Find companies:
Guardian Security Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Guardian Security Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guardian Security
Security Officer (Former Employee), Northlake IlJune 24, 2014
Pros: freeedom
Cons: no benefits.
Log in, verify outbound trucks and their bill of lading. Log inbound/outbound truck traffic and visitors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Southfield, MIFebruary 18, 2014
The Team at this company Always Make sure that you receive 40 or more, they also have great Site to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very mobile job.
PATROL OFFICER (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: mobility
Cons: stressful at times trying to be at different accounts on time.
Guardian Security Systems was a very high profile active job. It required a lot of driving to and from various accounts. There was no predictability or routine during a shift. The staff and management were very caring and operated more as a family type atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure buildings that was on contract
Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2013
Pros: quick assignments for a long duration
Cons: supervisors were blinded by power
Show up and do assigned job. The hardest part of the job were employees called off all the time and no one could find a filler. The most enjoyable part of the job were my co workers we became a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attentive and Caring Facility
Security Officer (Former Employee), ILMay 7, 2013
I enjoyed working here in the office and with families. I recieved most of my office skills from here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Standard company on the outside, but inside garbage as hell
Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago,ILJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: slightly higher pay
Cons: everything else, non union, nimrod acting bosses.
Upon working for these idiots the last 3 years, my idea of this company completely change. On the outside looking in to be hired you are thinking this is a very professional company with values and integrity. But when you are actually employed with these nimrods, you realized you made a mistake. I have several issues with them. If you try to call of – more... work, you have to call off with a 16 hour window. Ok, but when you call in the Dispatcher usually reject your call off and try to force you to work even when you are calling off sick. So now if you do manage to call off the time frame dont meet the 16 hour window and you are made to come to work regardless of having surgery,throwing up whatever. It's like you have to come to work dead sick and pass out before some compassion to be layed upon you. My next issue is request time off. It's like it's impossible to do so. You have to try to switch days with a co worker, and they act like they never have enough people to cover your shift. They keep getting new accounts because they under bid the union pay security firms and don'y have enough staff to cover this. No medical, no 401k now due to not enough people sign up for,no dental. The only positive is that they pay slightly more than most security agencies. This is a non union company who acts non human towards their employess and do not care about you as long as they have their bonuses,contracts, and accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A gamble
Security Officer (Current Employee), Blue Island, ILNovember 25, 2012
Pros: people of the work sites.
Cons: pay, benefits(health/dental), management, and everything else
A regular day is not that bad at all. You go to work, do your job, and come home. I learned how my site works and it is nothing marketable in my opinion. I have great co-workers. The amount of traffic can be a rough time that lasts a couple hours. The people make the job enjoyable.

Management is terrible. We are expected to give 2 to 3 weeks notice – more... if we need time off or were fired. On the flip side they don't give us anymore than 8 hours notice when changes happen. There are no courtesy phone calls;so we need to call in, professionalism is non-existant, the operations manager is a real piece of garbage that can't manage his own time non the less the 500 employees he needs to schedule each week, there are no raises, no fuel allowances (I drive 35 miles one way to work), I was hired on for Full time and got part time, and lets just say this company is garbage. DO NOT GO TO GUARDIAN SECURITY IN BLUE ISLAND! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respected company with advancement opportunities.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Blue Island, ILSeptember 20, 2012
Very diverse and well rounded atmosphere. Advanced customer service, specialized in top level written and oral skills. High paced and very intense, dealing with various chemicals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 27, 2012
The company needs better management! i was a supervisor with this company and i had one of the best staff around. i made sure that i took my time to show them the right way in handling security and making sure that the clients were always happy. the hardest part of my job was having every managemt in my ear and really not having one pereson over me – more... who i could go to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benifits available and great management to work under
Security Officer (Current Employee), Blue Island, ILMarch 19, 2012
Pros: good pay and great mangement
Cons: only one main office
Great company to work for! great management. This company has more of a family feel rather than being just another employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below
NA (Former Employee), NASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: pay ok
Cons: to many to name
The work hours were OK, but could not keep workers at the site
No one in the main office wants to work with the truth
Management does not know what security is about because they never go to sites. Training terrible
Some co-workers ok, but for the most part they don't do their job and if taken off a account for not doing their work, they just move them – more... to another spot
Not knowing if you were going to be backed up or put under the bus
Leaving

This company does not listen to their experienced officers on what is going on. Do not respond to emails. Do not accept help from experienced officers who know what they are doing

This company needs someone to go in and clean up their home team in the office. Poor, Just POOR – less