Grupo Santander Employee Reviews in United States

Found 82 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn and growth
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRApril 1, 2014
Santander is always one step ahead of their peers. Very conservative bank. Offer a great opportunity to growth as professional.
Pros
great professional opportunities
Cons
long work hours if you want to growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, everything was done in spanish
Intern in Private Banking (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 31, 2014
I would assist private bankers in getting reports and presentations ready for their clients. i would also manage their trips and their expenses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 12, 2014
New Company, not sure if it will be good to work for but it is another large financial institution that is globalized so you will feel like a number instead of a person
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull place, bad competitive people
Internal Collector (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoMarch 9, 2014
Too much stress, not a fun workplace at all. There was very nice people, but not people didn't know what teamwork was.
I learned how to persuade people to have commitment with a payment plan
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Business Analyst
Sr. Banking Systems Analyst (4Sight Technologies) (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 27, 2014
NA - Culturally this place has a lot of work to do. I wouldn't recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and great place to work for, amazing people
Documentation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Miami, FloridaJanuary 30, 2014
My current work environment is an European based cultured, meaning laid back, professional, amiable, and there is always room for improvement. My department is very much team oriented, where everyone has an opportunity to shine and excel. I enjoy my place of employment, there are great colleagues and friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An iternational institution with well known presence
Trust Operations Manager and Senior Auditor (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJanuary 28, 2014
Was a great place to learn about investments, derivatives and other markets. Management was accessible.
Pros
provided opportunity to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place, You can learn and grow in a career
Teller (Former Employee) –  MEXICOJanuary 22, 2014
A regular day at work, serve customers, always smiling, train you every day with new rules on airline, fraud.

Learn about how to manage your money, labor relations, to meet people,
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress company
Non-Compliance, Lead Purchasing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wyomissing, PAJanuary 13, 2014
Not a good comany for work life balance. Also will develop stress in the corporate environment. Lack of communication and no morale.
Pros
hard to find any pros
Cons
high stress, lack of communication, lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overseas
HR Analyst (Former Employee) –  Buenos Aires, BJanuary 4, 2014
the bank does not operates with same name - no comments at this moment - not relevant for this purpose.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Former Employee) –  Reading, PADecember 11, 2013
This Company was an amazing company to grow and learn with. I was introduced right at transition from Sovereign Bank to Santander Bank and it was very informative. Management that I was under was exceptional and the environment was friendly and full of life.
Pros
pay was good, benefits, experience, team building
Cons
distance, information availability
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was very serious
Teller (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PADecember 5, 2013
My typical day at work consisted of me being one of two tellers. The other teller's window would be closed throughout the majority of the day leaving me (the newbie) with all the transactions. I made a lot of mistakes at first, but I learned to correct them.
Pros
i like the pay, and the benefits make it a great job.
Cons
the work environment was horrible, and their sales goals were unreal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Comercial Platform (Current Employee) –  Canóvanas Puerto RicoOctober 27, 2013
A day in my workplace is a challenge because we work with achievable goals and customer service is not easy to perform but I feel passionate about serving and do it with commitment and dedication. Serving is one of the tasks that I love and enjoy doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tons of micromanagement and wasted time
personal banker (Current Employee) –  staten island nyOctober 24, 2013
I spend entirely too much time preparing and reviewing reports, listening to conference calls, and accounting for every minute of my workday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
PAYROLL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Hato Rey, PRSeptember 8, 2013
Check in kronos system employee attendance, prepare reports and payroll. I learned all concerning payroll cycle. Also work in the implementation of People Soft for Time and Attendance, Payroll and Human Reosurces Modules. Assisted to trainings in Chicago and Miami in People Soft and trained supervisors and employees in system usage.
Pros
health insurance, 401k
Cons
no parking for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and good place to work
Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRSeptember 6, 2013
Interact with the customers satisfying their banking needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Business Promotor
New Business Promoter (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRAugust 20, 2013
Responsible for marketing sales of auto loans at different auto dealers
Advice clients on loans, registration and insurance
Maintained monthly and yearly sales statistics
Pros
works directly with buyers and auto dealers.
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Vice President, Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 12, 2013
Opportunities to work on a variety of projects
Opportunities to travel nationally and internationally
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Branch RetailAugust 6, 2013
A typical day starts with a Huddle, planning the day so everybody is aware of their objectives for the day and informing team of any new developments.

...and ends with a 'Cuddle' reviewing the day and achievements and learning from any issues.

Updating visual results

A min of 1 observation/ 1-2-1 meeting

An element of risk supervision

Leading by example and manning branch from the banking hall (for at least an hour daily).

Keeping the queues and transactions short and every body is customer facing at peak times during the day, during that period

Being available to speak and/or serve customers and ensuring they have a good experience throughout the day.

At least a 15 minute lunch break before 11.30 a.m or after 2pm

Reviewing plan for the following day/week.

I learnt that being observant, planning and leading by example is key.

Consistent communication with management.

Being approachable to co-workers and building essential relationships.

Hardest part was when job was mostly sales focused.

Most enjoyable part is the success derived from Succession Planning and knowing that good service is appreaciated.
Pros
opportunities to win rewards for service
Cons
working saturdays till 4pm!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A few great people but the bad outweigh all of the good
Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 8, 2013
Extremely political environment where job security is not based on merit but who you know and which side you play on.
Cons
internal politics, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,719 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture