Grinnell College Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment of student athletes
Student Athlete (Current Employee) –  Grinnell, IAMay 11, 2017
Students at Grinnell College are offered work study. I worked in the athletic buildings. The Welcome Desk and Fitness center have desks where workers sit and swipe membership cards. We had to coordinate sub shifts with other workers and supervise what happened in the athletic centers. Some people did not show up to their shifts or request subs for their shifts. The job is overall very easy. The supervisors allow us to do homework as long as we pay attention to everything that goes on and provide a welcoming face to the facilities.
Pros
Could do homework, listen to music
Cons
Students are not the most reliable workers always
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Work Study
Student Advisor (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAJuly 4, 2016
The college work-study environment is exactly what it is. A fine balance between academics and work. Since academics are a priority, the campus jobs are accommodating of the academically rigorous environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job
Head of Statistics and Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAJune 4, 2016
My job at Grinnell College was to be in charge of statistics and on field workers for all home football games. I was given the freedom to choose my employees and place them where I felt they would perform best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I plan to continue my position with Grinnell College. Have taught there for 23 years now.
Applied Music Associate/Faculty (Current Employee) –  Grinnell, IAMay 31, 2016
I get to teach highly intelligent undergraduate students at a variety of pianistic levels from beginning to advanced.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually Rich
Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellow (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAOctober 13, 2015
Good environment for students to pursue both a rigorous education and professional growth. Liberal-arts style curriculum encouraged holistic development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAAugust 22, 2015
Stress level can be high. Communication across the campus is not good, but they continue to work on it. It is a very interesting place to work. You have to adapt to the culture. If you lean more liberal it will be easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Hindi Online Course Developer and Peer Educator (Former Employee) –  GrinnellFebruary 15, 2015
I created the hindi module that is used to teach students interested in hindi now. It was a great learning experience, and I learned a lot of skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Call-In Security Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IASeptember 3, 2014
Great job. I was able to help students and I learned a lot about student safety on a college campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, stressful atmosphere
Alumni Relations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grinnell, IowaJuly 22, 2014
This has been a great place to work, daily challenges, great co-workers.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Stressful, large employee turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is challenging and different then the day before. It is exciting to know that you will not be doing the same routine
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Grinnell.IA. 50112November 20, 2013
Cooperation is a major part of the duties. All Departments must work together to accomplish the task and to assist the students in becoming the leades of tomorrow
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report

Want to know more about Grinnell College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest Designer
Scenic Designer (Former Employee) –  GrinnellMarch 13, 2013
Easy going environment and fun co-workers. Strong encouragement of a work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for part-time workers
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAJanuary 21, 2013
Wonderful work environment for part-time employees who are also students of the college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grinnell College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Grinnell College Reviews by Location