Greyhound Employee Reviews in United States

Found 372 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Credit Card Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 21, 2016
For the short period of time there it was a bunch of research and calling customers to send them the paper work so they can pay Greyhound for the travel vouchers they where using. I enjoyed learning how vendors buy and supply vouchers for people as well as business.
Pros
Enjoyed the people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2016
was fun here. i had a great time with the coworkers and the management there. the only thing that this place didn't really do was pay me well but back then min wage was 7 dollars.
Pros
Great team work, fun
Cons
less then min wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed environment
Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 6, 2016
Dispatching Professional Drivers on a national scale, assigning equipment specific buses based upon scheduled routes, timing of routes, and contracted areas for seasonal scheduling.
Once a Dispatcher was taught how to build a schedule for an region, it was the Dispatcher's responsibility to learn how to relieve driver's and assign another to continue the route once their rest was secured according to DOT standards.
The most rewarding acquired were: knowledge of national regions which included Canada, DOT driver regulations, map readings, weather reporting, and field communications with transportation managers.
The most challenging segment of the job was rebuilding schedules and reassigning rout specific buses while still getting the customer to their destination on time.
Pros
Knowledge of ground transportation
Cons
minimal room for advancement in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Baggage Attendant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 6, 2016
for this to be my first full time job while in high school it was an eye opener and learning experience
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy work enviroment,
Lead/Guest Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 27, 2016
My position involves close customer contact, the ability to answer questions, reroute passengers and sell tickets, monitor bus schedule and driver assignments. I need to monitor departures and arrivals, load and unload buses as necessary and complete paperwork to help monitor arrivals and departures.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions,
Bus Driver/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 21, 2016
Good Job, good benefits, good working conditions, Family environment. was there for 43 years. work in 33 states. I liked working here because I enjoyed working with the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJune 8, 2016
I enjoyed Assisting the Different ppl from Around the USA, they had so many storys about there ride on GH. It was A Joy working with my Co-workers. My work hours was the only thing I didnt like.
Pros
I Enjoyed The Experenice
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can deal with being away from home...
Motor Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 25, 2016
Good money but terrible work/life balance. If you get use to working after 9 hours off you'll be alright. Better than truck driving, you usually get a clean hotel and shower at the end of the day.
Pros
Money, free travel
Cons
Personal life, always short drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound
TICKET AGENT (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 21, 2016
The company was alright.... but could have been better in a LOT of areas. The company isn't organized when it comes to tracking buses and staying on time. A lot of my time was spent comforting the passengers because the buses seemed as if they were never going to show up. I enjoyed my co-workers and even though it wasn't the best experience I had a manager that was amazing. The issues that always seemed to unfold were out of his hands. The higher ups seem to understand that the system that they have in place is faulty but turn away and rip off the customers in the process.
Pros
The customers, management, and the smiles knowing you changed someones day.
Cons
Late buses, overloads, frustrated customers, and the luggage.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and involving.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 17, 2016
I loved this job very much. Meeting new people, taking on new or challenging tasks made the day speed by. The perks and benefits were great, also.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Want to know more about Greyhound?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managers
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 17, 2016
the manager is insane. There is always conflict and managers don't care. One in particular is violent. This is a very bad place to try to work. Our station is located in a crack wxxxx infected area and ive seen shooting and muggings. Management does not care at all.
Pros
none
Cons
short or no breaks, getting physically and verbally abused by managers etcx
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 28, 2016
The first and best job I ever had. The customers were challenging but taught me how to be patient. They rewarded employees for hard work and gave out great gifts on holidays,
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Garage Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 27, 2016
Enjoyed working here. Great Team and good working conditions. Kinda miss the place. Sometimes it could be stressful but that was balanced by the good people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love that job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2016
I love that job the best job I ever had. they always put the customers first and they had excellent team work always appraise the staff to for doing excellent work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service/Clerical (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 26, 2016
I'm worked 9 years
7years with Americanos then change name to greyhound, with the same coworkers we are a family
I Learned a lot and I enjoyed work hard helping customers
Pros
everithing liked
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting career
City Manager (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 19, 2016
Whether you a driver or work in the field a career with this company is very fast pace. The 18 years that I worked for this company I never was bored nor did I have to watch the clock.

Time flew by.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound Lines
Customer Service/Ticket Agent Manager (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CA 94541April 19, 2016
A typical day at work is dealing with customers all day and smells of odor. Otherwise a great job to have even though it doesnt pay much.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greyhound lines
Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 15, 2016
Got a chance to travel and meet new people everyday .Got to stay in nice hotels. The hardest part of the job was the traffic but i learned how to deal with it .
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly considerate environment
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 13, 2016
Good equipment.
Routes bid on every 6 months after becoming vested.
Free to work the extra board at will.
All personel friendly and professional.
Pros
Fun and challenging job with respect.
Cons
Took a long time to become vested when I was working.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 12, 2016
I enjoy working for this company, sure some things can be changed for the better but overall I enjoy what I do. there is nothing more to tell with any an every job you have things that good and things that's need improvement. Only thing with Greyhound they need to listen to there drivers more, the driver is the entire operation, the driver can make or break this company, if the driver is not happy it reflex on the drivers day.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 451 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4