Greyhound Employee Reviews in United States

Found 372 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 7, 2016
I like to work there but manager started to cut hours and then day started to get crazy. No benefits. Co-worker good nice to work with them.
Pros
None
Cons
ok
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 12, 2016
I enjoy working for this company, sure some things can be changed for the better but overall I enjoy what I do. there is nothing more to tell with any an every job you have things that good and things that's need improvement. Only thing with Greyhound they need to listen to there drivers more, the driver is the entire operation, the driver can make or break this company, if the driver is not happy it reflex on the drivers day.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced learning environment
GPX-AGENT/PROFESSIONAL COACH OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 5, 2016
Greyhound lines helped me grow into a mainstreem of multi-culuralworld, with amazing benefits to follow! The managment was fair and the co-workers were absolutly fun to learn from. The hardest part
Pros
MULTI STOPS ALONG ROUTES
Cons
STRAINED WRIST
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy work enviroment,
Lead/Guest Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 27, 2016
My position involves close customer contact, the ability to answer questions, reroute passengers and sell tickets, monitor bus schedule and driver assignments. I need to monitor departures and arrivals, load and unload buses as necessary and complete paperwork to help monitor arrivals and departures.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managers
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 17, 2016
the manager is insane. There is always conflict and managers don't care. One in particular is violent. This is a very bad place to try to work. Our station is located in a crack wxxxx infected area and ive seen shooting and muggings. Management does not care at all.
Pros
none
Cons
short or no breaks, getting physically and verbally abused by managers etcx
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company,Great Opportunities for Career Enhancement.
Bus Operator / Lead Customer Service. (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 1, 2016
Job could be very demanding at times due to fact you are dealing with the General Public at large, folks from ALL walks of life, some with Mental / Physical Disabilities, and with Federally Passed Companion Animals. First and foremost? Customer Service is what Rules Period, You really and truly get to do some wonderful life changing things for folks and feel in heaven afterwards, It is Rewarding Period, Hands Down.
Pros
Rewarding Customer Service.
Cons
Too many people slips between the crack so to speak, and gets left behind by GH-Drivers daily at rest ONLY stops.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can deal with being away from home...
Motor Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 25, 2016
Good money but terrible work/life balance. If you get use to working after 9 hours off you'll be alright. Better than truck driving, you usually get a clean hotel and shower at the end of the day.
Pros
Money, free travel
Cons
Personal life, always short drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJune 8, 2016
I enjoyed Assisting the Different ppl from Around the USA, they had so many storys about there ride on GH. It was A Joy working with my Co-workers. My work hours was the only thing I didnt like.
Pros
I Enjoyed The Experenice
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2016
was fun here. i had a great time with the coworkers and the management there. the only thing that this place didn't really do was pay me well but back then min wage was 7 dollars.
Pros
Great team work, fun
Cons
less then min wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company in constant transition
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 1, 2014
The hardest part of the job was trying to keep all my supervisors and co-workers happy. There was a lot of gossip, primarily from unproductive employees that had been with Greyhound too long. It was definitely unlike any company I had ever been associated with. I had so many positive reviews, yet I was fired for something that was made up by co-workers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was providing effective customer service, and being able to turn an unhappy customer to a happy one.

The hardest part of the job was enduring financial audits when I was accused of stealing funds, and lifting the 50 pound suitcases! And being terminated due to sales being affected by Megabus coming to Nashville.
Pros
free travel benefits, even though i was rarely able to use them.
Cons
inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions,
Bus Driver/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 21, 2016
Good Job, good benefits, good working conditions, Family environment. was there for 43 years. work in 33 states. I liked working here because I enjoyed working with the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly considerate environment
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 13, 2016
Good equipment.
Routes bid on every 6 months after becoming vested.
Free to work the extra board at will.
All personel friendly and professional.
Pros
Fun and challenging job with respect.
Cons
Took a long time to become vested when I was working.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Baggage Handler (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 5, 2016
Greyhound’s iconic brand is synonymous with affordable long distance travel in North America and a unique national network.

Founded in 1914, Greyhound Lines, Inc. is the largest provider of intercity bus transportation, serving more than 3,800 destinations across North America with a modern, environmentally friendly fleet. It has become an American icon, providing safe, enjoyable and affordable travel to nearly 18 million passengers each year in the United States and Canada. The Greyhound running dog is one of the most-recognized brands in the world.

While Greyhound is well known for its regularly scheduled passenger service, the company also provides a number of other services for its customers. Greyhound Package Express service offers value-priced same-day and early-next-day package delivery to thousands of destinations in North America. And the company also offers charter packages for businesses, conventions, schools and other groups at competitive rates.

Greyhound has additional operating entities: BoltBus, serving the Northeast and Western regions of the United States; and YO! Bus, which serves Chinatown markets in the Northeast. In 2010, the company launched its premium city-to-city service, Greyhound Express, and has since quickly expanded the popular service to more than 100 markets across North America. It also operates Greyhound Connect, a service that connects rural communities to larger Greyhound markets in the United States.

In addition, Greyhound has interline partnerships with a number of independent bus lines across the United States. These bus companies
  more... provide complementary service to Greyhound Lines' existing schedules and link to many of the smaller towns in Greyhound Lines' national route system.

Amtrak passengers use Greyhound to make connections to cities not served by rail on Amtrak Thruway service by purchasing a ticket for the bus connection from Amtrak in conjunction with the purchase of their rail ticket. Passengers may also buy a bus ticket directly from Greyhound.

Greyhound is owned by FirstGroup plc, the leading transport operator in the United Kingdom and North America. Its vision: to provide solutions in an increasingly congested world, keeping people moving and communities prospering. With revenues of more than £6.9 billion per annum and about 120,000 employees, the company transports more than 2.5 billion passengers every year.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good career
coach operator is (Current Employee) –  los angeles caSeptember 9, 2015
if you dont have no wife or kids this job is for you because you dont have no problems at home but if you do have kids and wife then is gonna be hard for you not seeing your love ones every day but about management there issues to thats every job you go to no were is perfect .. with workers well you have your good ones and you have your bad ones your typical day is working on your 9 hour fresh time as a extraboard driver .... you make good $$$$
Pros
good money visit different citys
Cons
there is always issues in every work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service/Clerical (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 26, 2016
I'm worked 9 years
7years with Americanos then change name to greyhound, with the same coworkers we are a family
I Learned a lot and I enjoyed work hard helping customers
Pros
everithing liked
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 28, 2016
The first and best job I ever had. The customers were challenging but taught me how to be patient. They rewarded employees for hard work and gave out great gifts on holidays,
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love that job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2016
I love that job the best job I ever had. they always put the customers first and they had excellent team work always appraise the staff to for doing excellent work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and involving.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 17, 2016
I loved this job very much. Meeting new people, taking on new or challenging tasks made the day speed by. The perks and benefits were great, also.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting career
City Manager (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 19, 2016
Whether you a driver or work in the field a career with this company is very fast pace. The 18 years that I worked for this company I never was bored nor did I have to watch the clock.

Time flew by.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Garage Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 27, 2016
Enjoyed working here. Great Team and good working conditions. Kinda miss the place. Sometimes it could be stressful but that was balanced by the good people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 451 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4