etc. This is however not a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Not stated (Former Employee), Example: New York, NYAugust 4, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: everything else
More hype than substance. Basically, GME spends more time developing its brand name than offering services of substance. Management is unskilled and unmotivated, and that's putting it nicely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXJuly 30, 2012
Good impression with customer.
Work in a fast place.
Good at managing.
Customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Senior Sales Agent (Current Employee), Plano, TXJuly 2, 2012
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: no benifits for part time people
Flexable Hours
Great People
Wonderful earning possibilities
Room for Advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place fair commissions
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mission, TXJune 21, 2012
Pros: free snow cones
Cons: work in the very hot sun
They would send us to our local grocery stores where we have our tent located and we would be there offering people a better deal with their light company. We would also help the costumers read and interpreted their light bill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for if you are confortable with commission only.
Field Agent (Former Employee), Killeen, TXApril 30, 2012
Pros: short shifts, good benefits
Cons: if you don't make sales, you don't get money;
Overall Green Mountain is not a bad company to work for. It isn't the easiest job, but the people in management are cool. Despite the disorganization, and the fact my manager waited until the last minute to post schedules it was good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Market Developer (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2012
This place has a superb business purpose, and the people there are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT WORKPLACE
SALES ENROLLMENT SPECILAIST (Current Employee), MCALLEN TMarch 7, 2012
LEARNED SO MUCH HERE. THEY WILL WORK TO IMPROVE YOU AS EMPLOYEE.

About Green Mountain Energy

The power is always greener on this side of the mountain. Green Mountain Energy, a NRG Energy┬ácompany, buys and resells green – Read more