Grocers Supply Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Tote Off Loader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2018
The Management is poor. They do not care about their employees. Grocers Supply will over work you. They also have poor working conditions. It would always leak throughout the building.
Pros
free lunch from time to time
Cons
management, conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and challenging work place perfect for the active person
Order selector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2017
great opportunity to get into physical shape and will gain a tremendous amount of integrity for the hard worker in you and will build mental toughness
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Supervisor of Printing Services, and AP/AR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 30, 2017
Grocers was the longest help position, I ever had. I worked there for thirteen years. I must admit,I miss my Grocers family sometimes.
However it was very stressful at times,being the Supervisor,Bookkeeper and the main print operator. But I seem to make it work!
Pros
Co workers Compensation Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job had pong pong
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXOctober 16, 2017
I liked this job trying to go back asap it very cold in some parts and very hot in other spots most of the time u work alone at your own pace but faster uyou work the sooner you can go home its always work to do i seen 18 hours fays at this place
Pros
Easy laid back job
Cons
No cut off time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict attendance policies
Outbound Receiving & Shipping Auditor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 7, 2017
I started as an auditor. Then they got rid of all the auditors and tried to move my position to sanitation. Which was literally an insult to my intelligence.
Pros
2 days paid orientation
Cons
high turn around rate with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente laborar divertido
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 5, 2017
Desde que entré a trabajar me sentí muy cómodo con los compañeros y supervisores en el trabajo todos te alludan y se preocupan por que se haga bien el trabajo , la razón que me llevo a dejar mi puesto de empleo fue las frecuentes inundaciones que ocurren en el estado de Texas
Pros
Seguro médico y dental para sus trabajadores
Cons
Malos equipamientos de trabajo
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced drivers and fast paced training
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2017
Be ready and prepared to get day started. Paid by the load so you want to get done quick and on to the next load. Ask before you leave about stops you haven't delivered to. Not as simple as it seems to pull up to the back of the stores. More driving than anything if going out of town.
Pros
home everyday
Cons
Mandatory out of town on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment and friendly workers.
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Grocery Supply is a good provider of benefits and pay. The employees are good people and hard workers. Most of the management are willing to work with you and train you. Overall a good environment.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours and overworked. Always run the risk of being terminated for not running at a 100 % rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not drive for them
Cdl driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2017
The only reason for some stars is becuz they are some realy good people i met here im real driver with experience not no out of college school like they like to hire cuz they dont knoe no better this company will promise u money nope all night work they act like they train they realy dont want u they throw in a truck and they wonder why rookies wreck their new equitment all work isdispatched at 1am-3 am till 4-5 pm 6 days a week u wont make more than 800 a week theirs guys 8 years makin 950 a week smh wat. Shame u will have too work pull some heavy imean heavy pallets u cant even move n they will fire u for any little thing all i can say too Any driver this will be ur mistake commin here
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does not care about empployes
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 11, 2017
management does not care does not care about employee moral. you will work long days because you don't have the needed material to complete your job
Pros
lots of work
Cons
they never have what is need to complete job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 10, 2017
Grocers Supply is not a good place to work. All their equipment to provide for their driver does not work. They try to over work their drivers as if they don't have a life. The staff work in a hot warehouse where you see mice, large rats and cats where the food is stored. The product is not stock correctly for the drivers to deliver to the store and product is always damage. Put AC in the warehouse and maybe the warehouse people can work better. I suggest these people to listen to their employees from the drivers to the staff in the warehouse. Do not work here. Like they said its a revolving door they can not keep anyone.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Horrible place and do not take care of their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fair place to work.
Driver,Forklift Certified(company certification) (Former Employee) –  3131 E. Holcombe Houston TxJune 16, 2017
Grocers Supply pays a fair wage and a good chance to advance in the company. They offer financial help with furthering your education and financial reimbursement for any out of pocket expenses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly managed
Order Selector/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 13, 2017
The grocers supply doesn't really value their employees. Everyone is expendable to the company. They also doesn't offer good enough benefits for a job that demands such intense labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 31, 2017
Provided retail for grocers all through southeast Texas and Western Louisiana. Start loading 18- wheeler trucks early every morning. Had to be finished in processing before end of shift
Pros
Work was complete when done daily
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Commercial Transport Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 25, 2017
Typical day at work. Show up around 2-3am ti pick up work orders and pre-loaded trailer. Spend the next 12-14 hours driving all over East Texas or West Louisiana making deliveries.

I learned that they really don't care about employees there.

The management was terrible.
Culture was terrible.
Pay was terrible
Hardest part of job was no set schedule. You learned of your next work shift day to day. Never knew if you would be required to be gone overnight or ability to plan ahead to spend time with your family. x

most enjoyable part? Quitting to work somewhere else
Pros
No pros
Cons
Everything mentioned above
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Expirience
Sales Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 20, 2017
The departments are great. They interlock and you are able to learn a lot of things from different departments. Management is good an most managers have been there for a long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok for the mean time
Packing Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 15, 2017
Its an ok company to work for. management is up to part in everything they do but for the job we had to do I feel like the people and I were getting under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was sold
Sr Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 9, 2017
Old school, family-owned wholesale distribution company that didn't quite make it to the 21st century. Professional management was hired but in the end, the family ended up selling the company. Another SAP casualty.
Pros
Old guard people were nice once they trusted you.
Cons
Professional management was unsuccessful in positioning the company for another 90 years of success
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production workplace
Forklift Operatorshipping and receiving (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2017
Every mornig before work start meeting ralk about safety. Work different amount of hours each day. Each day different. Learn how to operate forklift workkng for shipping and receiving. What i like is receiving 3 days off. My dislike is working less hours a weak not getting my full 40 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service/Sales
Service/Sales (Current Employee) –  HoustonMarch 27, 2017
Second go around wwith this company. The hours and flexibility are great. I have learned a lot and utilize those learning curves to promote sales. When sales are down, things get rough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grocers Supply. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 113 reviews
532
429
331
210
111

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture