Greyhound Employee Reviews in United States

Found 372 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound
TICKET AGENT (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 21, 2016
The company was alright.... but could have been better in a LOT of areas. The company isn't organized when it comes to tracking buses and staying on time. A lot of my time was spent comforting the passengers because the buses seemed as if they were never going to show up. I enjoyed my co-workers and even though it wasn't the best experience I had a manager that was amazing. The issues that always seemed to unfold were out of his hands. The higher ups seem to understand that the system that they have in place is faulty but turn away and rip off the customers in the process.
Pros
The customers, management, and the smiles knowing you changed someones day.
Cons
Late buses, overloads, frustrated customers, and the luggage.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound was a amazing place to work, i miss it alot i worked for them in Amarillo a couple of years and i was a ticket agent and i made lead ticket
Lead ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TexasApril 8, 2016
Great fun place to work, worked for them a few years, really loved it, the passengers and drivers were wonderful I made some really great friends I still see to this day the other employess were great! We all keep in touch! GO GREYHOUND!!!!!!!!
Pros
employee buss pass, the drivers, getting nominated and honored at faces of excellence 2015
Cons
the terminal manager
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 12, 2016
I enjoy working for this company, sure some things can be changed for the better but overall I enjoy what I do. there is nothing more to tell with any an every job you have things that good and things that's need improvement. Only thing with Greyhound they need to listen to there drivers more, the driver is the entire operation, the driver can make or break this company, if the driver is not happy it reflex on the drivers day.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 3, 2016
A typical day at work has varies up and downs. I've learned the essence of being on time and correct scheduling. Our management team its ok i guess has a couple of kinks that could be worked out.
I absolutely love my co-workers the relationship i have with them is like I've known them a life time. The hardest part of my job is when we get late buses and have to reschedule hundreds of people and we don't have anything available. The thing i enjoy about my job is meeting new people from all backgrounds.
Cons
can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy work enviroment,
Lead/Guest Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 27, 2016
My position involves close customer contact, the ability to answer questions, reroute passengers and sell tickets, monitor bus schedule and driver assignments. I need to monitor departures and arrivals, load and unload buses as necessary and complete paperwork to help monitor arrivals and departures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managers
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 17, 2016
the manager is insane. There is always conflict and managers don't care. One in particular is violent. This is a very bad place to try to work. Our station is located in a crack wxxxx infected area and ive seen shooting and muggings. Management does not care at all.
Pros
none
Cons
short or no breaks, getting physically and verbally abused by managers etcx
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed environment
Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 6, 2016
Dispatching Professional Drivers on a national scale, assigning equipment specific buses based upon scheduled routes, timing of routes, and contracted areas for seasonal scheduling.
Once a Dispatcher was taught how to build a schedule for an region, it was the Dispatcher's responsibility to learn how to relieve driver's and assign another to continue the route once their rest was secured according to DOT standards.
The most rewarding acquired were: knowledge of national regions which included Canada, DOT driver regulations, map readings, weather reporting, and field communications with transportation managers.
The most challenging segment of the job was rebuilding schedules and reassigning rout specific buses while still getting the customer to their destination on time.
Pros
Knowledge of ground transportation
Cons
minimal room for advancement in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Credit Card Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 21, 2016
For the short period of time there it was a bunch of research and calling customers to send them the paper work so they can pay Greyhound for the travel vouchers they where using. I enjoyed learning how vendors buy and supply vouchers for people as well as business.
Pros
Enjoyed the people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family away from family
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 20, 2016
its great to have desirable work to perform. But it's even nicer to have desirable people performing the work. Friendly professional work environment. I learned quite a bit about how buses are tracked throughout the country and beyond...no easy task! Management team's skill level was on point. Even at high stress moments, they remained a joy to work with.
Pros
Family like atmosphere
Cons
Can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not go to work here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 12, 2016
Worked in customer service. Main point of job was just to listen and document complaints. There did not seem to be any resolution to be offered to customers. It felt more like a hotline to calm people down than customer service. Working equipment such as computers, chairs and basic things like a microwave for employees were lacking. Management and HR were not in the same page. Personal safety was a big concern outside facility.,
Pros
Talking to people all over country.
Cons
Working environment, safety, not having tools to do job
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management/Employee relation environment but fast paced
Ticketing Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 8, 2016
A great employer with excellent management employee relations existing.

However, the environment was fast paced.

Will recommend to anyone who has enthusiasm and can work in a fast paced productive environment.

Co-workers were congenial

Hardest part was dealing with diverse customers who may have had a bad day.

Most enjoyable was problem solving and providing information to customers helping them resolve travel conflicts.
Pros
Free Metrocards every month, free travel to any destination the bus travels
Cons
one hr lunch a day
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can deal with being away from home...
Motor Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 25, 2016
Good money but terrible work/life balance. If you get use to working after 9 hours off you'll be alright. Better than truck driving, you usually get a clean hotel and shower at the end of the day.
Pros
Money, free travel
Cons
Personal life, always short drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJune 8, 2016
I enjoyed Assisting the Different ppl from Around the USA, they had so many storys about there ride on GH. It was A Joy working with my Co-workers. My work hours was the only thing I didnt like.
Pros
I Enjoyed The Experenice
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2016
was fun here. i had a great time with the coworkers and the management there. the only thing that this place didn't really do was pay me well but back then min wage was 7 dollars.
Pros
Great team work, fun
Cons
less then min wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly considerate environment
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 13, 2016
Good equipment.
Routes bid on every 6 months after becoming vested.
Free to work the extra board at will.
All personel friendly and professional.
Pros
Fun and challenging job with respect.
Cons
Took a long time to become vested when I was working.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company,Great Opportunities for Career Enhancement.
Bus Operator / Lead Customer Service. (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 1, 2016
Job could be very demanding at times due to fact you are dealing with the General Public at large, folks from ALL walks of life, some with Mental / Physical Disabilities, and with Federally Passed Companion Animals. First and foremost? Customer Service is what Rules Period, You really and truly get to do some wonderful life changing things for folks and feel in heaven afterwards, It is Rewarding Period, Hands Down.
Pros
Rewarding Customer Service.
Cons
Too many people slips between the crack so to speak, and gets left behind by GH-Drivers daily at rest ONLY stops.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only was employed by New Jersey Transit. I was not an employee of Greyhound Lines, Inc.
Inspector - B (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 17, 2015
I retired one year and 3 months ago. Just looking for Two or Three days a week, a little something to do and extra money to do day trips.
Can be hard sometimes, but always be able to work it out.
Patients
Can and have worked on my own without management
Only one at a window at a time, first of the month is the easiest and we knew that working together at time of interview.
Getting to work and waiting for lunch, knowing that meant half of the shift was over.
I was employed by New Jersey Transit Only. They had a window for a Agent to sale tickets for daily, weekly,monthly and monthly passes
Greyhound Lines, Inc. that was their terminal.
I did not get the chance to meet the C.E.O.
I Loved my jobs at New Jersey Transit.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 hour operating business
customer service (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 8, 2016
Greyhound is a company that has been around for over a hundred years, so you would think compensation for its employees would be better. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to meet new people daily.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
compensation, benefits, not many incentives, i.e. bonuses or company picnics, and 24 hour operation
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions,
Bus Driver/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 21, 2016
Good Job, good benefits, good working conditions, Family environment. was there for 43 years. work in 33 states. I liked working here because I enjoyed working with the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service/Clerical (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 26, 2016
I'm worked 9 years
7years with Americanos then change name to greyhound, with the same coworkers we are a family
I Learned a lot and I enjoyed work hard helping customers
Pros
everithing liked
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 450 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4