Greyhound Lines, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 51 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-life
Accounting Clerk, Philadelphia (Former Employee) –  New York, New YorkJanuary 16, 2014
Working at Greyhound Lines in NY was very rewarding. I love the culture, team work, and management cooperativeness. Working there was like a family environment. We stock together and I most of it had to do with the size of the terminal which is one of the largest countrywide.
Pros
do you job well.
Cons
pay close attention to details.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy pace job with, good place to work to learning different cultures
Lead Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 19, 2012
Training other employees and dispatching buses making sure they were arriving and departing on schedule.

I learned that if you have a willingness to learn they will train you in all areas. Therefore, you have job security because you are an aset to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Customers
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MdMay 8, 2014
A typical day at work deals with at least one hundred people a day. Today I helped a customer as far as going to the extent to get the customer to forward me and email and me take things into my own hands. The customers were so happy that maybe five minutes later they brought me two drinks for helping them.
Pros
good money
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting
Traveling Ticket Agent/Booker Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 21, 2012
Everyday was about helping traveling passengers. I learned how to work under stressful days. Everything was hard about this job everyday was a challenge. The amazing part was that at the end all passenger were happy.
Pros
all the good restaurant were close to the station.
Cons
short staffed at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for Greyhound. Helping people get to go where they were going and hearing about their ventures was grounding.
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 2, 2014
Greyhound was amazing place to work! The staff always was helpful and I was proud to work for such business-minded people. They showed me how to keep a busy work day successful and efficient!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 17, 2012
check on passengers load and unload buses of baggage,I learned how to move buses the Management was fun to work with I had a lot of nice co-workers getting the buses out on schedule we were all a team we all worked hard at whatever we did at work.
Pros
free bus rides
Cons
putting in long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were fun to work with
CSR / Customer Survey Representative (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJanuary 4, 2014
Job security was pretty good but not lot of opportunity to advance for higher positions. Pay was just slight above minimum wage and overtime was sometimes required and downtime was also require at times.
Pros
discount on bus fares
Cons
short brakes and downtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backwards. Uneducated undeveloped.
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2013
Basically the rudest people on earth. Ran by the top bus drivers. They were great at driving buses but shouldnt be managing a business. you work all holidays and weekends. Its a travel company though what did you expect.
Pros
free subway cards
Cons
weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 3, 2014
the job required me to preform multiple task like beening in charge of the platform overseeing other people. It thought me how to be more responsible. and gave me a chance to grow.
Pros
i get a chance to learn a lot and meet new people
Cons
short breaks and good health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventure working with passenger from adverse cultures.
Area City Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MichiganJune 26, 2015
I am also responsible for effectively managing and ensuring quality assurance, customer focus, safety techniques and awareness, as well as prompt scheduled services.
Pros
Unlimited travel
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work many different hours off a extra board
Motor Coach Operator (Current Employee) –  St Louis, Missouri.November 14, 2012
I enjoy my job and the people, I transport across the country..
I work many locations across the United States.
Pros
i get to see the world and meet interesting people of all walks of life.
Cons
greyhound is downsizing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
United Management II, Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCNovember 5, 2014
Enjoyed working with all my employees, Meeting people from all over the world. Long hours when an accident/ incident occurs
Pros
getting holidays off
Cons
long hours after an accident occurs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place for working with a lot of different people.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 28, 2015
love the fact I was able to apply great customer service, good management and working as a team makes evey day a good work day.
Pros
there was alot to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greayhound is a company of great customer service.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  1716 E. 7th StreetDecember 31, 2011
Greyhound is a great place to work at. It is perfect for a persn with great expectations for great future.
Pros
opportunities for advancement.
Cons
they do not like union.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound Lines
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 1, 2015
Not for the employees nor the customers they for the money only theyve made promises that was untrue no long time employment
Pros
experience with mentor
Cons
some management don't care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in downtown
Senior Telecommunications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 29, 2014
Daily support at main campus and all sites in the US. Coordinated LEC and contract vendor to moved offsite.
Pros
coordinated lec and vendors
Cons
offsite moved
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Motorcoach Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 28, 2013
Start off by attending driving school in Atlanta, GA, progress to an on-call driving position. Look forward to waiting an average of 5-10 yrs., for a permanent route.
Pros
free travel
Cons
on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
MotorCoach Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2015
Very knowledgeable and still rank in the top of the driver training schools in the nation. Greyhound Lines inc. will definitely help train you for a career and not a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping those to travel to family and friends was a priority
District Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 17, 2012
GLI held passenger and operator safety as a priority thus allowing for customers to travel easily to friends and family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
US Freight Accounting (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 27, 2013
Great company to work for if you are not looking for advancement. Casual environment. Great Benefits
Pros
great benefits, good working environment
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture