GUARDIAN BUILDING PRODUCTS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guardian is a honest and fair place to work
manager, I (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KS 66105January 17, 2018
The management at Guardian Building Products care and the company is going through a growing phase and will continue to supersede the competition with the great people that work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJanuary 3, 2018
Very relaxed work environment,excellent management,cares about employees family oriented good upkeep of there equipment. Willing to give time off if needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Coordinator
Accounting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCDecember 20, 2017
I had to process invoices to be paid and match up packing slips. I took calls from other divisions of Guardian to make sure we were charged the correct amount for each order
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits
Cons
There weren't any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management and rediculous daily routine
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, Ma.September 28, 2017
This company is very poorly run. The warehouse manager in Lakeville is a buffoon, rude and seems to be completely un qualified to be in the position he is in. Cooperate management is constantly coming up with reasons to hassle drivers. Daily routine of a driver at this company is ridiculously structured and quite frankly I would never recommend this company to anyone. Pay is low and overtime is not existent. Bottom line is the market right now is a drivers market and their are much better opportunities out there.
Pros
It's a jop.
Cons
Poor management, daily routine is overly structured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCJune 10, 2017
I enjoyed working at Guardian. The accounts payable department worked well as a team and the supervisor was very hands on. Lunch was flexible and the only overtime was at month end.
Pros
Flexible lunch break, nice employees, competitive pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work place
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCJune 6, 2017
Guardian Building Products was a Great place to work I guess because it was just me and the manager working together. When trucks come in we both would unload the trucks together.Using forklift
Pros
Excellent work place Great hott Chocolate
Cons
its was very cold when i worked there plus work got very very slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2017
No communication and terrible logistics. Management had no idea how to run a business. We had no communication, no pricing, but we were expected to sell and take care of our customers.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work and decision making of extending a line of credit to credit worthiness customers
Regional Credit Manager-Northeast and Southwest (Former Employee) –  Headquarter, SCApril 25, 2017
A typical day at work... Orders review for releasing, customer and sales team calls. Many emails and problem solving. Checks and balance of customers account, reconciling taking payments, Collections and credit file review. Credit team of 6 experience associates.
Pros
Not micro manage
Cons
Sitting most of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place that came back from the "abyss"!
Regional VP, SE Region (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2017
Great place where integrity means something! Finding an identity
and on the way to good things! People know that they can succeed with the right emphasis on the right things!
Pros
Good People
Cons
Still a bit confusing with Direct and Warehouse set up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 7, 2017
The job was great I enjoyed working there. The pay went from being really good and decreased over time. They taught me how to operate the forklift and I began comfortable with the equipment.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company overall
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 11, 2017
Guardian Building Products is a strong company with the desire to be better for others and within. Based on your personal professional overall experience, I feel based on that should determine the amount of oversight is really needed. For territory sales managers especially, I do not feel the need for micro-management. This is a position that your experience,relationships, and abilities is why you are hired and should be allowed to do your job.
Pros
Great potential to be a leader in the Building Products Industry
Cons
Micro-Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
SD. Hired as inside sales associate (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, SDNovember 10, 2016
This was a fun and exciting place to work. Always plenty to do especially if you would help outside your job description. Lots of things to do but they consolidated three branches together and now it is struggling environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to be employed.
Cash Manager/Accountant (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCJune 5, 2016
Co-workers were like family. The company changed hands several times. I enjoyed the years I was employed there in accounting and cash management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXMay 23, 2016
Good company to work for they care about there employees and do what they can do to help you grow in the company.If you are looking for a job go to this comany
Pros
Good Copmany
Cons
No on site branch manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAMay 2, 2016
Working with my co-workers was like working with family. When Guardian Building Products purchased CGI Silvercote (company i started with). There were numerous changes. Some for the better and some for the worse. It was a new industry for Guardian.
Pros
Great workers and Management.
Cons
New industry for the company so there is a lot of trial and error.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in the front line trenches. Poor and constant management changes.
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 22, 2016
I personally want to be the best that I can be everyday and add value to my customer and company.
The market base management program I went through with Guardian was invaluable.
Many of my co-workers are great people with a desire to succeed.
Poor and constant management changes.
The win! when you know you have worked hard and closed the deal.
Pros
Big company, lots of buying power.
Cons
Unstable work environment, constant leadership changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement multiculturel agréable.
Sales and Marketing Manager France and Europe (Former Employee) –  Home OfficeFebruary 22, 2016
Forte autonomie et responsabilisation.
Diversité des tâches. Support des équipes américaines.
Pros
Très bon relationnel. Prise de décision.
Cons
Rachat en 2014.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Accounting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCNovember 22, 2015
Guardian was an excellent company to work for. They were very laid back and understood the demands of being a parent as well. It was an individual environment but also could be a team group as well. Excellent benefits with excellent pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fragmented company
employee (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 1, 2015
Building products division was not respected in the company. Systems in place did not allow for visibility and transparency with in the entire organization.
Pros
allowed to work without supervision
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a family atmosphere
Branch Manager/Operations Manager/ (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 31, 2015
Would work for them again, had a fun time in Seattle operating that branch and working with my employees, also the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GUARDIAN BUILDING PRODUCTS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

GUARDIAN BUILDING PRODUCTS Reviews by Location