Greenbrier Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 8, 2017
I don't wish to provide a review at this time. I had a great experience there and did assembly work and the team was helpful to train me in assembly and certify me in bearing repair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Welder (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 1, 2017
I loved Gunderson great company grate people. I made some very good friends. Great leadmen very supportive and they help you learn the traid. I would go back if I had the chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had!
Carman/Welder (Former Employee) –  Golden, COJuly 20, 2017
This is an awesome job to have! good people , with respectable management and administration. great benefits and lots of learning opportunities. Very kind and welcoming work environment,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best of the Best
Human Resource Generalist (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 7, 2017
i worked there for 16 years it was so sad to see it end i worked very hard and learned everything i know now. we all started there with little or no experience and learned a whole lot. they moved out of Arizona. and opened up in California. it is a great place to work and get lots of training.
Pros
Large Company
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty place hard work
Magnetic particle inspector (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJune 27, 2017
Honestly believe working here for the year that I did was the hardest work at the lowest pay but I was able to achieve a couple certificates that abled me to get a better job at general electric transportation it was worth it
Pros
Pto time
Cons
Hot dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Welder (Former Employee) –  Austintown, OHJune 6, 2017
They were very unorganized, very bad at pay wages and giving raises and the people they select for management have the very least amount experience of anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple at your own pace
HELPER (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALMay 6, 2017
for this job you just clean out old cabinets in each office then label and store the boxes sometimes you be put on a computer to delete fills from the system easy work nothing to difficult
Pros
at your own pace
Cons
you only work when they need you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Lewistown, PAMay 3, 2017
Absolutely no chance for advancing , a lot of unappreciated overtime, then layoffs. Constant confusion between management about what direction the company is/should be going
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, active, workout
Sign Holder (Current Employee) –  Hanford, CAApril 26, 2017
I only been doing this job for 2 days and i love it i get to Test myself and get a good workout while working. I think waving a Sign on the weekends is no problem time flys while u work.
Pros
Get a 20 min break, got good shade, boss is a very nice and uplifting guy.
Cons
None at alll
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good pay and decent benefits
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Lewistown, PAApril 25, 2017
it's a great place to work, they work around what shift you will need to be on & have different types of work, with different pay rates..they seem to treat everyone with respect and have a decent paying and working system
Pros
good pay, decent benefits, great people and relaxed place to work
Cons
Very dirty work environment, everything is fixed with a bandage instead of the proper way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Greenbrier Companies?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work outdoors
Forlift Operator (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 11, 2017
Offload and Inbound Product
Consistently feed production lines.
Gained a better appreciation for a well organized system.
Management had safety and objective meetings every morning.
Employee culture was 95 percent male but diverse.
Working outdoors was challenging.
Good working hours with occasional overtime.
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
Forklifts were not properly serviced and maintained
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to sure GBW
Welder/Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Cleburne, TXMarch 10, 2017
After 25 years on the job, was layed off with dozens of their most seasoned workers. Don't know if I would do it all over again, maybe you'll have better luck
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place.
Welder/ Repair (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 7, 2017
I don't have any complaints it was good work. Great starting job for welders that are new but not for a career. 10 hour shifts which I liked. I learned a lot on how Assemble lines work. Great work environment. People are friendly and will work with you to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay/Abusive Environment
Desktop Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lake Oswego, ORJanuary 17, 2017
The company is mostly solid, but the political environment within the company is horrible. People will back stab you to gain nothing but a smile from the boss. People are unwilling to help for fear that you may get credit they will not. Many managers act unprofessional and will set you up to fail when possible to protect their position.
Pros
Nice Office
Cons
Political environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Friendly work environment and fun co workers
Welder/Repairman (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 8, 2016
Work days were 10 hour days from Monday through Thursday. Awesome schedule especially for the family guys. Management was ok. But if you did a good job at times it would go unrecognized.
Pros
Monthly bbq for all employees if a profit was made
Cons
Too many meetings. Management having their favorite employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people here are like a family.
Human Resource Generalist (Former Employee) –  Cleburne, TX 76031August 30, 2016
I loved my job. Everyday there was something new to learn. When the upper corporate changes took place and the merger happened though a lot of the employees that were valued by the previous company were no longer wanted by the new managers.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Long hours for salaried employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy work hours, travel and horrible management
Rather Not Say (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 7, 2016
I was expected to work weekend days without notice, travel to Mexico for weeks at time on short notice and management was horrible at communication.
Pros
Great pay & benefits
Cons
Crazy work hours, travel and horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Repairman (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALJune 23, 2016
Working at Greenbrier is a fast place environment with satisfying result for accomplishments. Management try's to recognize and reward for job well-done.
Pros
Open top employee ideas.
Cons
Employee Bonus Program not what it promises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment.
QA Inspector (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 13, 2016
A typical work day is fast passed and busy. It involves a great deal of standing and walking. Responsibilities range in complexity, including, but not limited to:
-Incoming, in process and final weld, parts and paint Inspection
-Reviewing manuals
-Writing and revising SOP's
-Maintaining calibration schedule
-Heavily involved in compliance and system audits

I have learned to be patient with people of diverse ideals. Also, I've learned that if you spend time with the people who do the job, day in and day out, that there is a wealth of knowledge to be tapped. I don't ave to have all the answers. It's okay to learn from other people.

Management is not exceptional but things get done and I have no complaints regarding my managers.

Co-workers are mainly old mill workers, gritty and hard-nosed. No one is afraid to get dirty.

The most difficult aspect of my job is that there is so much to do and not enough time to do it.

What's enjoyable about my job is that I do not have a lot of downtime. I like that the my doesn't drag.
Pros
Short work week (4, 10's ) and having Fridays off
Cons
Cold in the winter and hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Oswego, ORJanuary 11, 2016
I really enjoyed my job at The Greenbrier Companies. Loved my job and the people I worked with, my boss was fair and enjoyed working in his department.
Pros
Great company to work for.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greenbrier Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3