Group 1 Automotive Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Grind
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 13, 2017
Car sales is not easy. While I thoroughly enjoyed working with most of management, truth be told, I'd rather work for a smaller family owned operation than a large corporate one such as Group 1.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for beginners tech.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MASeptember 11, 2017
You learn good as hourly because all the good work goes to hourlys "they need to learn" Once you become flats rate good luck. Talking about Lexus Danvers.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Not enough work. They pick and choose. No help if you get stuck in diagnoses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Toyota - Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CASeptember 6, 2017
No work life balance. The management there was horrendous. Scheduling was always released late which made it nearly impossible for clients to schedule appointments.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Bad management, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Sales (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, CASeptember 4, 2017
This company claims to be publicly traded but operates like the mob GMs run their stores like a gang and HR is off site don't make the mistake of setting foot in one of their stores
Pros
None
Cons
Run run run
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management staff and advancement opportunities
INVENTORY/BILLING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 29, 2017
Group 1 Automotive was an exceptional place to work. My manager was very fair and understanding and they were good about acknowledging and rewarding the efforts of their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, Relaxed
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasAugust 27, 2017
There is a lot of room for advancing in the company with all of the acquisitions that are happening. On the high-line side there is great pay with an easy schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 25, 2017
Customer service, in a high volume inbound call center. Chance of advancement in due time.
Hardest part of the job is disgruntle customers if you can not handle customer service.
Pros
Great location
Cons
mandatory 30 minute lunches if call volume is high
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized!!
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bmw midtownAugust 23, 2017
Turn around is horrible! More about numbers than customer service. Staff is not friendly and does not seem like a friendly environment. Customers feel inconvenient and as a matter of fact there is no customer service.
Pros
Free lunch dor employees on saturdays
Cons
Rarely get a lunch and expected to take your work home with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of culture
Schedule Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2017
The employees were amazing, management not so much. The managers were unnecessarily picky. The pay was not enough for the stress that employees went through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Netstar administrator (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, CAAugust 17, 2017
The place is always clean, all the coworkers are always friendly, they pay attention to your needs and concerns, parking is available, daily lunch truck.
Pros
Parking
Cons
Nothing to eat close by
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 16, 2017
Group 1, well actually Ira Motor Group when I began to work there in December 1998, was a great place to work. I was there for almost 13 years and learned a lot through my time with them. I left due to my pregnancy with my now 6 old twins. I was in the main accounting office when I left to go on maternity leave. In the meantime, the accounting office was centralized down in Houston Texas, which made it impossible for me to return back with the company after my maternity leave.
Pros
Great place to work, excellent learning experience.
Cons
Accounting office was centralized down in Houston Texas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Manager
General Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2017
Was a great place to work but the only focus now is on the bottom line with no regard for employee's,. I would not suggest working here is you want a career path or job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Title Clerk (Current Employee) –  accounting officeAugust 7, 2017
I worked hard everyday. Scan in documents, make copies, do deposit. I did title work and made sure to get payment form financial institutions. I worked with tag offices to handle getting the title work completed for the customer.Very laid back atmosphere. I learn a great deal. I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 1, 2017
If you are not part of the "clique" advancement is non existent, not matter your experience and abilities.

Compny has different levels of expectations for different races.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handling Leads to setup appointments to purchase cars
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 28, 2017
Started off as an agent that took inbound phone calls and also iLeads with the intent to setup an appointment for the dealership to sell the car.

Current position I oversee a team and their work, and I also help to disperse the leads that come in and make sure they are answered in a timely manner
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad bad place
asst manager (Former Employee) –  Egg Harbor Township, NJJuly 28, 2017
Just a bad bad bad place to work - do not ask for management they are all overworked and under paid. the turnover is unbelievable, They can't keep good people
Pros
free lunch on sat
Cons
bad place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great business
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2017
Family oriented business that looks out for their workers. Their pay compared to other stores is great as well as employee benefits. If you get a job here keep it
Pros
Great management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2017
fast paced environment, Learned to assist customers with their specific needs for their vehicles.
Management was always assisting the employees handling calls.
sometimes customers had issues with their services and we made sure their needs were met.
Hearing back from the customers that are satisfyed
Pros
free refreshments
Cons
unsatisfied customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Internet Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 25, 2017
If you're used to car sales its fine. if you're not don't work here. Managers are inappropriate, other employees are rude, they don't actually give you the spiffs you earn all the time, they fire at the drop of a hat. I got out before they could even think of firing me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center for Automobile Servicing
Service Coordinator / Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 14, 2017
This is far the worst job but it is a call center at an agent level so not much is to be expected. This place has its benefits given there is a rather easily attainable bonus but it is often dangled in front of you with changing hoops occasionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Group 1 Automotive. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8