Find companies:
Greystar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Greystar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Underpaid
Property Accountant (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 29, 2014
Pros: only pro is that you work from home every other friday, but you work longer and harder if possible, then you do in the office.
Cons: everything
Working for Greystar the workload is undo-able in a 40 hr week. To make your deadlines you have to work from home and on your weekends. You are underpaid with comparison to the market salary and with regard to the excessive workload. Management is only looking out for themselves and when bonus time comes around they low ball your bonus in order to increase – more... their bonus. I would not recommend working here as management's tactics are to bully and intimidate you to get what they want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Leasing Professional (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 28, 2014
Served as Leasing professional on a 13 member team, at a community with 427 units and 600+ residents in the highly coveted Galleria area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company, had great benefits, and wonderful customer service.
Leasing Agent (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: only a 30 minute lunch break
Typical day at work required opening the office, displaying cookies and beverage for our clients, check email, answer phones, upload residents information into the gate systems, created leases, signed contracts, scheduled appointments with vendors, walk properties.

That company taught me a lot. They taught me so much, and trained me on how to move – more... up in the company. My co workers were wonderful and amazing, outgoing and very sincere.

The hardest part of the job was to approve a client for a property due to their background or the amount of how much the rent was.

The most enjoyable time of my day was communicating with the clients and most of all, loving my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greystar Review
Sales Manager/ Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 22, 2014
Greystar provided me with great benefits and a sensational property manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greystar is the largest 3rd party property management company in the industry for a reason.
Leasing Professional /Director of Communications (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 8, 2014
Pros: meet great people as coworkers, residents and networking opportunities
Cons: not being able to stray from a legally binding contract, changing situations that fit the residents needs
To date, Greystar has over 20 apartment communities in the Triangle area in their portfolio and that number has no end in sight. They not only adhere to the owners requests for profitability but also abide by their own 6 pillar concept to hire and educate their team so as a whole we can be the best we can be.

A typical day in property management starts – more... with people. Residents are number one and need to be listened to, responded to and treated with respect. Vendors are our business partners and to be productive and successful, an open line of communication is required and established.

The hardest part of property management is having to put aside your emotions and moral stance for the legal side of the business. For example, having to file eviction on a family who has fallen on hard times by no fault of their own, sickness, job loss, etc. As part of human nature, we want to be able to help them just like we would want others to help us if we were in that situation. Unfortunately, as much as we are neighbors and a community, it is also a business.

Which goes into why I love my job and what I do. I help people find a home, make a home and share in their joys and struggles. We become family not only as an office team but as a community as a whole, We watch them get married, get promotions, have children and as bitter sweet as it is, buy homes and move on. This is just one of the many examples of what makes me enjoy what I do. Every day and every person I talk to that day makes it different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience!
Leasing Professional (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 1, 2014
Greystar is a great company in general, my personal boss is a great person but maybe needs some work on her managing skills. I Iike Greystar as a company and If I didn't have bigger dreams then this would be an amazing career. If you are looking to move up in this company all you need to do is talk yourself up and all the work you do and make it seem – more... like you do the impossible. Which is actually sometimes true when you are dealing with some residents. Of course this company has flaws, most companies do. However Greystar does its best to move people up within the company and also pays pretty decent. However I am no longer interested in leasing, I have dreams much larger then that. Property management is a great field of work for someone who wants a good paying job and doesn't want to further their education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn inter-office dynamics while promoting product/service to prospects
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 23, 2014
I currently work for Greystar which is a project management organization for apartment complexes. One of the most difficult aspects about this job is trying to stay proficient in daily tasks with repeated stops to help residents and potential residents. I thoroughly enjoy trying to help people to find a home that fits their needs while making sure that – more... the property stays on the trending edge to draw in new residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somebody needs to do something about this!
Property Manager (Current Employee), FloridaMarch 12, 2014
Pros: cant think of one
Cons: pick a topic
Greystar is not what I thought it was. Maybe in the beginning they had a "Mission" but the bigger they got the more lost they became. Very abusive to employees on so many levels. They have the definitions backwards in their minds when it comes to proactive and reactive. How they sleep at night the way they destroy good people's lives that give above – more... and beyond. I have heard way too late what I wish I had know before I joined GS. Is GS blind in what is going on in their regions or just evil? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dissatifying work environment
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee), Westminster, COFebruary 24, 2014
I didnt like the management end of it the way she handled things were very confortational.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with a High Energy Goal Oriented Staff
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits and incentives, high energy team, excellent office work environment
Cons: sometimes residents can be very unpleasant
I loved working for Greystar! As a Leasing Professional I was able to interact with a large number of people on a daily basis from residents, to prospective residents, to contractors etc. Our team was very goal oriented and we often had competitions within the office to see who would get the most leases each month. Usually, at the end of the month, – more... the winner would be treated to lunch. I really liked the fact that we were able to make our own schedules. Meaning that we could decide which 5 days we worked and which 2 days we had off each week. My coworkers were all very close and we worked hard as a team to meet our monthly leasing goals and to do all that we could to give great customer service to our residents and our guests. Greystar offers great health and vacation benefits and the bonus structure is very pleasing as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
PostgreSQL DBA (Former Employee), WashingtonDecember 6, 2013
Productive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive – more... and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work placeProductive and Fun work place – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST management company I've ever worked with.
Community Manager (Current Employee), GeorgiaDecember 4, 2013
Pros: great insurance, great employer, great co-workers
Cons: none!
Greystar doesn't micromanage you or set unrealistic goals. The training is exceptional and they always make sure you understand what's expected.

They treat employees like people and instead of working for them, you work with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Maintenance tech (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 7, 2013
wasnt there long enough to get full opinion to be objective.
people were friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Property Management Company
Assistant Community Manager/Leasing Manager (Former Employee), Houston TX & Rosenberg, TXOctober 26, 2013
I absolutely enjoyed my tenure with Greystar this is a very large company that still offers that feeling of family. They are wonderful at training their team members to be the best as they want you to grow with them personally and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working enviroment
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Marietta, GASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: needed office supplies
Cons: more marketing materials
Review all need follow ups and prepare for a produtive day. To retreive the needed tools to maintain traffic from marketing. Good management, always prepared the staff. A hard working team. Not enough supplies to present to the prospects. Helping people find a home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company can work any where in the US
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 27, 2013
Pros: medical, 401k
Cons: number crunchers, upper management not so family oriented.
Love the property, my role, and every aspect of the job. Very little flexibility, advancement is predictable depending on who you are connected with in the company. Honesty, loyalty is overlooked. Very unhappy at current property.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Leasing Professional (Current Employee), MarylandAugust 15, 2013
Wish pay was higher and shorter distance to get to work. Great people and culture is wonderful!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company
Property Manager (Current Employee), Washington DCAugust 6, 2013
I've been in the industry for 20 years and Greystar is by far the best property management company I've worked for. Lots of training, great corporate and regional support, wonderful work/life balance, and advancement opportunities across the country. The company offers excellent compensation and an aggressive bonus structure. I love, love, love Greystar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Leasing Agent/Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), jacksonvile, flJuly 9, 2013
great people, great place to work, expects top performance, felexible and good compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), HoustonJuly 8, 2013
I started my first leasing job with Grey Star. I was working at a property and the Owner of Beeler Properties heard about me so they came & asked me to work for them at all their new construction properties.