Find companies:
Guilford Technical Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Guilford Technical Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Jamestown, NCJuly 1, 2014
Part time job after classes in college. Fixing computers and printers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Developmental Education Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCJune 6, 2014
I work with students of all ages, genders, and cultures. I teach them basic English and reading skills in order for them to better themselves and continue to pursue their degree. My fellow co-workers and I share ideas and experiences in order to help better the classroom experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guilford Technical Community College
CED Instructor (Current Employee), High Point, NCMay 30, 2014
I truly enjoy working at Guilford Technical Community College, however with the upcoming Affordable Care Act employer mandate they have managed to have me living well below the poverty level. I guess I should just be happy I have a job at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No appreciation
PC Technician (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCMay 30, 2014
Pros: freedom, comraderie outside of the dept
Cons: no teamwork within the dept, poor leadership, no appreciation
I worked there in the ITS department, which is very poorly run, the manager of the pc technicians, does not know or do anything except try to annoy certain employees, the HR dept, will only listen to them and what you have to say is completely irrelevant. I would not reccomend this place to anyone unless you have very thick skin, or are willing to kiss – more... up to the proper people. THe job was very enjoyable as a pc technician, but the manager of the ITS dept, will make this job terrible.....The job is awesome, the management is TERRIBLE, find something else if you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GED/ABE Instructor
GED/ABE Instructor, BLE Instructor (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 27, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: management support and compensation
Each day had its own challenges in how to reach a student.
I learned to be flexible and work with the students holistically.
Needed more support, but learned to get the needs of the students met.
Supportive co-workers.
Hardest part of the job was non compensation for planning time and paperwork.
The most enjoyable was to help students who had been struggling – more... for years to achieve the goal of graduating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superlative skill builder.
Current Student (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCMay 14, 2014
Pros: good honest, hard work and different venues.
Cons: na
Learned every thing from Agent Management to marketing, audio design to lighting design and live application of both. I learned three phase power and how to build and tech electrical equipment and cables. My co-workers and I are extremely safety conscious and aware of time. The job is not hard, it just requires exact detailing and planning. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is watching clients and customers who are one hundred percent satisfied with our work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the School I attend
Full Time Student (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCMay 6, 2014
I am taking online classes during the summer. I don't work there I have been a full time student since January 2014. I plan to granduate with a BS degree in Cyber/Network security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a studnet body and staff of diverse cultures.
Adjunct Instructor - Adult Basic Education, ESOL (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 1, 2014
Pros: interaction with other staff members during the break to exchange ideas, etc., diversity, teamwork
Cons: insufficient time in the day to assist students who have other challenges (hard-of hearing, visual difficulties, social issues, handicapped, etc.).
Productive and fun workplace with a student body and staff of diverse cultures.

A typical day at work starts at ~9:15 or sooner when I arrive for my class that starts at 9:30 a.m.I greet my students as they enter the classroom. After students sign in, the lesson starts with a review from the previous days lessons. About 15-30 minutes is spent reviewing – more... this. A quick quiz to recap the content.

The next 30-45 minutes is spent reading a book. I read aloud and then ask the students to repeat after me. We complete the reading and then I write on the board the reading lesson. We repeat the reading by me pointing to the board as we do so. Students then copy the notes. A quick True/ False quiz is given. We sometimes role-play and/or relate the story to their everday life.

There is a 20 minutes break. After the break, students will be encouraged to read with a partner and role-play. We play a bingo game or vocabulary (fill-in-the-blank) to assess students understanding. The class ends with students recapping the lesson for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 29, 2014
Pros: great work environment and management awesome
Cons: challenging to get on full-time
Typical workday consisted of training adults in various skills such as Career Readiness, Work Keys Assessment, Resume Writing and how to market yourself to an prospective employer.

Co-workers and management are awesome. Everyone really works as a team to make the learning environment conducive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible work schedule with great employees.
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 28, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: seasonal position
A typical work day consist of assisting students with assignments. The interaction with the faculty creates and productive environment for the student. It allows me to learn more about computers in order to help the student become more independent. I grow with the students by sharing information. The hardest part of the job is pushing the students to – more... open up their mind and push themselves to reach their goals. It is easy to give them the answer but they benefit more if you show them how to figure it out for themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job.
Script/Tutor (Former Employee), Jamestown, NCApril 23, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: not enough pay, long hours occasionally
There was no typical day. Worked with different students everyday. I loved me job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume
Financial Aid Assistant (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCMarch 13, 2014
Pros: helping students, flexible
Cons: long work hours
My day consist of helping student fill out there financial aid applications provide students with the information needed to be successful in having pell grant for school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GTCC ...........
Student Success Coach (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCMarch 6, 2014
The cultural climate of the staff and faculty needs work. The senior staff (administrators) should be more visible to the campus community instead of those who just work in their office building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and enjoyable workplace
Student 3.67 GPA (Former Employee), Jamestown,NcFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: decent pay, hour lunches, weekends, paid holidays
Cons: short lunches, internal gossip, no career opportunities
I enjoy a very busy day with a heavy workload. I have been pursuing a business degree (assoc.). And I love learning something new on the job everyday. A strong management team is very important to me, its nice to have a friendly manager but also to have one that is a great leader and knows how to direct his or her crew. I also enjoy making associates – more... in the work place but it is also important to keep my home life separate from the workplace. Workplace relationships are important though, so that teamwork and comradery are available. The hardest part of a job for me is to let it be at the end of the day. I'm always thinking of faster, more efficient way of completing tasks. The most enjoyable part of work for me is the satisfying feeling of completing tasks and gaining respect from my co-workers and managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Wendover East, Greensboro, NCJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: i loved helping people. it gave me an environment to give people encouragement and ideas.
Cons: in addition to working with many co-worker who were stressed over their workloads, my workload became heavier
Job description changed daily. Work load grew three times larger than when I began.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for.
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee), North CarolinaJanuary 10, 2014
Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.Overall good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment with great management
Cashier (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCDecember 8, 2013
A typical day at work is serving customers in a professional manner. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it here
Receptionist (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCNovember 12, 2013
This was a great place for me to start. I have enjoyed every part about working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work with friendly staff.
ADMIN ASSISTANT TO GED/AHS COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: available lunchroom; extremely nice supervisor
Cons: parking
Provided administrative support to the head GED/Adult High School Coordinator. Monthly I calculated and balanced teacher/student roster hours.

Hardest part of job - tuning out conversations being held constantly in the hallways

Most enjoyable part of job - being able to work independently

Co-workers - very helpful and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Jamestown, NCAugust 9, 2013
Pros: i have a boss that allows me to have a flexible schedule
Cons: part-time employees do not have any benefits
My typical day at work involves filing paperwork, pickup and deliver mail, data entry, maintain inventory, and correspond with co-workers. They are very friendly and willing to help anyone at anytime. The hardest part of my job is to leave everyday. The most enjoyable parts of my job are my co-workers, helping students as well as data entry, making – more... sure that all is accurate. – less