Find companies:
Group Health Cooperative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

Group Health Cooperative United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Diabetes Nurse Educator (Current Employee), Madison, WIApril 8, 2015
Pros: free CME
Cons: time, too demanding
This Job demanded too much time with out allowing time to chart or focus on patient care. It was all about increased productivity and that came at the expense of the patient and their family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable changes
tech (Current Employee), Seattle, WAApril 1, 2015
Very uncomfortable right now. Changes that put patient care and safety at risk. Management is less that desirable. Not sure if it's pressure from above or don't care anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work is rewarding, coworkers are great
Patient Care Representative (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 31, 2015
The work is rewarding, coworkers are great. the management is lacking in trust. they pair people together that don't work well together then blame others when their are problems. the patients and doctors suffer because of their decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inflexible
RN (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 31, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: bloated salaries of management
Dismal job security and advancement
non existent work and life balance
compensation does not match rising prices in Seattle and surrounding area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging position
Patience Access Representative (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 30, 2015
Pros: good people working with you!
Cons: uncertain future with all the cutbacks and rearranging of jobs.
As a patient access rep your day is busy. From checking in patients for their appointments to scheduling them for new ones. We also go over their billings if they have questions. I treat each patient as an individual with certain needs and problems. We also interact to a certain degree with the providers and nurses helping them coordinate patients issues. My fellow co-workers are great and very understanding. Sometimes it's hard when we can't accommodate a patient into a certain time frame. It creates challenges for both us and the patient. There are times when the job can be enjoyable too though. This can occur when we get praise from a patient for helping them out. It makes you feel like you did something important for the individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I work with are great however management and leadership are another story.
Lead, Patient Access Representative (Current Employee), Seattle areaMarch 19, 2015
The company no longer cares about the employees, and are doing everything they can to treat them poorly and they do not moral is suffering. They treat everyone like they are not worth the cost of employing them however when cutting cost they never cut the pay of upper leaders nor do they pass on their bonuses that they get each year. They are driving away employees and they do not feel bad when those that have been there for 10 or more years are let go or if they leave due to miss treatment. It used to be a great place to work but now it is just sad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate, loyal and hard-working
Provider Services Consultant (Former Employee), Spokane, WAMarch 18, 2015
Pros: opportunity to work in an environment where i felt i made a difference
Cons: being laid off due to staff reduction
The last twenty years I worked as a provider services consultant. I was assigned to about 200 physician offices and was liaison between these offices and the health plan. I developed and maintained a strong working relationship with these offices. I handled more complex issues when offices could not get resolution from customer services or they needed their issue elevated because it involved a patient needing care. I generally had to involve multiple departments to resolve their issues. I prioritized my work on the urgency of each call. Being a creative problem solver and having excellent interpersonal skills was key. I was passionate about my work and took great pride in resolving issues and working in a team environment. Prior to transferring to provider services, I managed a medical center in Coeur d' Alene with 5 providers and 20 staff. The most difficult part of managing people was to keep them all motivated and passionate about their work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get care and a great place to work.
Human Resources (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 10, 2015
A great place to work with many smart and dedicated colleagues, who are passionate about providing high-quality care to patients. Rich career opportunities in both care delivery and insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of my job
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee), Port Orchard, WAMarch 8, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: changes in my job.
The most enjoyable part of my job was successfully helping patients. I have learned many things in the years that I have spend working for Group Health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable first exposure for a foothold in entry-level administration
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: entrusted with handeling the larger volume window, contributing to fast learning
Cons: joined at a time of massive company changes, witnessed a lot of frustration within company
Working for GHC has been an interesting opportunity to dive head-first into a company going through an extensive life-cycle switch. While very much towards the bottom of the management structure, I was able to understand the relationship managers had with their employees, and how patients were perceiving the change from within. A lot of my take-aways were things I did not see as conducive to building a strong company culture, and taught me things that ought not be done when employees and patients are already disgruntled.
Additionally, being the youngest employee to the group had stark comparisons in terms of how I was treated, in relation to the "veteran" employees. This comparison also extended to work ethic and the manner in which I interacted with management. Saying such, not all interactions were positive, but I have been able to understand standing culture and how to integrate my skills to complement the existing skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Corporate Learning.
Survey Interviewer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: corporate skills and knowledge.
Cons: short breaks, and average healthcare.
The management was average good way to start up a career in the call center business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sinking ship
Rep (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything else
Leadership is top down when they have no idea how to do the work.

Don't care about their people, only the bottom line. If you've been there 25 years and make $xxx and someone else has only been there 3 years and makes $x, guess who gets let go? Yup, the person who has been there 35 years because they make more $.

Compensation stinks, but benefits are amazing.

Supervisors play favorites and will promote someone they socialize with outside of work versus someone who is more qualified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviornment
Human Resources Processing Manager (Former Employee), Seattle, WaJanuary 20, 2015
Fast pace environment. Friendly co-workers and flex-work arrangements. Deadline driven company with lots of exciting projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a lot of potential
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee), bellevue, waJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: great benefits, good pay, long breaks
Cons: union
Great place to work, but the union seniority creates a work environment where the employees become less focused on the patient/customer care. I think there are some really great people there who unfortunately aren't able to succeed as much as they should due to the union. Tenured staff tend to be lazy, entitled and resist change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Group Health
Claim Research & Adjustment Specialist (Former Employee), Tukwila, WAJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: flexible work schedule, good pay
Cons: was told to things i knew were not ethical
until I was told to do things I knew were not ethical. My coworkers were a dedicated group willing to do what needed to be done to get the job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NON STOP CALLS
PBX COMMUNICATIONS OPERATOR (Former Employee), SEATTLE, WASHINGTONJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: x
Cons: x
.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................BUSY SWITCHBOARD OPERATIONS .........................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management fair
RN Team Coordinator (Former Employee), Madison, WIJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: lomg lunch breaks
Cons: micromanagement
good learning opportunities.
opportunity for growth and promotion.
Direct patient care. Telephone triage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties as an Appeals Coordinator
Appeals Coordinator (Current Employee), Tukwila, WAJanuary 6, 2015
Due to my high level performance in my previous role as an Appeals Specialist, not only was I hired as a full time employee. Group Health decided to promote me to my current role as an Appeals Coordinator. This role involves issues that are complex, high profile, precedent setting and include legal and/or risk management issues. Investigations include consultation with Legal, Contracts & Coverage, Membership and coordinating Medical Reviews. Accountable for documenting and resolving appeals at multiple levels, in accordance with numerous and complex state, federal and voluntary regulatory requirements. Must have strong writing skills, ability to problem solve, and critical thought. All investigations and communications are HIPAA compliant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mission is great, the work is challenging, I learn something every day, but the organization is withering.
Information Technology (Current Employee), Seattle, WashingtonJanuary 4, 2015
The entire organization has been undergoing convulsive downsizing for the past several years under the guidance of a steady stream of new short term leadership (example 5 year contracts) who have largely been hired from outside contractor roles. This is completely different from the earlier model where leaders were trained and promoted from within. The result of using short term leaders has been the systematic dismantling of a wonderfully supportive work culture which took decades to build and broken that former glory down to an 'every man for himself' mentality, with new hires being the cheapest that can be found.

The mission is great, the work is challenging, I learn something every day, the pay has been good, but it has become beyond difficult to care for the organization that no longer cares for its people and has not realized that sending so many experienced staff out the door is not the way to be successful.

Over 300 years' collective staff experience was ushered out the door a couple of weeks ago and that was not the biggest termination day. The effect on those who were suddenly deemed unqualified to perform their jobs, as well as on those left behind to carry on working is crushing and unnecessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and work environment
Technical Writer/Trainer, Quality and Controls (Former Employee), spokane, waDecember 30, 2014
Awesome place to work. great people and work environment. great pay and benefits.
Only downside is current reduction in force. Would have given 5 stars for job security if after 18 years of service I was not laid off.

1 2 3 4 5

About Group Health Cooperative

Group Health Cooperative gives new meaning to the term "consumer-driven health care." The organization is a not-for-profit managed – Read more

Group Health Cooperative Salaries

Patient Access Representative
$36,000 per year
Customer Service Representative
$35,000 per year
Patient Access Representative
$16.90 per hour
Therapist
$68,000 per year
Customer Service Representative
$17.50 per hour