Green Mountain Energy Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good location
Door to Door Sales (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXDecember 7, 2016
Not structure.
The managers there are so bad with the agents.
They want the agents pay for everything.
Not company bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Reconciliation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 2, 2016
I was on a 1 year contract at Green Mountain. The culture was super invigorating. A superb group environment and overall one of the best places I've ever worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 26, 2016
Working here was an awesome experience... I learn how to talk to individuals , and over come my shyness!!!! Enjoyed the team work that was involved and the boss was supper understanding and worked the schedule so I could get the maximum hours as possible!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very patient and have to stay on your toes
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 8, 2016
It wasn't an ideal job for me to have. I did try my best, but that didn't even work out for me. I rarely had co- workers to be with me which made the job than much less interesting. There was no manager in charge of our group and there wasn't a lot of order.
Pros
i still got to learn new things about the electric company and how it all works.
Cons
It was a very lonely job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review: Great!
Sales Agent - Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 16, 2016
Great company to work for. They care about employees and they are doing great things for the environment. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYJuly 27, 2016
Actual work at Green mountain wasn't very hard, but there was a lot of standing and the locations would be different each day. Fun place to work if you need a job, and it is very flexible with your schedule.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
standing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work-place fun
Customer Service Sales (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 14, 2016
A typical day a work consisted of helping customer locate and enrolling the in the best seminar for them and providing other viable information regarding other programs available. The hardest part is I could not enroll them into everything available. I most enjoyed the activities plan by the queen of fun.
Pros
Free lunces and prizes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work at if you need hours
Sales Agent (Part Time-Summer Job) (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 29, 2016
Work was fine, people were a hit or miss. People were easily taken advantage of with hours and being seriously under payed for the amount of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place bad management
ACP Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 28, 2016
Loved working here. The only issue was the management. The manager was not truly used to working or managing more than 5 people. She was not knowledgable of the work flow or processes.
Pros
benifits
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission only
Senior Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 25, 2016
Commission only sales with no benefits offered is not always sustainable. This works if you are a student with no bills but could be disastrous for anyone that needs reliable income.
Pros
Attending fun local events
Cons
unpredictable income
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to pick your own hours
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 22, 2016
Set up booth at predetermined store front/ festival or other location.
Educate and sell Wind Energy to potential clients. I learned how to understand the fees and terminology on a typical energy bill. I also learned how to sell electricity in Spanish and I am not bilingual. Management is awesome, friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job is only getting paid on clients who pass the credit check. The rest of the clients you sign up do your paycheck no justice. The most enjoyable part is the tight knit community of employees and management who are always there to help, give suggestions, and the festivals are so fun to work.
Pros
Great place to learn sales, learn about electricity and being eco friendly.
Cons
no insurance, commission based only on passing clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales Representative/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYApril 21, 2016
The company is fine, motivation is the key. A lot of contests, competition, chances to win cruises and electronics, over all ok. I was there for a year. Much money can be made if you try hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
door to door marketing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  illinoisApril 21, 2016
A typical day at work consists of walking door to door for 8 hours and attempting to convince people to change their energy source. If you can manage 3 people a day, i dont remember the exact number but you can make up to $800 plus a week,

I persoanally was not good enough for the job and I havnt made a penny.
Everyones nice, you must be EXREMELY MOTIVATED.

The hardest part of the job is finding people who are open minded and willing to change their energy company.
My coworkers were all really good at the job.
Pros
Weekly bonus
Cons
outdoor
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and people to work with.
Area Manager, Retail and Events (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXMarch 14, 2016
Great place to work and people to work with. Opportunity for advancement was great. I would still be there but my department was eliminated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
SALES ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 28, 2015
100% employer paid benefits, great office location, small company. good office furniture and decorations.
good product
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loneliness
Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston,TexasOctober 8, 2015
A day at Green Mountain would be a long day due to the fact that you would go to a store location and stand there all day sometimes by yourself to sell electricity but it was cool to meet new people.
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
not working as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 2, 2015
this was a great job just ran out of people sign up management was not good at but the job paid well and got paid every week. found A BETTER job that pays more and nicer people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of different cultured people as well as learning the fundamentals of being a door to door sales person.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2015
The mornings would normally start off with an informational meeting for the new hires to learn a thing or two from people who were successful in the office. It also provided people with ways of finding places or people to work with and build friendships with.
Pros
Travel the state, made great money, met many people.
Cons
worked 12+ hour shifts 5 or 6 days out of the week
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2015
• Promote the choice of pollution-free electricity at various venues including movie theatres, street fairs, and green markets
• Coach fellow other team members on selling/closing techniques
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The greatest place i have ever worked
(National Safety Director)(Trucking Supervisor) (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 23, 2015
I have nothing bad to say about this company I was with them many years and they were tops. I would have never left but the travel was ruining my marriage.
Pros
Everything
Cons
To much travel at the time for me to maintain stable family connections
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Green Mountain Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3
73%

CEO Approval

Based on 15 ratings
Add your rating

Green Mountain Energy Reviews by Location