Guardian Life Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 239 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time and enjoyable
Part time Benefits Enroller (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 10, 2017
Great products to represent and people to work with. I represent Guardian during open enrollments for health benefits and work out of my home, traveling to Guardian clients' workplaces for meetings.
Pros
I can name when I want to work
Cons
Work is not often available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work but a great company
Financial Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 8, 2017
I didn't work for them personally for long but my father has been a General Agent for 20+ years and its a fantastic company all around. From the top down it is an excellent company and gives great returns to its policyholders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company.
Sales Agent and Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 7, 2017
It was a very kick back environment and love the people I worked around, I was not cut out to sell insurance so I did not stay but only two years.. But fun experience anyway.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack Good Managers
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2017
Managers do not know how to communicate to their staff
There is no work/life balance
Tho' we get to work from home, we work more hours because there in no balance in workload.
Pros
work from home option
Cons
work weekends, bad managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working place
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMarch 27, 2017
Company values and culture were excellent. Along with benefits and wages.
A lot of variety for different opportunities are offered, but is very difficult to change departments.
Management is not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a decent place to work.
Mainframe Developer (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMarch 25, 2017
Day to day work environment was good. In later years with the company in my position, project completion dates became unrealistic. The unrealistic completion dates required a great deal of work outside office hours.
Pros
Excellant Benefits
Cons
Project completion dates became more and more unrealistic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work driven atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAMarch 13, 2017
I worked in Woodland Hills so it was always a rush to get there on time. The day would consist of working on excel charts, writing board minutes, notarizing various documents, writing minutes to weekly meetings, updating financials and correspondence.
Pros
The staff was very nice
Cons
It was too far away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management worked hard to help employees
Benefits Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMarch 10, 2017
Most management was great to work with. It is a larger company who cared to much about the bottom line and not the customer at times. co workers are supportive
Pros
Benefits, coworkers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Services company
Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 7, 2017
Retirement plan services was not their core business. The company lacked the commitment to serving the retirement plan marketplace. Focus more on the insurance business, group benefits and individual business.
Pros
Flexible work schedule, telecommuting for some positions
Cons
Lack of growth opportunities in the retirement plan space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People / Disorganized Management Team
Benefit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXMarch 5, 2017
I think the environment is very welcoming and open however the management team needs help to figure out goals and how to achieve those.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent short term learning environment
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAFebruary 27, 2017
Positive atmosphere where an individual can gain extensive knowledge related to the insurance industry. There are more opportunities for later movement versus advancement.
Yearly salary raises don't ever reflect the employees good performance review. Employees are usually very under paid.
Pros
Learning environment
Cons
Very low salary compensation regardless of history or work ethic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company to work for
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 27, 2017
I worked for this company and there were several complaints with regards to explicit derogatory treatment toward employees from owner. Furthermore, it was a hostile work environment. Therefore, company was shut down by corporate after extensive investigation.
Pros
pays salary for commissioned based job
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very challening job. Compensation was fair.
Case Installation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIFebruary 22, 2017
Appreciate the flexibility employees had to manage appointments and work without utilizing vacation.

The last several years was difficult as they were preparing to off-shore jobs and downsize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience with Guardian.
Technology Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2017
I worked for Guardian since May of 2010. Its a tremendous opportunity to work with such a client for long duration.

I appreciate Guardian work culture and the client have always been supportive.

At times, it has been slightly tough due tough deadlines, but we have managed to deliver projects on time.

Thanks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there
Remote Disability Income Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 31, 2017
After company merged, worked remotely for 10 years and enjoyed my position. The company was up in Berkshire and allowed me to remain in NY. Went through 3 different manager and worked with a team of about 6 others all at Berkshire. Travelled quartely to Berkshire for team meetings
Pros
Loved what I did
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and fun place to work
Regional Sales Support Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2017
Appropriately staffed in all functional areas. There was always a feeling that management considered and provided appropriate tools and training to develop staff menbers for the respective roles in which they performed and als ensured that goals were attainable and expectations were realistic. This allowed emplyees the confidence that management cared and thus a place to want to work. Additionally, morale was always high as management also ensured that there was time away from the job site, for employees to participate in annual compnay wide picnic and special holiday events at christmas.
Pros
Company Subidized lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific company
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2017
Great firm.

Life insurance is a tough sell, but it is essential and these folks truly go the extra mile for their clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company to work for
Budget & Expense Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2017
Overall good boss but lots of hostility among top management. Good learning and advancement opportunities abound. OK with workload and deadlines, friendly coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Intake Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJanuary 16, 2017
Within the 17 plus year of employment at Guardian it was very rewarding. Company have wonderful benefit and compensation packages. Advancement opportunities. Respectful and fairness toward all employees regardless your positions. The only down fall is that they began to outsource the job position from the past 7 years.
Pros
advancement opportunity
Cons
Outsourcing jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not job security and low compensation
Intake Analyst (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJanuary 16, 2017
the salary is very slow and there is no job security. mandatory overtime during most of the year. the job itself provides some kind of freedom, however they keep most employees as temps and they end their assignment suddenly without previous notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guardian Life Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 274 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

71%
73 ratings
Add your rating

Guardian Life Insurance Company Reviews by Location