Guardsmark Employee Reviews

Found 892 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just what I needed at the time.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oneonta, NYSeptember 19, 2017
I was a full time college student and needed some part time work that wouldn't consume my life. Depending on your location, being a security guard can be a very easy and relaxed experience. I never experienced any major incidents at my location and never dreaded going to work. Hours were flexible and there was plenty of opportunity to take home decent holiday pay if you didn't mind missing dinner with the family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Warren, MISeptember 17, 2017
Monitored company personal entering and exiting building. Observed CCTV footage as well and wrote reports pertaining to the job. I enjoyed the daily interaction with people and learning about the job. The most difficult portion of the job was probably the lack of hours and low pay. Management was very dependable and open to new suggestion about the job site.
Pros
Great people at the workplace, distance from home
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monitor system
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Waterflow, NMSeptember 16, 2017
Monitor atmosphere system, communication system, and productive system at San Juan underground coal mine. Each time an alarm occurred in any area, I contacted the appropriate department and personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 14, 2017
I was a nice place to work if i was a student. The hardest part about the job was that i didn't get enough days to work and make a living.The most enjoyable part of the job was meet new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
security officer (Former Employee) –  TxSeptember 13, 2017
I love doing security. I am a people's person. This was a laid back job. I love the management. I love the hours. Co-workers were very helpful. And outstanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
security guard and security receptionist (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NC / Garner, NCSeptember 12, 2017
I worked two job sites on weekends Wachovia processing center as a Security Reception and at Caterpillar in Guard Shack. Great Job would go back again!!
Pros
Great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security skills
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 10, 2017
Working for Guardsmark was a great experience. You got to interact with a lot of different people. Make very important decisions pertaining the safety of the building and the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little better than the normal contract security companies.
Lead Security Officer/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 10, 2017
Security and loss prevention of a large hospital with supervisor responsibilities. Also of a corporate headquarters facility with supervisor responsibilities.
Pros
Tipical contract security positions.
Cons
Temporary in nature, low pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCSeptember 9, 2017
enjoyed my time at GUARDSMARK. Worked with a great group of people and had a very good experience with them. Would go back and work with them again anytime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job overall
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brownsburg, INSeptember 8, 2017
good job that was pretty clear on what was expected. was able to advance and earn awards that has helped me in future jobs. would work there again if need arised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTSeptember 8, 2017
Guardsmark was a family company and til this day will always have your back and its employees absolutely a great way to start off security always are treated well.
Pros
chill
Cons
chill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people and culture
SECURITY GUARD (Current Employee) –  Ellicott City, MDSeptember 5, 2017
Not very stressful for the nature of work, pleasant coworkers as well as management the company that hired guardsmark was professional management as well as there employees
Pros
willing to work with my schedule
Cons
not given the schedule of shift change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security gaurd work
Security Guard, Interbake Foods (Former Employee) –  North Sioux City, SDAugust 31, 2017
it was a good job and I was treated fairly the place was clean and not a lot of excitement I liked working their and would go back the job was a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versital work commitments with oppertunities for advancement
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle ParkAugust 31, 2017
This job offered multiple opportunities to work in various assignments. Work was consistent and the variety in the job remove the opportunity for boredom.
Pros
Consistent employment
Cons
Limited oppertunity to advacement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAAugust 28, 2017
The average day consisted of working with client and contractors. The client and contractors made work fun and exciting. The hardest part of the job was management.
Pros
working with the client and congtractors
Cons
Guardsmark management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside gate access control for 4 years
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 16, 2017
Worked the outside gate as access control, checked ID's, issued temporary ID's for visitors, and called to verify visitors or contactors. Monitored the parking lot. Got along well with the management and once they were bought by Cypress Security was allowed to stay with the company. Management always treated me and other employees fair.
Pros
Merit and cost of living raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Me encantaba trabajar para ellos
Seguridad (Former Employee) –  Clínica apsAugust 16, 2017
Es una buena compañía de ella no tengo quejas alguna
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Security Guard Company.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 12, 2017
In Nashville its low pay and long hours with terrible site supervisors especially the P.I. who was at the American center post. They boast that they have more ex FBI employees than any other company. So what, they don't work post . The site supervisors and district managers don't care about your well being at all.
Pros
There are no pros here.
Cons
Low pay and terrible site supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Part of the Job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 11, 2017
two guard at the site
didn't have to work hard
someone to talk to
holiday gathering
easy task
friendly people
supervisor easy to work with because they started as guards
Pros
relaxed astomsphere
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2017
They laid me off due to their manager they had he showed favorism lied when he took me from my post so I reported and when I did that they told me they no longer have a shift for me had me wait for 6 weeks I then had to draw unemployment because they gave my shift away the post I'd been on for over a year. I loved the job at first until they screwed me over never did i miss a shift or call in.
Cons
bad management unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guardsmark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 910 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

68%
163 ratings
Add your rating