Greyhound Employee Reviews

Found 445 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst pay ever
Supervisor Lead A (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 27, 2017
Greyhound is a fun place to work but the pay is not worth it. Greyhound doesn't care about it's employee's, no room for any advancement. May annual raise was for 8cents, not a typo it was literally 8 cent.
Pros
Good Benifits
Cons
Bad location, no advancment opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very nice job
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 26, 2017
I feel there should be a glass between the rep and the customers the customers can get aggressive also the need spray for the roaches and get traps for the rats
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 25, 2017
My job at Greyhound was amazing. From the day I started training it was nothing but love. It was family oriented. They didn't have a problem showing you the ropes
Pros
Family oriented
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Ticket sales & Weekend Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 23, 2017
It was a very fast paced environment at times. Rushes came in and as a ticket sales person the lines had to be worked in a timely fashion in order for the passengers to catch their buses.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHApril 20, 2017
Greyhound lines Inc is not the best company to work for The terminal (6856) has been in the worst condition since sold from Laid-law.. Not a good company anymore. Passengers do not matter. Only thing matters is the money they bring in.. Poor Customer Service Standards.
Pros
free travel
Cons
work all the time for low wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jungle
Platform Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 15, 2017
The company hires individuals who have no idea how to operate a transportation company. All management does is flex power and attempt to babysit hourly employees. Such a great feeling to not be apart of that jungle anymore. You work outside in the heat with no water except what is inside of the terminal and when you complain you are told, by the manager, it isn't the manager's job to supply water. Really? The most enjoyable part of the job is going home at the end of your shift.
Pros
none
Cons
harsh labor, extemely understaffed, uneducated management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long & short hours
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILApril 15, 2017
When you first start, you're on the extra board. No regular days off. You may work mor Inge, afternoons and nights, because you don't have a regular run. If there's not enough work you can be sent to different states, to work,anywhere from a few days to a few months. Workplace culture quiet. Hardest part is keeping track of your hours for DOT. The most enjoyable part was meeting people.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for greyhound
Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2017
when I started working for greyhound I was happy that I found a job I like. I was happy that I had customers that would come through greyhoumd looking for me to cook their food.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible hole in the wall
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 11, 2017
rude managers, low pay, not good trainers, marisal was the rudest manager, and she always had an excuse for her bad behavior. The other African American manager was keeping the drugs that where been confiscated by security. Very stressful when imigration officers where always bringing people to transport.
Pros
non
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time job
Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 10, 2017
manage was good, i worked part time. I enjoyed working, good for a starter job to work on your customer service skills. xxxx x x xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for building strong communication skills.
Driver Operator/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 10, 2017
Great company for learning and developing communication skills. Enjoyed my position as Motor Coach Operator and gained valuable driving skills that I continue to use daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotion pickup&delivery service,open accounts,notifying receiving location,upselling priority service&daily direct products
Supervisor Package Express (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 8, 2017
Calculates shipping cost, informs customers, monitors claims, follow up priority service & daily direct products. open new accounts. customer satisfy.
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 8, 2017
Although I might of treated my manager Phil Alan correctly as a driver. He was always great to me and other Associates, as a new manager he had great job and life morals...Was fair and always incredible to talk with..I wish now, I'd never left...
Pros
See the country
Cons
Much time at times a way from family
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Lead Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 6, 2017
Long hours, fast paced work environment. Can be stressful at times. Can also be very fulfilling work, if you enjoy helping people. Interesting and diverse group of employees.
Pros
Free travel on the bus
Cons
long hours during peak periods
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Headache
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 4, 2017
They job is very stressful and is really meant for people who do not want a career. You are overworked and underpaid. Part time workers work harder than the full time workers. The employees are too comfortable at their job and do not take it seriously.
Pros
Free bus trips four times a year
Cons
no raises for great performance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay job
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 30, 2017
A day in greyhound depending upon the position is very hectic. Management are far more worse than the customers. There's alot of favoritism in this place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you love pepol and driving then you will love this job
Motor Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 26, 2017
great place to work and meet people and see the country. money not bad the pepol you meet are amazing. the drivers you meet from other city are great pepol to talk to they see all the different places . the training is so outstanding till once drive your own vehicle you understand what you were doing wrong or right
Pros
you are mostly your own boss
Cons
some times handling peopls personality can be trying
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 26, 2017
ITs a fun job where you communicayte with people everyday. You are responsible for luggage and packages. You are responsible for money being counted and also you have to ship items to and from.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad Place To Work
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 15, 2017
If you like too kiss *ss, this is the perfect place to work. I love the customers but feel sorry they have to rely on such an unreliable bus company. Most of the management are childish and rude. If you like to gossip, talk about people, be lied to please apply.
Pros
In Oakland
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 14, 2017
Needs improvement with management. The location needs staffing and a little more organization. I enjoyed working there for 5 years. I learned a lot working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greyhound. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 544 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

71%
121 ratings
Add your rating