Greyhound Employee Reviews

Found 459 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long & short hours
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILApril 15, 2017
When you first start, you're on the extra board. No regular days off. You may work mor Inge, afternoons and nights, because you don't have a regular run. If there's not enough work you can be sent to different states, to work,anywhere from a few days to a few months. Workplace culture quiet. Hardest part is keeping track of your hours for DOT. The most enjoyable part was meeting people.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for greyhound
Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2017
when I started working for greyhound I was happy that I found a job I like. I was happy that I had customers that would come through greyhoumd looking for me to cook their food.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible hole in the wall
Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 11, 2017
rude managers, low pay, not good trainers, marisal was the rudest manager, and she always had an excuse for her bad behavior. The other African American manager was keeping the drugs that where been confiscated by security. Very stressful when imigration officers where always bringing people to transport.
Pros
non
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time job
Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 10, 2017
manage was good, i worked part time. I enjoyed working, good for a starter job to work on your customer service skills. xxxx x x xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for building strong communication skills.
Driver Operator/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 10, 2017
Great company for learning and developing communication skills. Enjoyed my position as Motor Coach Operator and gained valuable driving skills that I continue to use daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotion pickup&delivery service,open accounts,notifying receiving location,upselling priority service&daily direct products
Supervisor Package Express (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 8, 2017
Calculates shipping cost, informs customers, monitors claims, follow up priority service & daily direct products. open new accounts. customer satisfy.
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 8, 2017
Although I might of treated my manager Phil Alan correctly as a driver. He was always great to me and other Associates, as a new manager he had great job and life morals...Was fair and always incredible to talk with..I wish now, I'd never left...
Pros
See the country
Cons
Much time at times a way from family
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Lead Ticket Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 6, 2017
Long hours, fast paced work environment. Can be stressful at times. Can also be very fulfilling work, if you enjoy helping people. Interesting and diverse group of employees.
Pros
Free travel on the bus
Cons
long hours during peak periods
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Headache
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 4, 2017
They job is very stressful and is really meant for people who do not want a career. You are overworked and underpaid. Part time workers work harder than the full time workers. The employees are too comfortable at their job and do not take it seriously.
Pros
Free bus trips four times a year
Cons
no raises for great performance
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay job
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 30, 2017
A day in greyhound depending upon the position is very hectic. Management are far more worse than the customers. There's alot of favoritism in this place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you love pepol and driving then you will love this job
Motor Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 26, 2017
great place to work and meet people and see the country. money not bad the pepol you meet are amazing. the drivers you meet from other city are great pepol to talk to they see all the different places . the training is so outstanding till once drive your own vehicle you understand what you were doing wrong or right
Pros
you are mostly your own boss
Cons
some times handling peopls personality can be trying
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 26, 2017
ITs a fun job where you communicayte with people everyday. You are responsible for luggage and packages. You are responsible for money being counted and also you have to ship items to and from.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad Place To Work
Ticket Agent (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 15, 2017
If you like too kiss *ss, this is the perfect place to work. I love the customers but feel sorry they have to rely on such an unreliable bus company. Most of the management are childish and rude. If you like to gossip, talk about people, be lied to please apply.
Pros
In Oakland
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 14, 2017
Needs improvement with management. The location needs staffing and a little more organization. I enjoyed working there for 5 years. I learned a lot working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 13, 2017
greyhound is a large company that has a lot of room for growth. it is now unionized and is even better than before. It offers great benefit and a retirement plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with customers and meeting they needs
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 10, 2017
I love helping people and communicating with my customers. I learned a lot with this company such as how many people travel everyday. Everybody who I worked with was a team player and we all loved our job. I am a people's person so I get along with everybody and I love engaging with my customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 10, 2017
The company is good place to work you just have to have great customer service skill and a lot of patience to deal with different people . The management team is always there to help you succeed in achieving your goals
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life in this job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 9, 2017
Work is not safe in my opinion, they can call on you every nine hours from the time you log in to your destination. So if it takes an hour to get to the hotel and another hour to eat shower and get to bed and then wake up to be at the terminal or station again on time. You are driving on about five to six hours of sleep most of the time, and we are on call 24/7 365 days of the year.
Pros
decent pay not great
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace and great environment to have successful career
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2017
I worked plenty of hours and traveled to different areas in US and Canada. You learn a lot from them with customer care and traveling. Have great management in the locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great locations
Bus operator (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 5, 2017
Working for greyhound is good but could be more organized with locations and pay for example if you work in Philadelphia, stick to the locations assigned. Instead we go further and further. Remember we have families to get back to. A job is supposed to be fun and enjoyable, getting to the pay now ! We have to find a way to stop chasing our money meaning drivers Call every time there a delay, bump off run ,two many nights in hotel, deadheads etc what's wrong with one flat rate? Now the bus cleaners needs a little boost in pay too times are hard for sure now .but,, NO CUSTOMER would want to begin to ride a dirty bus ..dirty bus equals no greyhound.and no greyhound is a problem, so give credit where credit is due. It's due to the cleaners because its first impression. So pay the cleaners a descent pay so that people would really enjoy greyhound. And hire managers that really know the meaning of a workplace fun and enjoyable. Not miserable and slave driven like pharoah and Moses days.
Pros
Managers really need to respect the people they hire.
Cons
Easy to get fired beware
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greyhound. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 562 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

67%
137 ratings
Add your rating